We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and clean, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and clean, friendly staff”
Reviewed 1 April 2011

Bar staff, waiters and cleaning staff were very friendly and efficient. The room was comfortable, clean and warm, so no complaints at all. However, they made a mess of our booking and insisted we had paid for room only (we had booked for breakfast too). After a long discussion and no concession from the desk staff we did eventually manage to find our email confirmation on the laptop. They insisted we had booked via Late Rooms, whereas we knew we had booked direct. When we found the proof we didn't get an apology, which was a shame - sometimes you need to trust your customers, or at least try to be a bit sympathetic.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    515
    357
    153
    94
See reviews for
169
528
77
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Arrived the night before Crufts, supposedly a yearly get together with friends. On arrival were told they were overbooked and no room available, despite us booking in November 2010. We were decanted to another hotel a few miles away. Therefore no socialisation with friends, no car parking arranged for us, etc. The last thing we needed after travelling for 6 hours.

Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank MuriestOn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

I stayed here with my daughter - we were going to the Enrique concert at the LG Arena. Excellent location, 5 minute walk to train station - which we used for the 10-15 minute journey into Birmingham for shopping. 10 minute walk to arena for event. Room was 219, very spacious with double and single bed, 2 seater settee also. Staff very friendly, great value for money. Would highly recommend this hotel for events at the NEC and Arena, I would use it again.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev86England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, UK
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Close to NEC, very clean hotel, excellent room with desk area and high speed internet. Laminate flooring, spotless bathroom and facilities, fast check in and very polite staff.

Just 5 mins from Birmingham International train station (turn right out of train station walk up ramp, right and right again) No fuss full English breakfast.

Recommended hotel I'll definitely stay there again for either NEC event or concert, excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellysbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

The Ramada is very easy to find from the railway station but so are other hotels. The NEC can be accessed through the station, though the LG arena is quite a walk through the complex.

For a two night stay this was perfectly adequate, but having not seen the quality of cheaper hotels, I can't recommend it over others. I booked through Hotels.com on 28 February but reception could find no track of my booking when I checked in on 21 March! For some bizarre reason you have to get your room card reprogrammed after visiting the NEC, even if you don't go into the arena itself! On the first night, I noticed in the restaurant that although room numbers were being asked for, you couldn't charge anything to your room. This also applied to room service, which defeats the object! Think this was rectified the next day though. Restaurant no pricier than something in town for dinner, though you could find a cheaper place for breakfast.

Room itself had a walk in shower, single bed and sofa with TV and possible internet access. Tea and coffee but no biscuits.

All in all, I wouldn't stay here for more than a couple of days, but it suits the purpose of a visit to the NEC.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed here due to attending a concert at the LG arena, we got lost on the way there but as soon as we found it we knew where everything was from then, as reception staff extremely friendly & helpful. (They even print off maps) We chose this hotel due to it being the cheapest by far and one of the closest to LG arena - both these reasons were fulfilled as it was great value for money and only a five minute walk away from LG/NEC. Our particular room was brilliant, very big & spacious, very light and nice decor. We assumed our teenager with us would be sleeping on the pull out sofa provided in every room but she actually had her own single bed slightly seperate from our bed area. We didn't have tea or breakfast there so cannot comment on that but we did order room service and although there are only about 5 items, it was nice none the less. We went to the bar area after the concert and that was great value for money & nice atmosphere. Overall great, cheap hotel. Would definately stay again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

I stayed at the Ramada Encore NEC in January on a 2 night business stay.
We chose this hotel purely on the price, and for the money it was ok. The rooms aren't the best, but they are clean and comfortable. The location was decent for the NEC, a few minutes walk from the hotel to the lift, which takes you into the complex walkway. The food was alright in the restaurant, the burger was quite nice, but the garlic bread wasn't what I would call garlic bread. Drinks wise standard fare for hotels. The bar was quite comfortable and relaxed. I was disappointed they didn't offer room service breakfast.
I would stay here again if it was just one night, but only if I had to be in the area, and if the Hilton or Crowne Plaza were a lot more expensive.
Don't want to sound too negative, as it was ok, but there are better hotels nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#25 of 117 in Birmingham
1,825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 117 in Birmingham
2,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing