We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value For Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #103 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Good Value For Money”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Recently stayed here for 2 nights with my daughters, one of whom had auditions in Birmingham. The hotel is easy to find on the main road in and out of Birmingham, We had a triple room with 3 single beds The room was basic but clean and had all the essentials. The bathroom was huge with a large walk in shower. The only downside was the quality of the towels which was poor. We didnt eat at the restaurant as there is a very good quality Beefeater next door and a TGI Fridays and also an ASk restaurant and an Indian all within 3 minutes walk. Good quality for th money and FREE parking which is a plus so close to the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    161
    214
    206
    288
See reviews for
176
236
71
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I arrived on 17th Nov 2011. I booked in and the reception staff were very cold and un-welcoming. I was in room 54, the room was very clean and the bed appeared comfy. The shower was also very clean and I was grateful of this. The room was very very warm, for some this would be a great thing, but for me it was too hot. I turned the radiator down but the heating did not go off, so I opened a window. I ordered room service and a meal off the menu, It was of very poor quality and people should be aware that on th back of the menu it states a charge of £3.50 for room service! I settled down for the evening at 10.30pm but was woken up at 12.25pm with doors constantly beging slammed shut and people talking along the corridors. Was this the staffs problem or guests being in-sensative? Even if it was guests, staff should have 'polite' notice around the hotel. I tried to get back to sleep but could hear people (staff and guests) talking outside my room, I was positioned above the decked smooking area so every 15 mins people were out there smoking and chatting (loudly). I closed the window but could not get any sleep because the room was so hot. The noise continued throughout the night and I only manged to get 3 hours sleep in total. I personally wouldn't go back and feel I would be better sleeping in the local bus station, it certainly be quieter!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Booked this because it was cheap even though it had poor reviews. Was only needed for sleep and a shower for lads away so had no expectations. When we arrived I thought was the negative all about. Reception looked nice, pool looked o and hotel bar was fine. Then we seen the rooms. They are very very dated. Need a major makeover. However clean enough. Breakfast was ok.

In summary £25 each for lads if was adequate. Don't use this hotel for a weekend with the misses.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I was not expecting this to be a luxury hotel, and it lived up to my expectations. I had booked an "Executive Double" room, thinking this would be OK, however, it was an absolute disgrace. They moved me 4 times until I found a room that was the best of a bad bunch.

The staff deserve better, as they were all very helpful in an impossible situation, and are the only asset the hotel has

Room Tip: Dont stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quality28, Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for your recent review, I was very disappointed when reading the above review and would like if possible for you to contact the hotel via email reservations@quality-hotel-birmingham.com with your name and date of stay so the above matter can be looked into further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We booked 3 nights from 21st October at this hotel, partly to visit family and a concert at the NEC. Not knowing the geography of the city, didn't realise that the venue was the other side from the hotel. Luckily we had family to help get us about. So, no good for NEC but fine for NIA. The hotel itself was ok. The room was basic and needs updating but was clean and confortable. There was tea/coffee making facilities (no biscuits) and also a hairdryer. The only downside was the room was located right next to the lift and it could be heard going up or down at all hours. The hotel seems to be a hotspot for hen nights etc., but we didn't hear any noise from the other guests. The staff were very helpfull and pleasant, the lounge area very comfortable and the bar open till the wee small hours if you wanted, with prices that didn't break the bank. We did notice on our last night that a tray of leftover food had been left outside a guest's room on the ground floor and was still there the next morning!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to the lift, probably ending in number 64, if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dot049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quality28, Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel at a reduced cost as a thank you for your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Worst hotel I have EVER stayed in. Room: stained walls, peeling paper, cobwebs on curtains, grout around bath hanging off. Stained bath, scummy soap dish, leak marks on floor near bath. Best of all, someone else's pants shoved in a corner under the sink.
Staff: totally unhelpful. No wake up call either morning and no paper. No apology after first day for either, and when I asked if they'd be done the next day I was told "probably"!
Breakfast: freezing room. Very poor quality food. Can hear the chefs swearing at eachother and shouting from the kitchens.
What a hole, never again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iwoot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quality28, Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for your recent review, I was very disappointed when reading the above review and would like if possible for you to contact the hotel via email reservations@quality-hotel-birmingham.com with your name and date of stay so the above matter can be looked into further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Great hotel with excellent staff it a budget hotel so you would expect budget expectations i don't see why people moan... It's a great clean hotel with a nice gym and pool which you don't have to pay for... Food is fantastic with a great indian and a la carte range... Beer is a nice pint and a good price... The staff behind the bar are cheerful an helpfull... I enjoyed the two nights we stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bronze-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quality28, Manager at Cobden Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Thank you for your recent review, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay at Quality Hotel Birmingham, next time you are visiting please contact the hotel 0121 454 6621 for the best available rates or email reservations@quality-hotel-birmingham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
899 reviews
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
494 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#88 of 117 in Birmingham
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Property: Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Address: 166 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobden Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham, is ideally located for business or leisure set in peaceful grounds less than five minutes from Birmingham City Centre. Easily accessible from both the M5 motorway at Junction 3 & the M6 motorway at Junction 6, the Cobden Hotel Birmingham is only fifteen minutes from the National Exhibition Centre and five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cobden Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing