We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's basic,It's functional & clean and it has Gleny's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #52 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Leicester
Level Contributor
438 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“It's basic,It's functional & clean and it has Gleny's”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is clean,functional but basic and is 2 mins from airport all for £29.45 a night. Stayed three times now and booked for June before an early flight out. Whats more it has Gleny's, such a charming receptionist who makes checking in a pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    661
    321
    108
    90
See reviews for
268
567
282
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location was brilliant , literally 2 mins walk from the airport , just around the corner .
Our room would have won awards for the use of space , George Clarke must have been involved in the design !
The shower was amazing also .
Our 3 night stay was very pleasant and relaxing.
We will definetly be back as this hotel is in an ideal location for the NEC ( the reason for our stay ) just hop on the monorail from the airport and in 90 seconds you are there , oh and its free too .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

So convenient for Birmingham airport, located just opposite the main terminal building. Rooms are fresh & clean, minimal furnishings but enough for an overnight stop. Bed was comfortable (only one pillow per person but you could request more if required. Room was very hot and was unable to regulate the temperature but opening the window was not an option because of the outside noise. The shower was really powerful and the toilet is located in what appears to be a cupboard! Only problem I found was that the power socket was located the other side of the room to the mirror which made drying my hair less than easy but not too much of a problem for some people. All in all, if you can get a cheap price for this hotel then it makes an ideal overnight airport stop.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, Uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed on 21st Feb for one night. The room STANK of stale smoke, it was like being in an ashtray. The room staff clearly don't bother to check rooms before they let them.

To add insult to injury, at approx 9.50pm the fire alarm sounded, we started evacuating then it stopped. A few mins later it started again and went on for a while so we headed for the fire escape stairs. It then stopped again and a member of staff said it was a 'false alarm'. Clearly they don't provide proper fire safety training in Accor Group hotels as there is no such thing as a 'false alarm' - the alarm activated, and it was for a reason! I tried to explain this to the member of staff but it was clearly going over her head and gave up.
Interesting to note as well that the hotel is in the middle of a refurb and builder's table and equipment is being stored in the fire escape stairs - hmmm, not sure West Midlands Fire Service would appreciate this!
Compared to other Accor brand hotels wherer I have stayed manay times before, this property and it's management need sorting out - stay at your peril!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. I was disappointed to learn that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations, and for this I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We have noted your comments and are working hard to improve on the points that you have raised. Rest assured that we take the health and safety of our guests and staff very seriously, and will fully investigate your concerns and tKe action if necessary.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to reinstate your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Very convenient hotel for the airport it is around a 2 minute walk from the front door. There is a mono rail from the airport directly to the Birmingham Int train station and the NEC which was free and only took a few minutes (we were going to see Beyonce).

For three of us we paid £48 (not including breakfast) and even though I wasn't expecting a 5* hotel I was slightly disappointed. Despite there being free wifi and free view TV, the room was small and there was one double bed and above this there was a bunk bed which wasn't made. We told reception that the bed wasn't made and got the reply of 'that isn't our job'... And we also had to ask for towels as we were only supplied with two for the three of us.

The shower was a walk in shower and a separate toilet in a little room and the sink was in the bedroom. However there was nowhere to get dry/changed after the shower as as soon as you walked out of the shower you were in the bedroom meaning the floor got wet!

It was only for one nights stay and it was average, we were hardly in the room it was just disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. I was disappointed to learn that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations, and for this I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We have noted your comments and are working hard to improve on the points that you have raised.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to reinstate your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed here for a night before flying on holiday.

We couldn't be any closer to the airport and at £29.45 for 3 of us it was a bargain. Yes the bed is a little hard and the toilet a very tight squeeze but how can you complain when paying this price.

The room was warm and it had a good sized T.V. Check in was easy and we wouldn't hesitate in using this place again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoCas8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Excellent value, this Ibis style hotel delivered great value. Very simple with pod style bedrooms, very clean and tidy. The only thing we found to criticise was the firm beds but hey, can't be 100% all the time, we would defineatly visit again. Excellent value

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you for your valued comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing