We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Value Budget Hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed here on two separate occasions in December. I knew when booking it was a budget hotel so it should be judged accordingly. The room was basic, the wardrobe is a few hangers on the wall, the toilet is effectively in a cupboard. The bed is on the firm side and they do not supply any shampoo etc.
The room was clean, furniture limited as it was good condition and everything worked. The shower was excellent in its own cubicle and very powerful. Free WiFi.
I slept soundly on both my stays.
Breakfast is continental choice is limited but for £5 much cheaper than the airport.
Front desk was efficient, check in and out nice and easy

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    653
    315
    108
    88
See reviews for
265
556
280
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Msida, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

A nice, modern and clean hotel situated very close to the airport (only a few hundred metres from the international departures building) but very costly for such a basic service i.e. £75 approx for a room for one night, with no food or drink apart from tea/coffee in the room.
Such establishments must offer better value for money or risk falling by the wayside.

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank carmsalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your feedback- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

You mentioned that the rate was too high during your stay. Please note that our rates fluctuate according to demand, and may increase especially during busy NEC event periods. However, we regularly price check our rates compared to other hotels in the local area to ensure we offer the best value.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

First off..... this is a BUDGET hotel. The headline rate is £28 per night but you can actually get a room cheaper than this via other websites or by booking a couple of weeks in advance. Reading through some of the prior reviews, I'm just amazed at what some folk expect for a hotel at this price. So what do you get? The service on Reception was great.... efficient and friendly. You get a compact room with a comfy double bed... a little on thr firm side but comfortable nonetheless. They only provide 1 pillow per person but I'm guessing you may be able to get extras if you request them from Reception. The bedroom has a wash basin in the room itself. In the room, there is a frosted glass door to a shower cubicle. Fantastic water pressure for a scalding hot shower! There is a separate toilet room. A TV is provided but no telephone. There's a power socket to keep your mobile phone on charge.

If you want food, there is a vending machine in the lobby. You can also order pizzas which can be collected from reception. There is also a wide range of other hot food available in the Ibis hotel immediately next door. I really don't expect a full restaurant service at a hotel of this price.

Great parking service too. I was quoted over £26 for parking at the airport NCP car park opposite the hotel (Car Park 3) but staying at the hotel overnight got me a reduced rate of £14. It would be helpful to have the recied rates quoted on the hotel website but I just gave them a quick phone call to ask what the special rates were. No problemo!

The walls are on the thin side so if you sleep lightly, you might want to pack ear-plugs. Would definately stay again..... maybe even just to get the discounted parking!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rammblings101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments- it is very encouraging to receive such positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I booked this hotel because it was the cheapest and nearest to the airport. Our flight arrived in the early hours of the morning of Mon Dec 1st, and within 30 mins we were tucked up in bed! A short walk from the arrival hall, a speedy check-in by a friendly receptionist, up to the 6th floor in the lift and we were there. The room was compact and clean with everything we needed for a one night stopover. As a light sleeper I had been concerned about noise from the airport, but it was not intrusive at all. Waking late we decided to have the hotel's buffet breakfast and it was lovely! The croissants and muffins were really fresh and delicious, much better than in some pricier places. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dax, France
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Clean and warm, airport on the doorstep and only £30 booked in advance - works for me every time.

Only issue was that I was told on production of my room card I was entitled to eat at the nearby Novotel at 10% discount. The waiter/bar manager denied that this was true but gave me the discount as a "favour" - communication breakdown not understood by reception staff when I returned to Ibis Budget

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank keanclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future. My apologies for the issue you experienced with the 10% discount at the Novotel for food and beverage. I will resolve with issue with their management to avoid a similar situation in future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel, it is the standard E-tap format. What aggrieves me are that the car parking charge of £14 a night that were not identified with the headline room rate on the booking page. There was a hint in the small print if I had taken the time (reduced NCP rates) but in my opinion this is close to deception. To cap it off when I arrived on my first night I spent 1/2 hour trying to work out were I could park.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I am sorry that you feel deceived about the car parking. I am currently reviewing the information on our website to see if we can improve the visibility of the external parking charge.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel!!! Staff are friendly and helpful. Stayed two nights for the clothes show live NEC and a spot of Xmas shopping and market. There's is a shuttle from the hotel on the airport side to NEC which is also Birmingham Int'l. To get to NEC is a walk of 20mins. Bham new street is 10mins via train. Bed comfy and best power shower. No tea facilities however you can buy drinks and snacks downstairs in reception. Hotel does now charge £2 per keep your suitcase for you to pick up later (previously no charge) but still reasonably and the norm. Please bear in mind to book early as prices can vary due to events.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mwnci38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing