We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Sited Hotel for Early Flight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
wales
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well Sited Hotel for Early Flight”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The price in this hotel is sensitive to events in the NEC so it pays to book early for a pre-flight stay for the best rate. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the terminal. We paid extra to pasrk the car in Short Stay Car park 2 - managed to park just across the road from the Ibis from door.

The hotel is basic, the checkin is efficient and the rooms are simple, clean with a functional bathroom and slow free wifi. There is a wait for the lifts. We had an early flight - which is why we paid extra to stay within a short walk of the airport so can't comment on breakfast - but it is available from 4am. We small bar/restaurant area was crowded so we ate in the evening in the Weatherspoons in the hotel, which was like a normal Weatherspoons but more expensive.

This hotel is functional for a night's stay in the airport or a NEC event. For that its good at a good price. We paid about £67 and were happy with that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming back at Ibis Hotel Birmingham Airport again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    809
    291
    77
    52
See reviews for
197
729
187
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed on 14 February 2013 for one night on the 9th floor prior to catching an early flight to Zurich the next day. The rooms are clean, functional and very small. The shower room is a moulded unit as you'd find on a yacht which is interesting. We ate in the bar and, whilst the food was acceptable, the staff was over stretched as there simply were not enough on duty to cope with the number of customers. The big disappointment re: this hotel is that a scarf (not of any great value but was much worn) which was accidentally left behind has not been seen since and no record of it from housekeeping. Unlikely to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest, I am happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and functional. However at the same time I was very sorry to learn that some of your personal items where missing. Safety and security is of paramount importance to us and I regret that you have been given cause for concern in this respect. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your comments have been reviewed with the Housekeeping staff and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at the IBIS Birmingham airport for 1 night at a cost of nearly £100 excluding breakfast (and parking is an extra £16). The hotel is ok if you get a cheap deal, there for one night and don't want to get any food or drink. If you want any service be prepared to wait a while and get somewhat of an abrupt / rude and unfriendly service reminiscent of Basil Fawlty.

I guess if you have an early flight, just using the room to crash out and you can get it cheap (under £60) then give it a go (leave ample time to checkout),

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyQuinn3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest, I was sorry to learn that the standard of the service did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your comments have been reviewed with the Food and Beverage Manager and corrective measures have been implemented to avoid a similar situation occurring in the future.

Regarding the cost of the room Ibis Hotels operate a flexible pricing policy, as with low cost airlines, the price depends very much on levels demands. This Policy allows us to promote very attractive prices on some days, but prices are higher on days when there is higher demand. This usually revolves around specific events in the area. As ever from a commercial perspective, price is always subject to supply and demand.

Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and continually improve upon the quality of our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis in the future.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We arrived here late evening, having booked a room and parking deal and having left the car safely in car park 1. It all worked very smoothly. The hotel has been redecorated and with some style so it really felt as if our holiday had started already. The room was perfectly comfortable and clean and we got a good night's sleep. We didn't use the restaurant area but left early to get our flight. So much better than driving up on the day with all the stress that entails. Good value for money and very convenient. Even quite fun!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMofWappenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Considering this is an Ibis hotel, which tends to be on the lower end of the budget, this was a well decorated hotel, good comfortable rooms, not noisy. Great location, opposite departures. It was reasonably priced for an airport hotel and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneDStroud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the positive comments. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Birmingham Airport again very soon.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and find it has manitained a consistent performance. I am sure most travellers have stayed at one time or another at an Ibis. The location will be different and can enhance or otherwise the experience. Of the three hotels next to the terminal then this is perhaps a good choice. The rooms are always clean with the basics. The value for money factor is a bit of an enigma: If your company has a corporate rate then this will not be a problem. If like me you are paying, then it is. The cost of the room varies according to which day of the week one stays. It appears to be cheaper towards the end of the week/weeked. The early cooked breakfast (04:00) will encourage those travellers on an early flight and like a substantial meal. The staff are always polite and helpful. If, however a choice is required then you have the Novotel (overpriced in my opinion) or the Etap (now renamed) which is really, really basic. My choice, the Ibis.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit at Ibis Birmingham Airport. I was delighted to hear that once again you enjoyed our location and you find our staff very friendly. I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Birmingham Airport in the near future.

Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

There is a rail link from the railway station to the airport terminal and the hotel is only a short walk from the terminal. We stayed here prior a very early morning long haul flight. The room was basic and clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was adequate for our purposes. We had tea and coffee facilities. It was well sound proofed so we had a good nights sleep.

For an airport hotel it was good and the price was right. Well done, Ibis.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our location and the comfort of our bedrooms and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.1 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 117 in Birmingham
2,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
Travelodge Birmingham Airport
#42 of 117 in Birmingham
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC

Property: Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Birmingham B26 3AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#17 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing