We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location for early morning flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ranked #20 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location for early morning flight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

If you are flying out of Birmingham airport early in the morning, the location of the hotel on the airport itself, with a short walk only to the terminal buildings, makes it the perfect place to put your head down the night before.

Often good value, as well, especially when booking sometime in advance.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bullythedutchfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Many thanks for posting your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Birmingham Airport very soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    787
    280
    72
    48
See reviews for
189
706
179
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Good place, great bedroom and shower; breakfast OK - cooked could have been better, but a good selection of things. If flying, then excellent, but I stayed as it was close to an off-airport business appointment - so parking can be iffy. Small bay for two cars outside for dropping off ('no parking' rules rigidly enforced as this is all airport roadways); NCP short/medium stay car park is directly opposite and very convenient, but min stay (or min cost) is over £3 - so very expensive for a twenty-minute stay! We had planned to unpack, and then later drive out for something to eat, away from the airport, but this parking system stopped that idea. The good news is that the normal 24-rate of £22 is discounted to £13 if you get a ticket from hotel before you leave.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Many thanks for the review. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Having used a 4* hotel at the NEC for our annual visit to The Horse of the Year Show for the past 6 years, my friend and I decided that the price had got out of hand and tried the Ibis for the first time this year. What an excellent decision it turned out to be! We knew we wouldn't be spending much time in the hotel, so the main priority was ease of access to the LG Arena. And it was easy - Skyrail from the airport, a short walk and you're there. And the Skyrail runs from 5am until 2am.

The hotel itself was a very pleasant surprise. Check in/out was quick and efficient (much better than we were used to in the other hotel). The room was spotlessly clean and, although it wasn't huge, had everything we needed. Don't be put off by negative comments regarding the beds, or indeed by the appearance of the beds - we found them comfortable and slept well. If you keep the window closed, there's very little noise from the airport. The bathroom "pod" is a small space but, again, has everything you need and was immaculate. And the shower was excellent - roomy and plenty of power!

As far as meals go, we only had one breakfast and it was fine. Help-yourself buffet with continental and hot choices on offer. Again, staff were efficient - tables were cleared quickly and the buffet constantly topped up, so no complaints there either.

All in all, the Ibis was excellent value for money. We had a pleasant stay and will definitely not be returning to the other hotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toberelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Thanks for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us at Ibis Birmingham Airport and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed at the Ibis while attending Naidex at the NEC this spring. Had a hard time finding a wheelchair accessible room at short notice, and the Ibis came up trumps. Lovely wood floor - fantastic no friction for wheelchair users and the bathroom although small was brilliantly laid out with a proper roll-in shower. From the 5th floor I could watch planes taking off from my bed but even though they were only a couple of hundred metres away I couldn't hear a thing with the windows shut - amazing! Beds are fairly low and this caused difficulties for my Personal (care) Assistant who got a very sore back from bending down to help me.

If you drive here you'll need to budget a substantial extra amount for the extortionate parking (not owned or provided by the hotel) - there was NO disabled parking available anywhere within reasonable distance of the hotel, and the carpark opposite was hugely expensive and lacked dropped kerbs for wheelchair access. Not the hotel's fault in the slightest but it was a really big problem for me, caused a lot of extra stress and for that reason I wouldn't ever stay here again while driving (if travelling by train you're fine).

Staff were friendly, breakfast was tasty, honestly the only negative was the horrible car parking. They do a good baked potato, too! Suggest hopping on a train into central Birmingham for dinner if you're staying a few nights and want some more variety - it's an easy, short trip with low fares and was worth it to have lots more options.

For the unwary - the airport is theoretically next door to the NEC but it's a relatively long and awkward trip involving a monorail/shuttle train thingy, a bit of a walk and then a courtesy bus or a much longer walk to get to the exhibition centre - this is very much NOT one of the on-site hotels. May or may not be a problem for you (I really rather liked going on the little train every day) but it's not a nice surprise if you thought you'd have a 5 minute walk...

Room Tip: Disabled travellers who travel with a personal care assistant should ask about the adjoining "c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingMeeces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts, we really value your feedback. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis Birmingham Airport in the future.

Kind regrds,

Jeremy Vrancken
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Midlands/North South East, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel, and again included a parking deal. Can't fault the place for what we paid. Had a nice meal in the hotel restaurant. The Novotel next door has a few more facilities, but as we were only at the Ibis for one night, this wasn't an issue and not work paying the extra cost, though we have stayed at the Novotel before. Ideal for the short walk to the airport in the morning, no waiting for transport.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mountino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis BIrmingham Airport and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monchique
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Very comfortable hotel
24/7 restaurant on site with adequate menu.
TV alarm for early starts
drop-off "parking" next the entrance
only a short walk to airport terminal to catch a flight.
Arrivals/departures screen in Reception
Staff very helpful - switched-on manager
I have stayed at this Ibis about every 6 weeks for last year and barring one slow-to arrive desert ( which was suitably compensated) it has been consistently very good.
Book early for cheap deals.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter-CT7ADL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis BIrmingham Airport. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jeremy Vrancken
Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC

Property: Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Birmingham B26 3AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing