We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etap Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
An Accor traveller
shrewsbury
202
Reviewed 23 November 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont, Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,562 - 1,568 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19KayHF
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed two nights and was very impressed with what I got for the price!

Room was clean and perfectly adequate. Shower powerful and hot. TV has good basci range of free channels.

Really liked that you can set your own temperature and meant I wasn't boiling through the night like you do in a lot of hotels.

Staff were efficient and friendly.

Breakfast fresh and plenty of it. Also a selection of snacks/drinks/beer/wine available beside recepection with the small bottles of wine being much cheaper than the hotel next door!

I ate at the Ibis next door, both nights so this was very handy and easy especially when travellling by myself.

The hotel is easily found across the carpark at the front of the airport.

To summerise I was not expecting much for the price but it was better than expected and I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hill-run_bisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
retired
1
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Brilliant value and convenience for the airport and the NEC when all you want is somewhere comfortable to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

So glad you had an enjoyable time with us!
We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 November 2010

Stayed one night, 1st time at etap. Great location 1 min walk from terminals. Ignore other reviews - you don't need to park with them, but use either the NCP onsite BHX airport parking in multistorey 2 mins away or even cheaper longstay on airport that is 10 min walk.

Room is basic - but shower was good. For £35 was fine. Service was surly, no A-club points offered and even though booked online had to fill out booking form again. I didn't expect much and wasn't too disappointed. I would consider for an early flight again, but if could stretch would stay at the next door ibis or novotel (much better). The bed was not that comfy, but TV ok. Beware - internet is free wifi in lobby only.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
Thank TravellingBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2010

I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a positive review.
I’m glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Booked this hotel to attend an event at the NEC. Nothing on the Etap website warns you about the exceedingly high parking charges of almost £14 a day. These charges make this hotel much more expensive than other budget hotels outside the airport precinct.

It seems that NCP, the car park operators, are also in the habit of issuing bogus tickets to people who have parked legitimately. I got a £100 ticket for "not parking within a bay" even though I was well within the bay on all sides. The NCP staff I spoke to were evasive and all of them made the bizarre claim that they couldn't discuss it because they didn't actually work for NCP! The hotel staff advised that this was a regular scam and happened "all the time." As this is a private car park I've received legal advice that the "fines" are unenforceable in law but I've no doubt that lots of innocent people just pay up without challenging them.

The hotel rooms themselves are really only suitable for single travellers who want a cheap, basic transit room to crash in for a night. The linen is not changed daily unless you request it. The shower cubicle opens up directly into the room so you've got nowhere to dry off and get dressed in private if you need to. The triple rooms do not really have space for three people to circulate comfortably. This is budget accommodation stripped back to its barest essentials.

If it weren't for the car park scams, I might be inclined to stay again but only if I was on my own. All things considered though, it's most unlikely I'll ever return under any circumstances.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic_Dumont, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

Many thanks for your feedback. Please accept our apologies and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously. Be assured that we are looking into the matter.
Please note that it is mentionned on our Website that there is a Public Car Park chargeable available and that discounted price can be offered. The discount can only be offer when car park is pre booked directly with the hotel at least 24 hours in advance.
I have also forwarded your feedback to our Marketing department in order to propose packages (room + car park) directly on the website, hoping that it will happen in the near future.
Regarding the NCP "scam", I was not aware of it and I have immediately discussed your comments with the NCP in order to avoid any reoccurence.
Kind regards,
Frederic Dumont
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,990 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#17 of 118 in Birmingham
1,277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
2,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport

Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Solihull, Birmingham B26 3AW, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Birmingham Airport)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £36 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Birmingham Airport (soon ibis budget) is a low-cost hotel located at Birmingham International Airport. Book this hotel for a short walk from the hotel to the Airport, or easy access to the NEC or LG Arena. The hotel has 120 modern guest rooms, each with en-suite shower, air cooling and flat screen TV. Our Fraiche food outlet serves a good value all you can eat breakfast buffet every morning, and snacks and drinks are available 24 hours a day. 100% non-smoking hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout hotel in guest bedrooms & public areas. Discounted NCP car park available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing