We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #102 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Chester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I booked this hotel for a shopping trip in Birmingham combined with picking our daughter up from university. It is so bad that we saw the room and left. I thought it was a doss house.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    161
    214
    203
    284
See reviews for
173
235
71
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stopped here Friday 9th - Sunday 11th December. Total cost for room only for 2 people £122.
Plus points - free car park (buses run very frequently to Birmingham - less than 10 minutes away. Swimming pool, sauna and steam room were ok. The room was warm and of reasonable size. Booking in and out efficient.
We were offered minced pies and mulled wine amd half price cocktails.
Poor points - Not the cleanest of hotels I`ve stopped in.
The lounge isn`t really that comfortable or friendly
The poor girl behind the bar was trying her best to mix cocktails but a lost cause really. We asked for the free mince pies and mulled wine 3 times before any was available.
Room wasn`t serviced until we spoke to reception.
I know its a budget hotel but it needs to try harder.

Room Tip: Pot luck i think
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wackojacko58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Worst hotel that i have ever stayed in, went for a quiet drink in the bar and they were playing dance music at full volume, even though most people were older and quite obviously put out by it. Room was dingy and run down with a single bed. Towel provided was just lying on the floor when I arrived and wasn't changed as the room was unattended. When I checked in I was merely told to 'sign here' and had a key handed to me, I had to return to reception to make sure they had my details (vehicle etc..) at which point it was just handed another form. Location is quite handy but the service and 'quality' of the hotel were appalling.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

It is the third time we book in this hotel and again no disappointment.
Rooms are spacious, clean, bed a really good, shower/toilets always clean and in excellent condition. This time we paid £100 for 3 double bedrooms !!!! anyone can bit this ? knowing that you are at 10mn from the city center, free car park, bar open 24h, indoor WARM swimming pool, gym, etc... Well, I don't understand the people who complain about this hotel, maybe they don't travel that much and don't know enough about hotels. But hey this one is great and the staff, a part some girls at the reception who could smile some time, everyone is brilliant ! Thanks, and see you soon !

Room Tip: ask for premier room, seems to be a lot better for £5 more, try room 268, or 168, end of corridor no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YVES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Recently stayed here for 2 nights with my daughters, one of whom had auditions in Birmingham. The hotel is easy to find on the main road in and out of Birmingham, We had a triple room with 3 single beds The room was basic but clean and had all the essentials. The bathroom was huge with a large walk in shower. The only downside was the quality of the towels which was poor. We didnt eat at the restaurant as there is a very good quality Beefeater next door and a TGI Fridays and also an ASk restaurant and an Indian all within 3 minutes walk. Good quality for th money and FREE parking which is a plus so close to the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I arrived on 17th Nov 2011. I booked in and the reception staff were very cold and un-welcoming. I was in room 54, the room was very clean and the bed appeared comfy. The shower was also very clean and I was grateful of this. The room was very very warm, for some this would be a great thing, but for me it was too hot. I turned the radiator down but the heating did not go off, so I opened a window. I ordered room service and a meal off the menu, It was of very poor quality and people should be aware that on th back of the menu it states a charge of £3.50 for room service! I settled down for the evening at 10.30pm but was woken up at 12.25pm with doors constantly beging slammed shut and people talking along the corridors. Was this the staffs problem or guests being in-sensative? Even if it was guests, staff should have 'polite' notice around the hotel. I tried to get back to sleep but could hear people (staff and guests) talking outside my room, I was positioned above the decked smooking area so every 15 mins people were out there smoking and chatting (loudly). I closed the window but could not get any sleep because the room was so hot. The noise continued throughout the night and I only manged to get 3 hours sleep in total. I personally wouldn't go back and feel I would be better sleeping in the local bus station, it certainly be quieter!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Booked this because it was cheap even though it had poor reviews. Was only needed for sleep and a shower for lads away so had no expectations. When we arrived I thought was the negative all about. Reception looked nice, pool looked o and hotel bar was fine. Then we seen the rooms. They are very very dated. Need a major makeover. However clean enough. Breakfast was ok.

In summary £25 each for lads if was adequate. Don't use this hotel for a weekend with the misses.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stunto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 117 in Birmingham
445 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#35 of 117 in Birmingham
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
487 reviews
Edgbaston
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Property: Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Address: 166 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobden Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham, is ideally located for business or leisure set in peaceful grounds less than five minutes from Birmingham City Centre. Easily accessible from both the M5 motorway at Junction 3 & the M6 motorway at Junction 6, the Cobden Hotel Birmingham is only fifteen minutes from the National Exhibition Centre and five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Cobden Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing