We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
perth
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good value close to airport”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night after long haul flight. Room small but adequate and very quiet. No plane noise although only 3 minutes from terminal. No kettle in room. Continental breakfast £4.95 perfectly adequate. All staff lovely. Easy access to central Birmingham using airport monorail to airport station (free) and train to New Street (£3.50).
Will definitely use this hotel again. Ibis is next door but can't see any point in paying more if you just need a bed for the night. Their breakfast is £7.95 but includes cooked options.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank octobergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    670
    330
    108
    92
See reviews for
277
574
284
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This place isn't luxurious but it's clean, comfortable, fresh and super close to Birmingham airport.
Ideal if only needed as an overnight stop for an early morning flight.
The toilet/shower/sink layout is pretty strange... But clean and useful none the less.
You can't expect much more for £35(or so) a night.
Will definitely use again if needs be.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to give some feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

If it’s a one night short stay this is a good hotel on a Budget. Rooms was clean and tidy, staff very friendly, but not my type of hotel, very basic given the cost per night we paid. Blind was broken in my room so could not open it .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skull0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.

Please accept our apologies for the broken blind in your room. This should have been fixed prior to arrival, and our housekeeping team will be reviewing their procedures to ensure it does not happen again.

We hope you visit us again when your travels brings you back to the local area.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed here last night with my adult daughter. Most basic place associated to a big name hotel I have ever stayed in. Bedding configuration was a double (possibly Queen) with a single bunk above it at right angles. Very difficult access to navigate to ascend "ladder". The bedding for the bunk was not made up, but supplied in plastic bags left on the mattress. We had dinner at the Ibis next door but werent enamoured with the service, the ever hovering wait staff who pounced on empty glasses and plates as soon as the last drop or mouthful passed your lips, or the risotto which was served like a soup with spoons ! Then this morning we went for breakfast in the foyer, which isnt included in the price (4.95 each) and were harrassed by the rudest member of staff I ever came across who demanded to know had we paid. We thought we had when we checked in, but the language barrier was obviously too great and we had not been charged. Just as well because the choice of food could hardly have been called a "choice". Back to our rooms to collect our things so we could check out - minus showers because the "bathroom" is a mockery. Basin in the same room as the beds, toiles in a cupboard you can hardly move in, and the shower with glass door (and light) but no space to put towels or clothes without getting wet - you need to shower in the cubicle and then step out into the bedroom to dry and dress. Even as mother and daughter we werent comfortable with this. So checking out...the rude member of staff called out "Just put the card in the bowl" and carried on about his work clearing breakfast tables in the adjacent foyer. No "Did you enjoy your stay", "Good morning" "Thank you" or "Goodbye".

Will never book one of these again, can only hope the other airport hotels offer a better service. Oh, and overnight parking with their "discount" was still 16pound.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwi_choccie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert_Veldtman, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your valued feedback. I was disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay, and for this I would like to sincerely apologise.

We have noted your comments and are working hard to improve on the points that you have raised. In the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel direct to discuss your stay in more detail.

Kind regards,

Robert Veldtman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Etap last night and was most disappointed. I had to walk to the hotel in semi darkness at 10.00pm. The reception looked gloomy although the receptionist was fine
The room was small but ok for an overnight stay, except the floor was damp and sticky. The quilt on the bed appeared to have been put on the wrong way round resulting in the cover being ruched up almost 'apple pie style'.
I managed to sleep only until approx 2.00am when the fire alarm from the adjacent building (which is shared with the Etap) rudely awoke me. Nobody seemed to know what to do. Several went to the reception, no apparent gathering area, to be told it was a false alarm.
This morning I tried to speak with the manager a about the room but I was told that the manager doesn't work at the weekend.
The Ibis / Accor website was no help requiring a lot of personal information before a comment could be forwarded.
I have several concerns still as I am due to stay at the hotel again on Saturday.
I felt this was total shoddy behaviour from a world renowned organisation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Arrived at the hotel at 1pm in the morning with my husband and grandson only to find that not only was the room very basic but I had to make the top bunk myself as the bedding was just left on top of the mattress.Double bed was so hard and the sheets were not even put on tidy just thrown together.Stayed at the Ibis next door with no complaint.Will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,826 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,400 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#38 of 117 in Birmingham
1,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Property: Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing