We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude, and unhelpful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rude, and unhelpful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

Well, where to start! I will say at the start that I never got as far as staying here. There was a problem with my booking which was not of my making, and it appears that somewhere between the internet and the hotel the date of my reservation had altered.
They would not consider that it was anyone but my fault. They were not at all helpful, refused even to consider contacting anyone to see if there was any way to help, and just stared blankly at me until I left.
I then left, and in something of a state, called in at the Arden Hotel. What a difference! Kind, helpful and although they had no room they immediately offered to phone around to find me somewhere to stay. Guess where I'll be staying next time!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    472
    344
    143
    91
See reviews for
156
486
69
420
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very clean if slightly stark rooms. Quite small room for the price (£115).
The staff were very friendly and efficient.Its a shame that parking is being charged as there is no alternative and this gives the impression that they are squeezing every penny out of you.
Very convienient for the NEC and the arena.
Breakfast was included in price and was quite acceptable if a little on the cold side.
All in all a positive experience and great set of rabbits grazing the lawn outside the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Booked last minute and paid £45 for one night b&b. Very close to NEC/LG arena. Less than 10 mins walk. Loads of parking charged at £7 p day. Room had everything you need and was v clean. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here twice before flights with two weeks parking, great value for money.
Walking distance to airport five minutes and your there, just be aware that the monorail shuts at 5.00am or something like that and without it you either have to get taxi or walk the long way round.
Staff are all very helpful, bar small but fine foods not brill but ok.
For a night before or after this is a great place to park and fly

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gromit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This couldnt be any closer to the NEC really. I was on crutches at the time, so its needed to be near. I was literally a 5 minute hop. Staff really helpful and friendly. Food was good value and quality. The rooms were tidy, clean. Lovely bathroom. Only bad point - hard bed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
356 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here sunday night --£115 a room--doesn't include breakfast and from a few months ago doesn't include the car park any more--- now charged at £7 a day so that's now over £140 a room for two if you include breakfast. The hotel didn't charge us for the parking as we had booked months in advance--wasn't made aware that our telephone booking at the time excluded the breakie, didn't ask as we had stayed a few months earlier and it was included as was the parking. Nice clean room but a bit of a small double bed as before but all we wanted was a room to sleep overnight in so the room was more than ok--reception staff very good as before --had a meal in the restaurant Sunday night--shared a nice salad and a main course chicken tikka as a starter--very nice--main course we both had the rib eye steak -main was ok but hers was pretty poor--rubbish cut of meat ---finished with pancakes-- these were disappointing as they were a pretty tasteless stack of pancakes with a small dollop of ice cream and a sweeze of caramel syrup--wine was ok--service pleasant--breakfast was the best part of the stay-- they do do a nice breakfast spread--not a lot but all of it is quite nice--would we stay here again ?? not worth over £140 a night -, not by a long chalk--- i know some shows at the NEC attract premium rates so as it was MODA week is was dearer than it should be--but overall the room and bed are only just ok and no more--these hotels at the NEC do need to start taking a reality check at what they charge and what they give back--if the best value we can get for september is £140 for what we have had at the ramada and another lump for a very average meal than maybe if would make more sense to drive back the same day==

Room Tip: i assume all the rooms are the same--i would make sure what is included in your price now-like break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

If you need a bed to stay overnight then this hotel may offer what you need. The bed size is small compared to other hotels. Bathroom has a walk-in shower. Breakfast is what you would expect on a 2 star hotel. For £40 I was quite happy to spend one night but would not stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#21 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and Hotelopia so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing