We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Ranked #104 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quality???”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Travelling with my mum and sister to Birmimgham NIA, this hotel was booked for us by a friend for an over night stay.
We literally used the room to wash and sleep as it was pretty dire!
Carpet filthy, damp on walls, towels hard, smell of gas outside.
Breakfast was ok, one plus point that I always check was the pillows were new.
On site free parking was a bonus, will be staying in a travel lodge/premier inn in the centre next time though.
If you are looking for somewhere to crash after a hard day or night out then this place is fine.
However, you can get the same room at a premier inn for around £10 more.
Impossible to relax here.
Staff were pleasant and helpful on reception!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bertiebanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    160
    214
    202
    282
See reviews for
171
235
71
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I got my room at a steal price of £69 for two nights and believe that for the amount I paid this was a okay place to stay for a night or two whilst visiting insomnia gaming festival at the ricoh arena we steyed in room 206 which was clean and tidy with a well presented drinks tray. The staff were very friendly however many seemed overly tired and as other reviews have said the hotel had areas which needed a refurb. The room I had had very high windows which made me feel clostrophobic as I could not see through them therefore I spent most of my time in the lounge area. The door next to the room at the top of the stairs was banging all night making it difficult to sleep and the radiators could not be adjusted therefore the window had to be left open further worsening the problem. The beds werent great either. You can tell the staff are doing their best with the resources they have here. If someone from the hotel reads this you may wish to point out your facilities better. I never saw the leisure facilities and the salon always looked closed despite being open the two days I was there

sarah

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Large family booking over Easter weekend. Comments relate to one room and swimming pool only. Rooms not ready by stated time but larger than average. Only one of four light fittings in bathroom working, this shinning straight down the WC. Who wants to see what they have done and not what they are doing? Only one bath towel provided and this was dirty with brown streaks across it - oough! Went to see if the swimming pool was any better? No such luck, water was greasy/dirty with flys and dust on it. Water was over compensated with chlorine which made your eyes sting. Changing rooms were very small and dirty. Clothes lockers did not work and were also full of rubbish left by previous users. Showers were occupied by staff who were shaving and doing other unmentionable things. Room overlooked an outside smoking area where all conversations were heard as if they were in your room. so difficult to sleep in these conditions when Hotel occupied with "stag" and wedding parties through the night.
Need I say more - not to be recommended.

Room Tip: Avoid areas over function rooms and smoking areas or near staircases used by staff as smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimbag20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I booked a twin room for Thursday- Monday - four nights stay in February. We were attending a family funeral in Birmingham, so needed facilities that kept us close to family and friends. Under the circumstances and because of the many bad reviews we read earlier, we called ahead and was assured whilst parts of the hotel was being refurbished this would not reflect on our stay.

True to their words, in arrival we were greeted with a very warm welcome and we had very comfortable facilities. Our room had brand new carpet, decent bedding and maid service throughout. Breakfast was always available with plenty of choice. We did not eat dinner on site. The sauna facilities was clean, the pool was small and we did not use this. We always had parking facility - they even have female parking space at the front of the building.

In my opinion the hotel is located 10-15mins drive away from the noise of the city centre. You are based on a main road with good choice of restaurants and shops. The hotel staff were very pleasant and I would definitely stay here again. We never got to thank you all before we left, but thanks for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the block opposite the gym. The only downside is there are no lifts to that block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh
Level Contributor
152 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel feels and looks a bit let down. Pool and changing facilities really need updating. Although pool was really warm so great for the kids. Breakfast was ok. Staff friendly and helpful and as it was Easter they were giving out eggs to the kids who stayed there

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheAbductee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I must say that my experience at "Quality Hotel" was opposite to what its name suggests. we were in a group of 6 friends and booked two adjacent rooms for a night, each room with three single beds. First of all, we found that the mattresses of two beds were completely dead though we thought we could live with that. However the night was full of disturbances. Walls were not sound proof and we could hear people chatting in other rooms.Fire alarm went on 4 times over a span of 5 hours in night and we were wondering what was happening. A manager appeared near early morning to tell it was because of a someone smoking in a non-smoking zone and they have penalized the person with a fine. We expected an early action from the management when it happened for the first time instead of letting it happen 4 more times. Also they should have informed us that we were safe . Overall a disappointing experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puneet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a horror of a place with te reviews on here, but honestly, it's fine. Yes, it needs a bit of a make over, but it's very clean, comfortable and pleasant. Staff are informal but welcoming and happy to help and it's easy to get into central birmingham from here. The reviews do this hotel a dis-service as there are so many worse places to stay, and at this price, you can't grumble.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#102 of 117 in Birmingham
439 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
Birmingham Marriott Hotel
#36 of 117 in Birmingham
876 reviews
Edgbaston
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
The Collection Hotel Birmingham
#106 of 117 in Birmingham
484 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cobden Hotel Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobden Hotel Birmingham

Property: Cobden Hotel Birmingham
Address: 166 Hagley Road, Birmingham B16 9NZ, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Birmingham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cobden Hotel Birmingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cobden Hotel Birmingham, is ideally located for business or leisure set in peaceful grounds less than five minutes from Birmingham City Centre. Easily accessible from both the M5 motorway at Junction 3 & the M6 motorway at Junction 6, the Cobden Hotel Birmingham is only fifteen minutes from the National Exhibition Centre and five minutes from Birmingham New Street Station. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cobden Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing