We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Basic and cheap”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I use this hotel because it is convenient for the airport.

Roll out of bed 1.5hours before your flight and you still have time for breakfast.

The hotel would get 4 marks if it supplied liquid soap/shower gel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gerd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again in the near future when your travels brings you back to the local area.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    668
    325
    108
    92
See reviews for
273
574
283
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending an expo nearby. I found the room nice, new and modern - good value for the price. Very happy with the cleanliness. Didn't have any food while I was there because it was expensive (close to a tenner for a curry I think) but there was a good choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeesah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your comments- we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. PLease note hwever that your comment regarding the curry must relate to another establishment as we do not serve curry, but only pizzas, sandwiches and snacks.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fuengirola
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Second stay at this hotel and pleased to say I would still recommend it. The hotel is very convenient for Birmingham Airport (about a minute on foot) and excellent value for money. It is a budget hotel so don't expect pretty pictures , etc, but it has the basic things you need like a comfortable bed, TV, and hot strong shower to wake you up before catching your early morning flight!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
Thank tripchatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback. As a returning guest we value your comments, and are glad that you once again found our hotel to deliver consistent value and service. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Great room considering I only paid £30 in advance. I stayed here for 1 night after a late flight back from a holiday. Wasn't immediately obvious where the hotel was when you exit the airport but I found it easily once I started walking towards another hotel on the site. My room had a double bed which was a bit hard and hanging space in one corner and basin in other corner. there was a separate cubicle for the shower which was very good and another for the toilet. Breakfast was extra but I didn't want it anyway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah187063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed in this hotel on the nights of Thursday 15th and Sunday 18th May 2014. The hotel is good overall for the price.

However, with a triple room and two or three people staying in there, you expect the shower to be in a seperate bathroom. You certainly don't expect it to be inside the room itself and for the door to open out onto the room, meanwhile your friends have to look away whilst you come out of the shower and change in the toilet area. Thank goodness the toilet is seperate, albeit in a tiny cupboard that you can't even turn around in.

The bunk bed and double bed is good in the triple room.

Little tip - close the blind when you get changed. You may think no one can see you - that's just when the airport sky train passes by and dozens of people will be able to see you in your underwear. That didn't happen to us but I bet it's happened to some ;)

The breakfast was great and the service second to none. The staff are always attentive and friendly.

Does what it's there for, but I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays. We were in the Hilton for a convention for the Friday and Saturday nights.

Good parking facilities and you don't expect there to be a TV in the room for the price.

Good overall but don't like the fact the shower is not seperate and your room buddies have to look away.

You can't hear the airport or the traffic at all which is good. The beds are actually quite comfy and not rock solid like at some airport hotels/hotels abroad, which is a welcome surprise. The room was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback- we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you did not like the open plan design of the room, however this design is standard in Ibis Budget hotels.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed here with my 3 friends for one night. We chose the Etap as it's within the airport at Birmingham and we had an early flight to get.
When we checked in, we got a room for 3 of us and a room for my other friend. The Guy on Reception was really helpful and made sure that were on the same floor.
The rooms are basic. Our room for 3 was a double bed and a bunk bed above. I had to make the bunk bed before I could sleep in it. I found chewing gum on my bedding though.
That said, the room itself was clean but a bit of a squeeze for 3 adults with a case each. The 2 mirrors in the room are far away from the plug sockets so styling our hair with straighteners etc was a bit of an contortion act! But for the £38 we paid, they had no complaints from us.
We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback- we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

I would like to sincerely apologise that the bunk bed was not cleaned up to standard. I have discussed your comments with the housekeeping team, and we have reviewed our procedures to avoid a similar situation in future. Please note however, that as an Ibis Budget standard, the bunk bed is never made, however all the linen should be supplied in the room.

We hope to welcome you back again when your travels brings you back to the local area.

Kind regards,


Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
1,794 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,040 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing