We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an amazing atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“an amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have spent time with the guys at Hatters numerous times in my travels and the reason I keep coming back is the amazing staff and the atmosphere. I have found it a god base for my travels. Quite close from Snow Hill station and a 10 minute walk from New street the hostel is in the jewelry quarter which is a fun place to explore with some awesome pubs. Just ask at reception for their suggestions and you never know they might join you for a pint.The staff are incredibly helpful so if you ever need anything just ask. San, Laura and Lewis you guys all rock!
Sometimes the hostel isn't the cleanest which is often due to the disrespect of other guests but if you ever make note of anything they attempt to fix it up straight away.There is always something going on and the communal basement areas are great for meeting new people. The kitchen is basic but has everything you need to cook a meal with any newly acquired friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    146
    68
    52
    46
See reviews for
24
50
152
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
358 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed with a group at Hatters.
Some rooms were fantastic; others were basic (opening window was not possible and there was a smell in the room).
Breakfast is basic.
We wanted to relax in the new central place (nice renovation!), but regular talk by a group disturbs the guests in the rooms. So we had to get out of this place and to accompagnie the guests in the cave. To much people for this little place.
Kitchen is very basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Love this here! Awesome staff, great place to crash and definitely a great hostel! Pretty clean, good breakfast deal, free wifi! and pf course, a tv room :) Will return when I am in birmingham again! Love Laura, San, Luis, and Alex :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just finished a week's stay at Hatter's Birmingham. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Everyone of them from every shift.

The pictures however show the place at its cleanest and therefore this was not always the case. Never once did I see or hear anyone vacuum the carpeting in our wing of the building in the seven days we were there. The Wi-Fi was also none existent and we spent more time outside of the hostel than in it.

We stayed in the new dorm area with pods instead of multi-shared beds. There was plenty of soap to take showers with (thank you!) but the bathrooms are on sensors so when there is inactivity in the bathroom even if you are in the shower the lights will go out. There are no windows in the bathrooms so this can be a danger.

No real common areas or places to relax and read in the hostel. Not in the best part of town either. There is a Tesco up the hill which makes it convenient to get groceries and a little park to sit in near the church. Birmingham isn't that big a city so walking everywhere is easy enough.

The beds in the new wing were firm and comfortable. We would recommend this place and stay here again.

Room Tip: They have private rooms with windows that open (we were told) so book early to get the best availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a great stay at Hatters, was there with friends mainly to go to Gatecrashers, Birmingham. We took a room of 4 which was exquisitely clean, bathrooms were also very clean, and the beds and linen were changed everyday and comfy too.
Even the guys at the desk were really helpful, and the location is within approachable distance.
At a budget, it's a great place to stay in comfort.
Even the basement chilling zone is great, with wifi, tea, coffee, toasts, A huge screen, a chatting room, internet, brochures for the entire city's activities. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Try the 2 bed room, the sizes are the same, but the bunk would not be on your head. Also, choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegebrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

For a Hostel personally this was welcoming from the onset. the staff we saw were al friendly. the rooms were clean and linen fresh. The only downside was the shower floor was a little slippery and the bunk bed a little cosey for the taller person. Handy being able to have coffee and toast 24 7

Room Tip: Parking was a bit off an issue though there is a car park which charges £3 for the whole day about 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chivers67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
376 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed here for a week over new years eve 2011, and it just does everything right. The wifi was quite possibly the fastest and most reliable I'd had in any UK hostel, the TV room was perfect (a HUGE projection screen with cable TV, and how many hostels offer a computer with around 500 movies?), and it's only a few minutes' walk away from a train station direct to London. The industrial area is a bit barren but who cares when everything's a short walk or train ride away? It was an easy walk into the city centre. I stayed in several London hostels for many weeks while I was looking for work and attending job interviews, and it makes me wonder why I wasted all that time when I could've spent it here instead. The breakfast was simple yet what I needed and was available later on if I slept in (coffee and hot chocolate was lovely), the staff were as helpful as they could be, there's a bottle shop up the road and alcohol is more than welcome (especially on new years eve before I went out!), yet the rooms are far away from any noise. I'm back home in Australia now, but this place is definitely on my mind if I ever return to the UK.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebskulker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Broad Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatters Hostel -Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hostel -Birmingham

Property: Hatters Hostel -Birmingham
Address: 92/95 Livery Street | Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham B3 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hostel -Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Birmingham's historic Jewellery Quarter & just minutes from the NIA and city centre, we've kept in tone with our surroundings by ensuring that our accommodation is the blingest in town!Hatters Birmingham Voted No.1 in England 2012 by Hostelworld customers!!Hatters Birmingham awarded No. 1 by Enjoy England 2011!!Hatters Hostels voted Best Hostel Chain in the UK & 2nd Best worldwide for 2008 by Hostelworld customers!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hatters Hostel -Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing