We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My overall experience at this hostel was fantastic. You enter and there is usually a very friendly receptionist who will take the time to give you directions and tips on how to enjoy your stay. There is a kitchen where you can cook your meals if you bring your own ingredients. You do have to clean up after yourself, which is fair enough. Bread, butter, jam, coffee, tea are supplied throughout the day and night and are available for self service. There is a TV room, game room, and computer room with three PCs that are available for your use. Wireless internet is quite fast and I rate my overall stay very highly and recommend this hostel. Hotels do not have these conveniences and charge more than twice the amount. If you are in the Birmingham area, don't think twice. This is the place. Also, you get a chance to meet other travelers during breakfast, something that usually doesn't happen at hotels.

Room Tip: I chose a double room and stayed there myself. It is just as good as a hotel that will charge three...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prahladpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

329 - 335 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hostel, in a mixed 12-beds room. The room was big, which was good, but there was only one shower for 12 ! The common room was nice, big, with free wi-fi. The people at the reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling-phead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have spent time with the guys at Hatters numerous times in my travels and the reason I keep coming back is the amazing staff and the atmosphere. I have found it a god base for my travels. Quite close from Snow Hill station and a 10 minute walk from New street the hostel is in the jewelry quarter which is a fun place to explore with some awesome pubs. Just ask at reception for their suggestions and you never know they might join you for a pint.The staff are incredibly helpful so if you ever need anything just ask. San, Laura and Lewis you guys all rock!
Sometimes the hostel isn't the cleanest which is often due to the disrespect of other guests but if you ever make note of anything they attempt to fix it up straight away.There is always something going on and the communal basement areas are great for meeting new people. The kitchen is basic but has everything you need to cook a meal with any newly acquired friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed with a group at Hatters.
Some rooms were fantastic; others were basic (opening window was not possible and there was a smell in the room).
Breakfast is basic.
We wanted to relax in the new central place (nice renovation!), but regular talk by a group disturbs the guests in the rooms. So we had to get out of this place and to accompagnie the guests in the cave. To much people for this little place.
Kitchen is very basic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenenhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Love this here! Awesome staff, great place to crash and definitely a great hostel! Pretty clean, good breakfast deal, free wifi! and pf course, a tv room :) Will return when I am in birmingham again! Love Laura, San, Luis, and Alex :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Just finished a week's stay at Hatter's Birmingham. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Everyone of them from every shift.

The pictures however show the place at its cleanest and therefore this was not always the case. Never once did I see or hear anyone vacuum the carpeting in our wing of the building in the seven days we were there. The Wi-Fi was also none existent and we spent more time outside of the hostel than in it.

We stayed in the new dorm area with pods instead of multi-shared beds. There was plenty of soap to take showers with (thank you!) but the bathrooms are on sensors so when there is inactivity in the bathroom even if you are in the shower the lights will go out. There are no windows in the bathrooms so this can be a danger.

No real common areas or places to relax and read in the hostel. Not in the best part of town either. There is a Tesco up the hill which makes it convenient to get groceries and a little park to sit in near the church. Birmingham isn't that big a city so walking everywhere is easy enough.

The beds in the new wing were firm and comfortable. We would recommend this place and stay here again.

Room Tip: They have private rooms with windows that open (we were told) so book early to get the best availabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had a great stay at Hatters, was there with friends mainly to go to Gatecrashers, Birmingham. We took a room of 4 which was exquisitely clean, bathrooms were also very clean, and the beds and linen were changed everyday and comfy too.
Even the guys at the desk were really helpful, and the location is within approachable distance.
At a budget, it's a great place to stay in comfort.
Even the basement chilling zone is great, with wifi, tea, coffee, toasts, A huge screen, a chatting room, internet, brochures for the entire city's activities. Wonderful!

Room Tip: Try the 2 bed room, the sizes are the same, but the bunk would not be on your head. Also, choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thevpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
987 reviews
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
352 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,112 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#39 of 118 in Birmingham
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatters Hostel -Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hostel -Birmingham

Address: 92/95 Livery Street | Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham B3 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range: £11 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hostel -Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Birmingham's historic Jewellery Quarter & just minutes from the NIA and city centre, we've kept in tone with our surroundings by ensuring that our accommodation is the blingest in town!Hatters Birmingham Voted No.1 in England 2012 by Hostelworld customers!!Hatters Birmingham awarded No. 1 by Enjoy England 2011!!Hatters Hostels voted Best Hostel Chain in the UK & 2nd Best worldwide for 2008 by Hostelworld customers!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatters Hostel -Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing