We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Northampton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable beds!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

We stayed here because of it's closeness to the airport (across the road!)
Couldn't fault the staff who helped us move rooms after the keycard didn't work! We were able to eat at the Ibis next door where we had five star table service.
The thing that let it down for me was how uncomfortable the beds were. I hardly slept a wink and my joints ached the next day.
I also couldn't use my accord loyalty card at the Etap even though it's part of the same chain.
If you have an early flight then this hotel is great for you. Just be warned about the hard beds!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Thank you for leaving a review- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Regarding our beds, extra mattress toppers are available if asked in advance for the comfort of our guests. We are also due a refurbishment this year with replacement beds that should improve on comfort.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    650
    313
    108
    86
See reviews for
264
551
279
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Basic but spotlessly clean accommodation. All we needed for an overnight stay. Good value for money but disappointed to be charged £28 for our first night and then £75 for our return night. Will certainly use the hotel again

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank yoyo552070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your great review- we are glad that you enjoyed staying at our hotel.

Our rates vary according to availability and demand, with increased rates in the area especially during NEC event days, which will explain the difference in price between your two stays. We do regularly benchmark our rates against other hotels within the local market to ensure we always offer the best value.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

Good hotel for location, friendliness of staff and breakfast, but the beds are a little too firm!!!! Hopefully by the next time (31st May) the beds may have softened! The staff were great and very friendly and the breakfast bar adequate for the early morning check-in.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Retired_Traveller-65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your comments- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I am sorry that you found the beds too hard for your liking. Please contact us prior to your next stay and we will arrange an extra mattress topper for your bed. Our beds are also due to be replaced later this year as part of our refurbishment, which should improve on comfort.

We are looking forward in welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Perfect hotel for budget option, clean, tidy and close to the terminal. The only problem for us was that there were 2 adults and a 4 year old who wasnt old enough to sleep in the bed over the double bed so we all had to sleep in the same bed however the bed was a good size so not too much of a problem. No noise from airplanes and easy check-in and out - would definitely use again! !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireyf_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay at our hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that the bunk bed situation was not clearly explained to you during the reservation process. This is currently something that I am addressing. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed here the night before an early flight. If you go with the expectation that's it budget, it ticks every box. The poor reviews on here obviously didn't keep that in mind. Clean, good service, great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for giving us full marks! We are delighted by your review. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed here the night of the Beyonce gig in the NEC. Easily accessible by train, and literally a 2 minute walk to the airport. (There's a monorail from the airport to the NEC, which is about a minute long and free, very handy!) If you want luxury, look elsewhere. However, the room was clean, tidy and had everything we needed (no tea making facilities though, you literally get the essentials). The lift is a bit annoying, as you have to swipe your card to get into it (but on the plus side, increases security). Our bedroom slept 3, and provided a double bed and bunk bed over it (which you have to put the sheets on etc yourself, I told you, it's not luxury!). Overall, it's a clean break for a night stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sera r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Love staying here. Perfect stop over for early morning flights.
Receptionists were all lovely & helpful.
Good comfortable clean rooms, fresh white cotton bedding, TV, good shower, soundproof & ideal.
A great basic room for an excellent price

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmund5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are delighted with your comments and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,733 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing