We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting place not worth a penny”
Review of Elston Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birmingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Elston Guest House
Ranked #37 of 53 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Where do I start?
1. Claims to be a bed & breakfast no breakfast was served and when it was egg and beans were cold.
2. The room smelt vile that you almost puke up and need a mask to breathe. Walls were mouldy, Carpet was filthy and stank, bed was very old and knackered with the matteress springs poking you, the bedding didnt match and was ripped, the decor was like going back in time to 1969, nasty dirty sink in the corner with old fashioned box tv which was black and white, kettle didnt work and to top it off I shared my room with a mouse!!
3. Shared bathroom was gross, bath was dirty with hairs in plug hole, toilet was blocked and smelt
4. Staff was not helpful as there wasnt any staff to be seen and when they were neither spoke english well enough, place was left unmanned most the time with the front door unlocked for anyone to waltz in.
There are people arguing and fighting owners not bothered. Owner was very rude and aggresive towards people who go to ask for something.
5. Overall it is disgusting how the owner is allowing people and children to stay in these poor conditions while he is raking it in.

If the owner does read this, either close down the dump you call a business I wouldnt let my dog sleep in. The place needs to go on hotel inspector to be named and shamed or modernise and rectify these problems, you wouldnt want live and sleep in these conditions so why should the homeless

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Thejoker68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Elston Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great bed & breakfast in Birmingham had stayed for 7 nights, friendly staff was given a double room, smelt fresh and was clean. Bedding was clean. I even had my own microwave, fridge/freezer and kettle. Sky tv was provided also in my room and free wifi.
it had a designated smoking area and it was also located in a ethnic neighborhood so i felt at home.
there is a car park in the rear of the guest house which i parked my car for free.

I would recommend this place, rates were good plus got a discount for booking 7 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazia452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elston Guest H, General Manager at Elston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

We thank you for your review and choosing Elston Guest House. We thank you for your valued custom and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Just 10 minutes’ walk from the town, Top View B&B offers accommodation with free Wi-Fi and free English breakfast. It features barbecue facilities and a guest lounge with stunning mountain and sea views.

Top View Hokitika is a 20-minute walk away from Eco World and the West Coast Historical Museum. Hokitika Gorge is 40 minutes' drive away.

Guests can relax in the beautiful garden, or watch a movie in the lounge. Top View also offers free parking, a communal kitchenette and a guest laundry.

All heated rooms have a private en suite bathroom with a hairdryer and guest toiletries. Some rooms also feature a private balcony with garden views.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rizwanb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elston Guest H, General Manager at Elston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

We thank you for your review and choosing Elston Guest House. We thank you for your valued custom and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We were in birmingham over Christmas and Boxing Day (which I would not recommend because everything closes including the Tube) and chose elston guest house because it looked like the neighborhood had some ethnic restaurants that might be open on Christmas and because of the kitchenette. We were in a Superior room on the lower level which meant going downstairs .

Room Tip: •"Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajbasit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elston Guest H, General Manager at Elston Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2015

We thank you for your review and choosing Elston Guest House. We thank you for your valued custom and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This is the dirtiest hovel I have ever encountered in my life. I couldn't sleep there because:
i) It smelt of damp
ii) The bedding was unwashed and smelt of BO
iii) The bathroom didn't have lighting and was unfit for purpose
iv) The front doors were wide open and un-manned/ unsafe
v) I've saved the best for last - there was a SLUG sliming around on the damp, wet carpet
Needless to say, at 1am, my husband and I had to drive back to London rather than endure this. My one wish is that we hadn't paid up-front.
Swerve this place and avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KSKurti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: jamais aller annuler tout de suite
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEABINLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NolCO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,086 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
942 reviews
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
3,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Genting Hotel
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elston Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elston Guest House

Address: 749-751 Washwood Heath Road | Ward End, Birmingham B8 2JY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £25 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Elston Guest House we pride ourselves on providing a warm and inviting atmosphere for all types of guests with friendly staff that are at hand when help or assistance is needed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing