We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously poor room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

While location and price our great, there are serious deficiencies around their rooms and kitchen area. There are two buildings, one of which is next door and has small rooms and a tiny kitchen. The main building has better sized rooms but one we stayed in had broken window panes and hige holes in the ceiling tiles. The best room to stay in is the triple bed. The wifi doesn't work in the bedrooms and the common room is downstairs and is stuffy, hot, and fly-filled. Kitchen has three tiny fridges and one small cooktop. Breakfast is low quality. Easy parking close by for 3pounds a day or street parking is free for four hours. We has to change rooms twice do to errors made by staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatthewLeitner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Hatters Hostel -Birmingham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Brilliant location - just outside Birmingham town centre. Homely feel about the place. If you dont mind sharing this place is for you. Parking bit of a pain. Train station very close. Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bradstour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

After reading a lot of really good reviews i decided to make a little detour into Birmingham and stayed 2 nights! As everyone has stated the staff were really cool and very friendly, but my card didn't work in the door so i couldn't get into my room, went to reception, took 3 goes for my card to work, whilst trying to get into my room i was yelled at and curse words were called out from the other side of the door!
I thought there would be young people everywhere, however the hostel was filled with old men everywhere, I'm not sure what was going on but being a solo female traveller this was very uncomfortable for me! overall it was just okay, quite a nice hostel just wish there wasn't old men everywhere!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejs93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hostel is handy for location, opposite from snow hill train station. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ok cereal and toast with orange squash. The hostel has steep stairs and complimentary wifi and computer use. The only thing this hostel needs is a good clean, dust everywhere and people leaving dirty clothes on the floor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouser1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

My overall experience at this hostel was fantastic. You enter and there is usually a very friendly receptionist who will take the time to give you directions and tips on how to enjoy your stay. There is a kitchen where you can cook your meals if you bring your own ingredients. You do have to clean up after yourself, which is fair enough. Bread, butter, jam, coffee, tea are supplied throughout the day and night and are available for self service. There is a TV room, game room, and computer room with three PCs that are available for your use. Wireless internet is quite fast and I rate my overall stay very highly and recommend this hostel. Hotels do not have these conveniences and charge more than twice the amount. If you are in the Birmingham area, don't think twice. This is the place. Also, you get a chance to meet other travelers during breakfast, something that usually doesn't happen at hotels.

Room Tip: I chose a double room and stayed there myself. It is just as good as a hotel that will charge three...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prahladpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I spent 3 nights in this hostel, in a mixed 12-beds room. The room was big, which was good, but there was only one shower for 12 ! The common room was nice, big, with free wi-fi. The people at the reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling-phead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I have spent time with the guys at Hatters numerous times in my travels and the reason I keep coming back is the amazing staff and the atmosphere. I have found it a god base for my travels. Quite close from Snow Hill station and a 10 minute walk from New street the hostel is in the jewelry quarter which is a fun place to explore with some awesome pubs. Just ask at reception for their suggestions and you never know they might join you for a pint.The staff are incredibly helpful so if you ever need anything just ask. San, Laura and Lewis you guys all rock!
Sometimes the hostel isn't the cleanest which is often due to the disrespect of other guests but if you ever make note of anything they attempt to fix it up straight away.There is always something going on and the communal basement areas are great for meeting new people. The kitchen is basic but has everything you need to cook a meal with any newly acquired friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlyaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
easyHotel Birmingham
easyHotel Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
312 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#33 of 118 in Birmingham
979 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,225 reviews
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#66 of 118 in Birmingham
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatters Hostel -Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatters Hostel -Birmingham

Address: 92/95 Livery Street | Jewellery Quarter, Birmingham B3 1RJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Birmingham
Price Range: £13 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hatters Hostel -Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Birmingham's historic Jewellery Quarter & just minutes from the NIA and city centre, we've kept in tone with our surroundings by ensuring that our accommodation is the blingest in town!Hatters Birmingham Voted No.1 in England 2012 by Hostelworld customers!!Hatters Birmingham awarded No. 1 by Enjoy England 2011!!Hatters Hostels voted Best Hostel Chain in the UK & 2nd Best worldwide for 2008 by Hostelworld customers!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hatters Hostel -Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatters Hostel -Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing