We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than adequate for a couple of nights”
Review of The Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Beeches
Ranked #82 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More than adequate for a couple of nights”
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We checked in fairly late one very chilly evening. The place is very rambling, with some external annexes. Our room was in one of these. On the second go, we managed to find a very clean but very cold room. When we rang reception, someone was there within minutes with a powerful electric heater. He'd also sorted the radiator quite quickly, and we were quite cosy after that.
Breakfast was a standard cooked English. Only small gripe there was the lack of unsmoked bacon, which didn't suit my husband. One morning the eggs arrived cooked wrongly, but a replacement arrived quickly.
We spent very little time at the hotel other than to sleep, but were quite pleased with it none the less. It seems the place is largely set up for conferences. But for our visit that was no problem at all.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ValleysLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. We are delighted with your rating and very positive comments after your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    52
    51
    28
    18
See reviews for
12
26
9
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, as I was attending a fitness course nearby.
From the moment we walked in, the staff were friendly and very professional.
Our room was a good double sized room, and we dined in the hotel a couple of the nights, the food was lovely and well presented.Our stay included breakfast, which was most definatly worth waking up for! We only had one issue, which was the toilet, a problem with the flush system. But we were quickly accomidated to a new room within an hour. They have a really good gym, and it's perfect if you want some time to yourself! Would 100% stay here again.
Thankyou!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. We are delighted with your rating and very positive comments after your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed for a week. This placve is usually a conference centre but during my stay was not overly busy. Food was good value, Curry Night =£10 and Steak Night = £14. Fairly basic cooking but not a rip off. Rooms were clean and tidy. Uses Sheets and Blankets!! With Hospital Corners!
There is a fitness room which is exercise machines and hand weights. No Long bars or lifting machines but OK/

Not much in the area for nights. Very like a friendly Travel lodge in Decor but staff are friendly and its comfortable with service.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your very complimentary review. We are delighted with your rating and very positive comments after your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Stayed for two weeks. Rooms compact and similar to travel lodge standard really. Free wifi which was good. I booked two rooms and we both found them cold. We did mention this at reception and the heating was turned on earlier but it had little effect. The radiators were not big enough to combat the single glazed draughty windows. Needed a bit of attention. For example, the bathroom radiator had been painted and had dripped on the floor along the full length. Nobody had bothered to attend to this and it looked terrible. Shower pressure was also a bit poor. Apart from that I would stay there again if the price was right but not in winter and perhaps not for two weeks.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same size, so we were told?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. We are disappointed with your comments regarding the heating and maintenance of your rooms and are sorry that you did not enjoy our stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Arrived with the intention of resting from the night before and found the room provided colder than the Falklands in mid June. Although the staff did come and put the heating on we ventured out due to the temperature and so returned early exhausted, slept, only to wake at 0500hrs freezing to death as the heating goes off overnight. The outside temperature was -2 and seeped through the walls. Couldn't stand to wait around for breakfast so left early and drove home as the car was warm. The room was cheap and we got what we paid for, so if you are on a budget and not too fussy, The Beeches is probably Ok. For us it was very disappointing and ruined what was otherwise a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyMiller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write. We are disappointed with your comments regarding the heating and are sorry that you did not enjoy our stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Please accept my humble apoplgies for not getting in touch sooner. Our server crashed last Thursday night and came back up yesterday evening. We have had no access to emails, internet nor our own hotel software. You may have noticed a manual check in when you arrived?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

bury st edmunds
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I have been staying here on average once a month since October2012 and being a lone female traveller I have to say I feel safe here. The staff are all lovely, the first room I stayed in was very small but it was clean and comfortable. I then stayed in the annex and that room too was very good, my last stay was in the main building and the room was a very good size. I always eat my main meal here and it's always lovely, specials are offered which are very nice. Breakfast is top! Staff friendly and helpful I always leave feeling stuffed and ready for my day at uni!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I have to a fellow uni student who will be booking soon. I'm glad I found this hotel and the price I pay for the room is good. Like the name suggests it is more for those on work conferences but you can stay here to sight see B'ham as well. It's close to cadbury world too and I was a little disappointed they don't offer family rooms as I would have stayed here this half term instead of the grotty Travelodge we were subjected too!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhi0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted that you continue to enjoy your stays with us. What a great compliment each time you return! We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights 13/14 Feb 2013, I had a single room which was clean and pleasant.
This building has obviously been converted from another use that didn't have sleep in mind. There is zero sounds proofing between rooms, I've had 2 sleepless nights. After the first night I asked to change rooms which I did, but this didn't cure the noise problem.
The first night the guest above me might as well have been in the same room because that's how bad the noise was. The second night I had to share next doors snoring and noise coming from the bathroom.
The only reason I stay in hotels is because I need to sleep after a hard days work, this hotel does not allow you to do this. Apart from the room being clean I haven't anything positive to say about this place.
I stay in hotels most weeks Monday to Thursday all over the world, the very basic requirement is for a hotel to be clean and quite.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your comments and I am glad we were able to chat about this in person before you left. I am pleased you found the hotel to be clean and with good amenities. We agreed to resolve your bedroom on your next visit as at the time that was the only reason you were unhappy. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to resolving this for you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Westmead Hotel
#46 of 117 in Birmingham
638 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#75 of 117 in Birmingham
75 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
448 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Property: The Beeches
Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests. In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served. The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing