We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, recommendable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 24 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Marianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,679)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

794 - 800 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in December. I knew from the start that this is a budget hotel and shouldn't judge it too harshly on quality.

Pros:
> Clean rooms
> Good location - close to airport and NEC
> Free wifi - bit slow (have to pay if you want faster wifi)
> Efficient check in and out

Cons:
> Very noisy at night. Room not very sound-proof. I got woken up a few times at night.
> No shampoo, shower gel, kettle.....just a tiny bar of soap
> One socket in a triple room....

Overall, if you want a good night sleep I would pay a bit more and stay in a better quality hotel. But if price is your main consideration, then definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms close to the lifts, very noisy at night
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ_TravelExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel- we appreciate your feedback.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We have noted your comments and are working hard to improve on the points that you have raised. Our hotel bedrooms are currently being refurbished which should also improve on overall guest comfort.

We do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to sample the improvements.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I booked a room for 25 pounds for Saturday night because I wouldn't have been to get a train in the morning for my Sunday flight at 10am. What a great idea. This hotel is super clean, the staff very friendly, you get free wifi in your room, TV,shower etc, and a comfy bed. You can get an all you can eat continental breakfast for 4.95 and considering the hotel is about 50m from the check-in area, you don't need to wake up early or stress out. You can also see live departure times on screens in the hotel and in your room so I just left before check in closed and was checking in within 5 minutes. I will definitely book this place again if I take another morning flight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 589anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had an early flight so booked here for one night. Only 300yds from terminal so ideal. It's basic but really clean with a good shower. Busy at reception when checking in so there was a bit of a wait as only one person working. But what do you expect for £34

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your great feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed here on two separate occasions in December. I knew when booking it was a budget hotel so it should be judged accordingly. The room was basic, the wardrobe is a few hangers on the wall, the toilet is effectively in a cupboard. The bed is on the firm side and they do not supply any shampoo etc.
The room was clean, furniture limited as it was good condition and everything worked. The shower was excellent in its own cubicle and very powerful. Free WiFi.
I slept soundly on both my stays.
Breakfast is continental choice is limited but for £5 much cheaper than the airport.
Front desk was efficient, check in and out nice and easy

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Sids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

A nice, modern and clean hotel situated very close to the airport (only a few hundred metres from the international departures building) but very costly for such a basic service i.e. £75 approx for a room for one night, with no food or drink apart from tea/coffee in the room.
Such establishments must offer better value for money or risk falling by the wayside.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank carmsalop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

You mentioned that the rate was too high during your stay. Please note that our rates fluctuate according to demand, and may increase especially during busy NEC event periods. However, we regularly price check our rates compared to other hotels in the local area to ensure we offer the best value.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

First off..... this is a BUDGET hotel. The headline rate is £28 per night but you can actually get a room cheaper than this via other websites or by booking a couple of weeks in advance. Reading through some of the prior reviews, I'm just amazed at what some folk expect for a hotel at this price. So what do you get? The service on Reception was great.... efficient and friendly. You get a compact room with a comfy double bed... a little on thr firm side but comfortable nonetheless. They only provide 1 pillow per person but I'm guessing you may be able to get extras if you request them from Reception. The bedroom has a wash basin in the room itself. In the room, there is a frosted glass door to a shower cubicle. Fantastic water pressure for a scalding hot shower! There is a separate toilet room. A TV is provided but no telephone. There's a power socket to keep your mobile phone on charge.

If you want food, there is a vending machine in the lobby. You can also order pizzas which can be collected from reception. There is also a wide range of other hot food available in the Ibis hotel immediately next door. I really don't expect a full restaurant service at a hotel of this price.

Great parking service too. I was quoted over £26 for parking at the airport NCP car park opposite the hotel (Car Park 3) but staying at the hotel overnight got me a reduced rate of £14. It would be helpful to have the recied rates quoted on the hotel website but I just gave them a quick phone call to ask what the special rates were. No problemo!

The walls are on the thin side so if you sleep lightly, you might want to pack ear-plugs. Would definately stay again..... maybe even just to get the discounted parking!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rammblings101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments- it is very encouraging to receive such positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#34 of 118 in Birmingham
1,114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £43 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing