We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #104 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We had a two night stay at this hotel on the Sunday and Monday evening. Staff were pleasant on arrival and when we asked for a room with a bath the young lady spent some time at the computer to find such a room for us. We were on the ground floor overlooking the side drive, a quiet room which is what we wanted as I am a very poor sleeper. The room was spotless and comfortable with two double beds for 3 people. Overall decoration good but the lobby was a bit tired. I wish I had taken my gym kit because the leisure facilities were free. Plenty of nearby restaurants and I used the bus service which was excellent. The Hagley Road is a well known street for hotels and is not too far from the city centre. Did not eat there, only the breakfast which was an added cost but quite an adequate one where one helped oneself to whatever was required.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had an overnight stay here recently. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Our room was clean, comfortable and decoratively good (although a friend in another room had a slightly worse room). The overall decorative state of the hotel is a little tired, but was clean.

At night we ate in the bar area as the restaurant had a stag do going on. It was fine for the money. I used the gym in the morning. Only downside here was that the gym area opens at 10 o clock but breakfast finished at 10 and we had to check out at 11. So a bit of juggling with the morning . It would be helpful if the gym opened earlier, especially as it was busy at 10. I didn't get time for a swim, however the gym area was good. The breakfast was fresh with plenty of choice which we had pre-booked for around £8.95.

The hotel is in a good location for day and night activities. It is pet friendly. I did see a few well-behaved dogs.

To sum up-it was great value for money and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pussycat_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I wasn't expecting a luxury experience so couldn't be disappointed. The hotel is well situated and has on site parking, wifi (charged in room) and leisure facilities. This is all important when weighing up the total cost. It's on a main drag into town and buses are frequent. There are several restaurants etc nearby if you don't want the hotel bar or the city (TGIF is next door).

Room was spacious, weird shape, as the bathroom was a strange block formed at the side of the room. It appeared clean, except for the large clump of hair under the dressing table eww. They have lifts, but the first room I was given is along many corridors and up a sharp flight of stairs. I got another room courtesy of the very helpful reception staff. The female receptionist was efficient and advised on buses, providing a map and was always cheerfully helpful no matter what time of day. Makes a real difference to your stay.

All the essentials are covered, bed comfy, shower adequate, location great, staff very helpful. I rang for more towels, less than five minutes I got a knock on the door.
Breakfast is optional and cheaper if you buy on checking in. It's the standard fare, but I've had a lot worse.
WARNING do not use the taxi service. I did and they were late, offhand and way overpriced. £10 into town!! There are lots of other firms and hackneys whizzing along Hagley Rd.

Room Tip: If you have special requirements, ask when booking, they will try to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we stayed here 1/3/14...we paid £24 bed and breakfast ...
staff excellent,great fun great service at the bar couldnt do anymore for us ,the room was a little tired but so clean ,plenty of tea n coffee ,clean beds and we had problems with the tv staff came up in five mins ,sorted the rads where off after 5 mins staff came up and put rads on for us ,so please dont read these reviews with horror great location great staff great price ,breakfast was hot and staff busy ,but made room for you as soon as you walked in ,,,,we will be back thanks for a great night out in bham .

Room Tip: 145 triple room 3 single beds great space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berthaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed on 25th February 2014
Was looking for Hotel with pool, but was little concerned after reading reviews. Was pleasantly surprised in most (but definitely not all) areas.
UPON ARRIVAL: Entrance hall not wonderful but reasonably clean and bar/dining area is in full view of everyone walking in, almost part of arrival area!
STAFF: not bad but could have been better. Didn't explain were rooms where but were quick enough to explain how to get to leisure facilities and times of opening, but failed to inform that pool was closed for the day!!!Only one member of staff in dining room in the morning and she was extremely rude (needs plenty of training). Other staff members reasonably friendly.
CORRIDORS: Rather lets the Hotel down. They were very cold. Evidence of carpets etc having been cleaned but the edges have definitely been forgotten.
ROOM: Very nice, all new: including carpets,bedding, bathroom facilities.Room very clean, bathroom all clean except for tiles down side of basin which had obviously been missed. Good size room and not much noise as on side of building. Comfortable beds. Good night sleep. Not too much noise from corridors.
BAR:Very busy and I was the only female customer. Staff member did nothing about the bad language that was being used by other residents, but in fact almost encouraged it by laughing along with them. This was uncomfortable for me as I had my son with me as he had requested he watch the match whilst having a drink
This could be a good Hotel with some more renovations and some members of staff attending training.
Was very disappointed the pool was closed without any warning,especially as when booked I specifically mentioned I was booking due to this facility.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms and/or one on the side to avoid noisy traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dacory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I felt sick with worry going here after reading reviews this week but you know what it was too bad. Yes prob over prices at £117 but that incl cadburys world tickets.....
The pros....nice breakie, lots choice, comfy bed, great location for sealife and cadburys world, nice staff, clean sheets, loads towels ( you can use at pool save your washing).
Pool, gym, jacuzzi,sauna. Food choice fab and good bar.
Cons....... Pool slimey, but warm!!! Desperately needs repairing and sprucing up. Women's changing Rooms fine boys apparently awful. Photo is extended pool isn't that big but was fine.
All walls in rooms, bar, reception etc need pairing and it would be so much better.
Windows v v v thin and if you get room on front take your earplugs cause of traffic noise.
But you know what we had day at sealife day at cadburys world a stay here and swim and felt like we'd had a little hol. No council tax in feb and march for us so put it to this little visit. I know what I rather spend my
Money on and it's not the council

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stvnpeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#101 of 118 in Birmingham
477 reviews
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Birmingham
#99 of 118 in Birmingham
549 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Harborne
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#77 of 118 in Birmingham
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Address: 166 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: £40 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobden Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham, is ideally located for business or leisure set in peaceful grounds less than five minutes from Birmingham City Centre. Easily accessible from both the M5 motorway at Junction 3 & the M6 motorway at Junction 6, the Cobden Hotel Birmingham is only fifteen minutes from the National Exhibition Centre and five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cobden Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing