We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great prep for holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 November 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

881 - 887 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here October 31st for 1 night. Location excellent. Ideal for place to rest. Will return. Beside NEC plus train station. Didn't try breakfast here we went next door to ibis. 8pound hot breakfast all you can eat or 4pound continental all can eat. Bullring shopping centre 10mins from here via train. As with all budget hotels you have to hope for nice quiet guests. We didn't have this on our stay noisy guests bang in on doors, stomping on floors from 6pm til 10pm. Anyhow we would still return despite this.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happygalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review- I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, but would like to apologise that you were disturbed by other guests during your stay.

I have spoken to our staff to ensure they enforce our policies to ensure none of our guests are disturbed. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stayed at the Birmingham Airport IBIS Etap Hotel for one night and chose it for it's closeness to both Birmingham International station and BHX airport facilities although I wasn't flying from the airport. The price is attractive and IBIS hotels have always been clean and well presented and good value. I've stayed previously at the Leeds sister Hotel (now IBIS Budget rather than ETAP) and was pleased with the value of which more later.

The Location is excellent as the hotel block is across the pick up/drop off road outside the terminal building. The hotel block comprises of Accor Hotels` three grades of hotel, Novotel, IBIS and IBIS Etap in in descending order of standard. The Novotel entrance faces the airport where as the Etap involves a short walk round the block to the entrance of about 75m from the terminal although half of this is uncovered.

Check in and lobby area is minimal but clean and well kept and check in was reasonably quick (credit card needed again for some reason) although it was quiet at the time and was glad it was not busy as the lady at the desk seemed to be the only employee to be seen. Access to the rooms was by a small lift and this like the corridors were clean and well kept.

I had stayed in similar IBIS before and the room was no surprise. A tasteful green and Crème décor of a reasonable size for the price. The room had good length compared to others but misses about a 1 meter in width so there is no room for dressing or work tables along the side length. As with IBIS there is only a shower and no bath but is a very good shower. Being budget there are no tea/coffee facilities, Iron or other electrical items and supplies amount to a couple of towels, a bar of soap and two plastic cups. The bed is not luxury and consists of a 5-6 inch mattress on a wooden frame but still was reasonably comfortable. The air con worked and was a stand alone unit which actually moved some air around unlike some built in varieties in some
more expensive hotels and wasn't overly loud. The toilet was basically a broom cupboard by the entrance door but was usable.

There were only two real disappointments even given the budget nature of the hotel and these were the TV and available electrical sockets. I thought I was going mad as I could not find a spare socket other than that the TV The television was plugged into. Eventually I found a spare socket behind the television high up. Reaching to plug a charger in actually knocked out the TV (not permanently) and the height meant the charger didn't reach the small shelf below.
Although flat screen and mounted handily on the wall in the corner of the room the TV was old and basic with only seven available broadcast channels, given digital free TV has 70+ plus this should be rectified. The TV has no headphone socket and no ability to put on subtitles so you have to use the volume if you watch TV late at night.

Despite a couple of issues which should be sorted even for a budget hotel there are some very good plus points including free wifi in rooms. This is a budget hotel and it's location is superb for air travellers especially those flying out early who don't want to pay for facilities they won't use (unfortunately you do get to hear some of these people leaving early but is no worse than any other airport hotel), The pricing is good but may suffer from being next to it's higher status sister hotels and the adjacent IBIS hotel could be had for only £3 more on one hotel comparison site and really the ETAP should be priced nearer to that of the Leeds Ibis Budget (formerly Etap) and dropped by a few pounds .

Overall a clean budget hotel, great location and suits the air traveller just wanting a bed without having to wonder when the sheets were last washed. Limited facilities but the airport shops are a short walk away, Paid continental breakfast only is available but a hot meal is available next door at the IBIS or the airport. Hopefully the forthcoming brand change to IBIS budget will sort out the electrical sockets and old TV .
Would I stay again, very possibly but would check the sites for any bargains on the next door IBIS as well.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePlodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Thank you for your review- we appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

ETAP - Ibis - birmingham airport

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night 16th October 2013. We stayed there for 6 hours. We arrived 9pm and departed our room at 3am.

We had no expectations as we weren't staying long. We paid for breakfast before we caught our flight, as we knew it would be cheaper than the airport.

When we arrived we checked in quickly and were given our card to get into the lift then to get into the room. There was very little room in reception everything was pretty much on top of you. Corridors to the room was also compact.

When we opened our door the toilet was literarily on our left and just past that door was the sink actually in our room. To the left of the sink was the compact shower with glass door. The double bed with bunk bed above was straight in front of us.

To say the very least the room was VERY small.

It has everything you need, but I could NOT stay there for longer than a few hrs.

I personally had an up and down night and my boyfriend did not sleep at all. We think this was because we knew we had to be up early and it played on our minds, as there was no noise in all fairness.

The bed was ok. Our sheets were clean but thin, and mattress was just average.
The toilet door literarily shuts in front of your face when you sit down, not exactly comfortable.

Shower ran HOT water - great, just what we needed before a flight and long traveling. The room generally is very small, and not really user friendly for having cases open to be sorting yourself out from. No where to hang things and ONLY ONE ELECTRICITY PLUG which was right next to telly. Telly had limited channels.

Breakfast was fine... FANTASTIC croissants extremely fresh, to go as far as the best I've ever had, everything was self serve. We weren't sure if you had to pay for hot drinks has it advertised you did, but we had paid for a breakfast, but we stuck to fruit juice.

Overall this hotel is very basic and extremely small, but for 29.98 per night, you've got to expect something that not fantastic. For a small amount of time this hotel is fine, breakfast I'd recommend. Pictures online are deceiving.

Would we return?
If we really had to. We would try to avoid.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Harriet_Jay_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel- we appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have noted your comments and are working hard to improve on the points that you have made. Our hotel bedrooms are currently being refurbished which should also improve on some of the points mentioned in your review.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to sample the improvements.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The hotel was being refurbished when we stayed for 1 night for the NEC caravan show, but we thought it was good value and spotlessly clean, the staff were very good, the only downside was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but you could get these from a machine in the reception area. they only provided a continental style buffet breakfast (ok if you are French) but you could get a lovely full English at their partner hotel next door. all in all it was a nice stay

Room Tip: Any room is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
2,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £36 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing