We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beeches

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Beeches
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for 1 night after a business trip and before a trip to Cadbury World. Very friendly staff. The room was large and had all we needed. Breakfast was brilliant, some lovely specials - we had smoked haddock topped with a poached egg, plus all the usual cereals, yogurts, fruit etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear jaxval
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Your comments have been passed to all departments. We would love to see you again
Kind Regards
Debra Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    47
    45
    27
    18
See reviews for
11
23
7
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Have stayed for one night only as it is close to my Birmingham office.

What a dreadful place. I will never return.

It was a hottest day of this summer and I have been allocated room in the attic somewhere! Walked in and simply could not breathe as it was unbearably hot. Have requested another room so they have stuck me in the basement. The room was next to some hotel offices. There were two other rooms there with some poor souls like me suffering in their rooms. There was no sound insulation between rooms at all!! I could virtually hear my neighbour breathing heavily. Heard him snoring as well. :-)

I could not be bothered to ask for another room as it was late and I was exhausted. The bed was single and tiny. Cannot remember when I slept in single bed last time! It was hard and lumpy. Pillows were awful. Bathroom was small but ok.


Did not have food there.

In the morning I had to argue for about 15 minutes about my bill. My company uses this hotel regularly and always settle all bills beforehand. Receptionist was insisting that I had to pay. In the end they have managed to find all payment info.

Please avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank XseniaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear XseniaX
Please accept my apologies for the heat in the rooms you experienced. I appreciate it was a very hot time of the year and although we would have loved to have had the windows open for some fresh air prior to your arrival, security issues prevent us from doing this. I have also spoken to Reception and I can only apologise for the confusion upon checkout. Please rest assured this wont happen again
Kind Regards
Debra Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had a comfortable stay one Friday night while visiting family. The price was very reasonable. The room was large, which we like, and there was a sofa and a chair, which is unusual in our price-range. We spent very little time in the hotel but we we would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was excellent. On the down side - which didn't affect us very much - was that many of the rooms are in outbuildings several yards away from the main building which has the restaurant and bar and reception.

Room Tip: We were in the Morlands building, which has a separate carpark much nearer than the main one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Rod H
Thank you so much for your excellent response. I am so please you liked your room and had a great breakfast. We would love to welcome you back again
Kind Regards
Debra Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

This is in a lovely area.
The rooms are ok, except the curtain was falling off the rail - and the room generally didn't look like it had been decorated for a very long time. There was only one really thin pillow on the bed. And the bathroom window didn't open. Oh and my sheet had a big dirty mark on it...
The breakfast was delicious and lots of it.
Check-in is pretty awful though... we arrived exhausted after a long journey and we were bombarded with questions and wanting extra money from us - I couldn't understand what the receptionist was saying really... I'm not sure her English was too good, or maybe it was just I was just too tired to get my head round what she was saying...
It was really empty in the hotel and it wasn't a very good atmosphere.

Room Tip: There are a couple of rooms with balconies. Mine wasn't one of them, but I was next door to tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire111Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Claire111Bear
Thank you for your review and valuable feedback. I have personally checked your room and would like to re-assure you the maintenance issues have been corrected and there are always extra pillows in the wardrobes. I'm really pleased that you too have a really great breakfast. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards
Debra Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The staff at the Beeches were all really helpful. It has excellent Conference facilities. The rooms were adequate and the breakfast was a real treat. I was very disappointed not to have wifi in my room although the staff did everything possible to try to make it happen

Room Tip: I had a small double with patio doors and a balcony overlooking the lawns. wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Dear Carol K
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is wonderful to receive great feedback about our staff and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Beeches on a future visit
Kind Regards
Debra Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

Although the rooms were small, and the shower even smaller. The single room was very clean and the wifi was fantastic.

Breakfast was lovely - buffet would be better, but staff very attentive and helpful. For the low price , a great little stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear Graham S
Thank you for taking the time to place your review
I am pleased to read that although the room was small, it was clean with great facilities. I'm glad you enjoyed breakfast and you will be pleased to know that on the 15th July, we are launching our new menu, on which the buffet choice will be upgraded with fruits, yoghurts etc and also introducing a continental cold meats and cheese platter. I hope you can join us......
Regards
Debra Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights at The Beeches because a conference was being held there.

I have stayed at The Beeches several times all work related and you can have a variety of accommodation - from the good to the well below average. Unfortunately the room I was allocated this time can best be described as a cupboard, very small with a sloping ceiling. To get into the bathroom I had to lean to the left because of the slope in the doorway. There was no where in the bathroom to put toiletries except on the sink. The sound insulation was virtually non existent so I could hear everything from next door. However, other rooms I have stayed in at The Beeches have been much better so you take your chance!

Everything is clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the food has always been fine. The prices are competitive.

The place is off the beaten track in the middle of the Bournville estate. Cadbury World is within easy walking distance. Bournville railway station is a 15/20 minute walk with train services to Birmingham New Street running every 10 minutes or so. There is plenty of free parking in front of the building, except when a conference is being held and then you may have to park on the street.

Whilst it is convenient to stay here when conferences are being held, I personally wouldn't stay here for leisure.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AggyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebraJonesBeeches, General Manager at The Beeches, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Dear AggyGuy
Thank you very much for writing a review on the Beeches. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities and that the Beeches was clean with friendly staff and good food. It sounds as though your bedroom was one allocated in the eaves of the original house. There are a couple of rooms with sloping ceilings up there. Unfortunately due to the layout of the building we are unable to change these, but as you rightly put, the price reflects this and offers value for money. We look forward to seeing you again, where hopefully you will have a better room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Westmead Hotel
#40 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#95 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beeches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beeches

Property: The Beeches
Address: 76 Selly Oak Road | Bournville, Birmingham B30 1LS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beeches 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built by the Cadbury family in the 1900s, The Beeches is a unique and characterful property set in the heart of the beautiful village of Bournville. Easy to reach from the M42, M5 and M6, and with ample free parking on site, The Beeches’ grounds and peaceful location offers a restful stop at the end of your journey.Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, The Beeches provides a very warm welcome and a comfortable stay in one of its cosy rooms. All the rooms offer tea and coffee making facilities, a safe and hair dryer as well as free WiFi for all guests. In the evenings guests can relax in the bar and lounge where bar snacks and evening meals are served. The friendly staff and home-cooked food make The Beeches a great choice for regular guests visiting the University of Birmingham, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham International Airport and new Queen Elizabeth Hospital.With the popular Cadbury’s World and the attraction and history of Bournville just minutes from its door, The Beeches is the perfect location from which to explore the delights of the local area. The city of Birmingham is just a short train ride away, and highlights such as The Bullring Shopping Centre, the National Exhibition Centre and National Indoor Arena mean it is a fantastic location for a short break or extended visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Beeches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beeches Conference Centre Hotel Bournville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing