We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently superb”

Hookway's salad & sandwich bar
Ranked #842 of 2,535 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$3 - US$6
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Great little shop that predominately sells salad, sandwich and baked potatoes.
The salad is great, everything is prepared for a little bit of extra flavour. It's not just sweetcorn, for example, it's chargrilled with a little spring onion and feta mixed in. Broccoli might have been cooked with soy sauce, chilli and chilli, or whatever. The end result is its all really tasty. There are always a couple of hot dishes too, like curry and rice or roast potatoes and stew.
The staff are all fantastic and really helpful and it's just a friendly place.
You an also get a Hookways card and get 10 stamps you get a lunch for free. Only slight suggestion I would have is please don't put sultanas in quite so many dishes :p
Keep up the good work, now my favourite lunchtime place in Brum.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank martbmth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2018

Everyone who works at Hookways is always super friendly and inviting. Every food item and smoothie drink I have tried has been amazing. The best option would have to be the sweet potato which is the best I have ever had!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Food
Thank charlhamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018 via mobile

Best food for lunch in Birmingham. How they make a salad taste this good I do not know!!! Great food

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank soldbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Just stumbled via this place by accident. Followed my nose. Smelt delicious and I returned the next day to purchase a yummy salade freshly prepared. Yum yum all the way. Definitely one venue to return to, to embrace the clean eating theme.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank gurpreet2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017

I love this place! Nice & clean. Great variety of foods - from wraps, sandwiches, jacket potatoes including sweet potatoes, to noodles and extensive salad bar to smoothies! Very tasty and all freshly made. Excellent healthy choices too. Staff very friendly too.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank CeeDee-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hookway's salad & sandwich bar also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Hookway's salad & sandwich bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing