We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you for!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Birmingham Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ranked #19 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
GreenLeadersBronze level
Northants UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“You get what you for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

And with Ibis you usually do not pay a lot.

This is certainly up to the usual Ibis standard, no frills, but functional.

Good service, good food, clean and quiet, just what one needs pre flight night.

Yes it does its job!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest, Many thanks for the positive comments, I am happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Birmingham Airport, again very soon.

Kind regards

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    775
    278
    70
    48
See reviews for
185
699
175
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

As I had an early flight out of Birmingham, I wanted to stay over at the airport for convenience. As there is not much choice, my assistant booked Ibis which I wasn't particularly looking forward to due to a previous experience in an Ibis in France last year. Well, I should have known better.
Upon arrival a scruffy receptionist checked me in. I was hungry and asked my taxi driver if there was any decent restaurant around but according to him there was none so. I decided to eat in the Ibis hotel's restaurant. The restaurant was still relatively quiet albeit in the lobby area (actually reception, lobby and restaurant are all in the same area...) there was a large and very loud group of people, with dogs. When I changed and came back down, the restaurant was completely full and my god, have I ever heard so much noise in a hotel restaurant. There was a large communal table where a couple of seats were still free so I took one of those. For an Ibis hotel, I guess the menu was not a complete disaster and I took a burger. Despite the incredible noise I was able to get some work done and the wifi worked very well and was for free. The room was as you would expect simple, small as was the bathroom which reminded me of being on a cruise ship. The window was not isolated well enough so the noise from the street was quite loud. The bed, on the other hand, was quite comfortable. Without breakfast, I paid 135 euros which for this type of hotel I find an outrage. Never again and next time, I'll settle for an upscale hotel and take a taxi instead.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest, I’m sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at Ibis Birmingham Airport, as our guest satisfaction is our main priority. The hotel operates a flexible pricing policy so the price depends very much on levels of demand. Furthermore our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value given our location and extensive facilities. We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandeilo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent stay across the road from the airport. The service received from reception was exemplary, as we were on a skiing trip we had loads of baggage. I left my wife with the luggage to check in whilst I parked the car. Not only were we upgraded to an accessible room to accommodate all our luggage, the receptionist carried the bags up to our room. The room was clean and comfortable as expected from Ibis. For the price paid this was an excellent value hotel and so convenient for the airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandJudy D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback. We are all working very hard to provide our guest with the best service and it is very rewarding and motivational when we learn that our efforts have been recognised. We looking forward to welcoming you back again at Ibis Birmingham Airport.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband & I stayed at this hotel the just over a week ago as we had an early flight the following morning, the location was perfect it was right next to the short/medium stay carpark and literally over the road from the airport. The reception area was pleasant & the receptionist who checked us in was efficient & friendly. The size of our room was fine & was spotless with everything we needed, we strolled across the road into the airport for our evening meal so I can't comment on the food. But unfortunately the bed was the worst either myself or my husband had ever slept in, it was as well we had an early flight & we were both thankful we were only staying the one night. The reason for my poor rating was simply due to the comfort of the bed which is a shame because everything else was fine but I feel the fundamental part of a hotel, even a budget hotel is how well you sleep & it was like sleeping on a hard wooden floor - we aren't fussy people but we both commented when we got up how bad it was, unfortunately rather than feeling refreshed for our early flight we both ached.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucandkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Ibis Birmingham Airport. I was really pleased to hear how convenient you found our location and how clean you found our bedrooms. However at the same time I was very sorry to learn that the bed was not to your liking.

The Ibis beds are of a standard style, and you will find the same beds in most Ibis hotels whether it be here in UK or in Europe. Mattress comfort tends very much to be a matter of personal preference and Your comments on this point have been noted.

Thank you once again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.

Best regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The price in this hotel is sensitive to events in the NEC so it pays to book early for a pre-flight stay for the best rate. The hotel is a few minutes walk from the terminal. We paid extra to pasrk the car in Short Stay Car park 2 - managed to park just across the road from the Ibis from door.

The hotel is basic, the checkin is efficient and the rooms are simple, clean with a functional bathroom and slow free wifi. There is a wait for the lifts. We had an early flight - which is why we paid extra to stay within a short walk of the airport so can't comment on breakfast - but it is available from 4am. We small bar/restaurant area was crowded so we ate in the evening in the Weatherspoons in the hotel, which was like a normal Weatherspoons but more expensive.

This hotel is functional for a night's stay in the airport or a NEC event. For that its good at a good price. We paid about £67 and were happy with that.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sosban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming back at Ibis Hotel Birmingham Airport again in the near future.


Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed on 14 February 2013 for one night on the 9th floor prior to catching an early flight to Zurich the next day. The rooms are clean, functional and very small. The shower room is a moulded unit as you'd find on a yacht which is interesting. We ate in the bar and, whilst the food was acceptable, the staff was over stretched as there simply were not enough on duty to cope with the number of customers. The big disappointment re: this hotel is that a scarf (not of any great value but was much worn) which was accidentally left behind has not been seen since and no record of it from housekeeping. Unlikely to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Discerning1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest, I am happy to hear that you found our rooms to be clean and functional. However at the same time I was very sorry to learn that some of your personal items where missing. Safety and security is of paramount importance to us and I regret that you have been given cause for concern in this respect. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your comments have been reviewed with the Housekeeping staff and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed at the IBIS Birmingham airport for 1 night at a cost of nearly £100 excluding breakfast (and parking is an extra £16). The hotel is ok if you get a cheap deal, there for one night and don't want to get any food or drink. If you want any service be prepared to wait a while and get somewhat of an abrupt / rude and unfriendly service reminiscent of Basil Fawlty.

I guess if you have an early flight, just using the room to crash out and you can get it cheap (under £60) then give it a go (leave ample time to checkout),

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyQuinn3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IbisBhxAirport, General Manager at Ibis Birmingham Airport, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Guest, I was sorry to learn that the standard of the service did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Your comments have been reviewed with the Food and Beverage Manager and corrective measures have been implemented to avoid a similar situation occurring in the future.

Regarding the cost of the room Ibis Hotels operate a flexible pricing policy, as with low cost airlines, the price depends very much on levels demands. This Policy allows us to promote very attractive prices on some days, but prices are higher on days when there is higher demand. This usually revolves around specific events in the area. As ever from a commercial perspective, price is always subject to supply and demand.

Thank you once again for your feedback, which is invaluable in our efforts to assess and continually improve upon the quality of our service. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Ibis in the future.

Kind regards,

Carlos Vieira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#5 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Birmingham Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Birmingham Airport

Property: Ibis Birmingham Airport
Address: Ambassador Road | Birmingham International Airport, Birmingham B26 3AW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#16 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Birmingham Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Lastminute, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Birmingham Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Birmingham Airport Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing