We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pity about the smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Etap at Birmingham Airport does not pretend to be a luxury hotel. On the contrary, it is a budget establishment. The primary advantage is its location, no more than five minutes' walk from the check-in desks at Birmingham Airport.

The rooms are very basic with a double bed, single bunk bed, TV, toilet and shower. WiFi Internet is free of charge, but there are no tea-making facilities or kettles in the rooms - and only one pillow per person. We had no problem with the quality of the bed linen or the mattress in our room. Although other reviewers have complained about the mattresses, I was very happy with the firm support.

This Etap is being re-badged as an Ibis Budget hotel, so painters and decorators were working on the public areas and guest bedrooms. Although our room (No 311) was spotlessly clean, it had been repainted very recently. With hindsight, we should have requested a different room, before we retired for the night. Unfortunately, the air-conditioning unit only worked as a room heater and did not seem to provide separate cooling or ventilation functions. The smell of new paint became increasingly unpleasant through the night and it was not practicable to leave the window open in February. In any case, the noise of passing traffic and the monorail train would have prevented any sleep.

The accommodation at the Etap is remarkably cheap and I paid less than £30 for our room. The cost of the decent buffet breakfast with fruit juices, bread rolls, croissants, pastries, toast, cold ham, packaged cheese portions, yoghurts, tea and coffee was only £4.95 per person.

This hotel would be a good choice for travellers who want nothing more than a clean room, prior to a flight. However, the management must attend to the air-conditioning system, because it is not acceptable to expect guests to sleep in totally unventilated rooms. Furthermore, the hotel should not allocate newly painted rooms, until the smell has dissipated.

These aspects prevented us from sleeping well, so I have downgraded my rating accordingly.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob 1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback. I was disappointed to learn that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations, and for this I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We have noted your comments and are working hard to improve on the points that you have raised.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to reinstate your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This efficient hotel is extremely convenient for Birmingham International airport (BHX). It is an easy three minute walk from the hotel to the airport entrance doors. We made our reservation well in advance and paid a very reasonable rate for our room. The rooms are small but the bed was comfortable and it was surprisingly quiet. We paid an extra £5 per person for breakfast. This was a reasonable cold buffet plus toast, croissants, hot drinks and some fruit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelloKittyTravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Perfectly located right next to Birmingham airport. Very convenient to the NEC centre where I had a conference to attend. The staff were very pleasant. I was allowed to check in early. The room was very clean. I can't complain about any of the facilities. Perfect location for an early departure. Value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bope304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

It is clean,functional but basic and is 2 mins from airport all for £29.45 a night. Stayed three times now and booked for June before an early flight out. Whats more it has Gleny's, such a charming receptionist who makes checking in a pleasure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The location was brilliant , literally 2 mins walk from the airport , just around the corner .
Our room would have won awards for the use of space , George Clarke must have been involved in the design !
The shower was amazing also .
Our 3 night stay was very pleasant and relaxing.
We will definetly be back as this hotel is in an ideal location for the NEC ( the reason for our stay ) just hop on the monorail from the airport and in 90 seconds you are there , oh and its free too .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

So convenient for Birmingham airport, located just opposite the main terminal building. Rooms are fresh & clean, minimal furnishings but enough for an overnight stop. Bed was comfortable (only one pillow per person but you could request more if required. Room was very hot and was unable to regulate the temperature but opening the window was not an option because of the outside noise. The shower was really powerful and the toilet is located in what appears to be a cupboard! Only problem I found was that the power socket was located the other side of the room to the mirror which made drying my hair less than easy but not too much of a problem for some people. All in all, if you can get a cheap price for this hotel then it makes an ideal overnight airport stop.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed on 21st Feb for one night. The room STANK of stale smoke, it was like being in an ashtray. The room staff clearly don't bother to check rooms before they let them.

To add insult to injury, at approx 9.50pm the fire alarm sounded, we started evacuating then it stopped. A few mins later it started again and went on for a while so we headed for the fire escape stairs. It then stopped again and a member of staff said it was a 'false alarm'. Clearly they don't provide proper fire safety training in Accor Group hotels as there is no such thing as a 'false alarm' - the alarm activated, and it was for a reason! I tried to explain this to the member of staff but it was clearly going over her head and gave up.
Interesting to note as well that the hotel is in the middle of a refurb and builder's table and equipment is being stored in the fire escape stairs - hmmm, not sure West Midlands Fire Service would appreciate this!
Compared to other Accor brand hotels wherer I have stayed manay times before, this property and it's management need sorting out - stay at your peril!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCW_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Thank you for your valued feedback. I was disappointed to learn that your recent stay did not exceed your expectations, and for this I would like to offer my sincere apologies. We have noted your comments and are working hard to improve on the points that you have raised. Rest assured that we take the health and safety of our guests and staff very seriously, and will fully investigate your concerns and tKe action if necessary.

We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to reinstate your faith in us.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £35 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing