We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Stayed here as again flying from Birmingham airport.
We booked this hotel through the Etap website, having joined their e-mail advance room sales.
We were lucky and had this for £18 per room for 1 night stay.
Location - approx 300 yards from the terminal entrance.
Check - in was very efficient, everything explained about facilities etc.
Room - quite basic & small but we were expecting this. The decor was fresh & the bed comfortable.
Bathroom - now this is where they save money, its like being in an old fashion telephone box, you can hardly turn around, but the shower was extremely good & hot.
For the limited time we were there you can put up with something like that.
Check -out, again very efficient and we were asked if everything was ok and if anything what could they do to improve on our stay next time.
There is only a small area where you can order snacks or beverages, but guests staying here can eat at the Ibis hotel next door & have 10% discount.
We did that & they had a good choice of menu, which was served extremly hot & tasted good.
Budget hotel for an early or late flight. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book in advance to get the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandamNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable time during your stay.
I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,326 - 1,332 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

I had booked to stay here during an exhibition at the NEC, but at very short notice had to cancel due to wife's health issue. Expecting to have a pay a cancellation charge, I was delighted to hear from manager Frederic that cancellation at any time up to 2pm on the day of the booking is penalty-free, irrespective of the reason for the cancellation. Frederic had an excellent attitude, very professional, and I expect that he will soon be promoted to run a larger establishment.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank Kaz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments.
I hope we can welcome you to the hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

Wow, this is a blue strip hotel. I've never seen anything like it, we stayed here for three nights whilst attending a show at the NEC. We were well aware that it is a low budget hotel with limited facilities but we thought we wouldn't spend much time in the room so it didn't matter... one night was too much! The room is small but that's not so bad, it the fact there's no seperate bathroom that's weird the sink is next to the bed as is the shower cubicle. The toilet is behind a seperate door (that has no lock and needs to be noisily slammed shut!), the towels were so thin and scratchy I wish I'd brought my own. There are no facilities in the room at all, no kettle, no phone, no wardrobe, no safe, no nothing! All of this can be put down to the "low budget" aspect of the hotel but the uncomfortable bed (a sheet of mdf with a two inch 'matress') and barely there carpet just makes this a poor hotel. Even at £30 a night I feel the etap is bad value for money. I'll never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraKent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts.
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience saying with us and that we failed to live up to your expectations.
I appreciate your feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.
I have addressed the issues with our Etap Quality Manager.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

other etaps ive stayed in could take a few lessons from this one. the staff are friendly on arrival and nothing seems to be too much hassle. The room is usual etap / ibis fayre with a clean powerful cubicle shower. The mattress is the only thing that lets it down. Very hard, obviously a bulk purchase for the entire group because they are all the same, this also goes for the towels which dont fit all the way round you. Location cannot be beaten and with a day return to the city centre only 2.80 return its excellent value. Again i paid £18 per night for my 2 night stay....would i return? Yes...

Room Tip: ask for an even numbered room if you want to see the airplanes. Also get a free drink voucher from r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popstar1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts once again.
We appreciate all feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Please note that we are in process of adding some Mattress Toppers on our beds to improve their comfort.
Also, if you need any extra linen (pillows, towels...) during your stay, you are more than welcome to collect some from Reception at any time as we are open 24 hours.
I hope we can welcome you back again to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

This is a cheap hotel, so don't expect 5 star luxury. The rooms are very basic, but have a shower in the room and a bed, but that is about it. The reception is manned 24/7 and they are very friendly, and helpful. There is a deposit if you need a hairdryer.
You can use the facilities next door at the Ibis, or a couple of minutes walk to the airport terminal is you want a drink, or food.
It is a very convenient hotel if you have an early flight and want to travel the night before, and the prices are very good.
The room we had was noisy, but we are near an airport. The AC was poor so we had the window open.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are the same, if you want a good room go next door and pay 5 times the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

Thank you very much for your review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and having noted all your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Lagos, Nigeria
31
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel. The hotel is strategically located (2 mins walk to the airport / bus stop) and the staff quite friendly and helpful. The GM was very helpful with our online checking in and location details for dinner. oh yes, the TV even had a station with flight schedules. Etap Birminham Int'l airport is a definite 'yes' on our next trip to UK

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed for one night attending UFC 138, good room clean warm good value would definitely stay again 5 ******

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2011

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,884 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing