We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book somewhere else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed here with a colleague as we were exhibiting at NEC, check in was a bit of a free for all and was shocked to hear we would be charged £7 per night parking. Room was OK but no bath. The food is dreadful for starters we ordered Prawn Cocktail and Pate, the Prawns were miniscule and some were still frozen and the marie rose sauce had been watered down so much it was invisible. The bread that came with the pate was stale. We returned both good humouredly. Main course we ordered Scampi and Park Fillet in Breadcrumbs with pepper corn sauce.. The Scampi was OK ish. the pork was so well done it was black and as solid as a rock the peppercorn sauce was gravy with a lot of pepper in (not peppercorns) we asked if they could replace the Pork Fillet and they did with another black rock hard one!!!!!!!!!!!!! The restaurant manager scowled at us then skulked off to his office the only member of staff who had any customer care was Alex the barman. There business is so transient that they do not care about repeat business, well my company wont be repeating .

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pscrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,454)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,237 - 1,243 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Stayed here for two nights for a show at the NEC and found the hotel to be very convenient. It's an approximate five minute walk from Birmingham International Station and the same distance to the NEC. Only downside on this front is that there are no signs to the hotel from inside the station or NEC itself so unless you know to go in a certain direction and down a random flight of stairs then you wouldn't have a clue. The walk to the hotel isn't that nice either and I would recommend that solo travellers get a taxi at night.

The staff were very helpful at check-in and it was all done without a fuss. My room was 311 and was enormous: single bed, double bed and a sofa all in a spacious L-shaped room. the bathroom is fantastic too, being exceptionally modern and clean so all in all I was thrilled (I am perhaps slightly easier to please than some). Bathroom doesn't have a bath so this may be an issue for some travellers. However, some of my colleagues were allocated much smaller rooms and one was given a room with two single beds. The reception were able to change her to a standard double room though and although smaller than mine it was still big enough, especially for two nights.

The restaurant/bar is comfortable and is fine in appearance but they could easily liven this up with decor and more seating so it feels slightly less cafeteria-like. The selection of food was again fine, a bit pub-grub like and not the best selection in the world, but I ate there both nights and was ahppy with everything I had. The breakfast is a little sparse but is a buffet style with cooked breakfast, toast, cereals and croissants. Drinks and food were not extortionate but definitely at the hotel-end of the price scale.

Only niggle was that the free wifi that is advertised so forcefully on the website is available in the public areas only and for this you need a code from reception. There is no wifi in the rooms and the internet can only be access by a lead which means you cannot get access if you have a portable device (BlackBerry, iphone, etc.). The lead is only compatible for laptops and if this is a necessity for you then I would recommend you contact the hotel ahead of time.

I would not recommend this hotel for a leisure stay and am sure that Birmingham city centre has better places to stay but for the NEC or the airport I don't think this can be beaten.

Room Tip: Room 311 is spacious and definitely big enough for three adults with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathrynjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Well, where to start! I will say at the start that I never got as far as staying here. There was a problem with my booking which was not of my making, and it appears that somewhere between the internet and the hotel the date of my reservation had altered.
They would not consider that it was anyone but my fault. They were not at all helpful, refused even to consider contacting anyone to see if there was any way to help, and just stared blankly at me until I left.
I then left, and in something of a state, called in at the Arden Hotel. What a difference! Kind, helpful and although they had no room they immediately offered to phone around to find me somewhere to stay. Guess where I'll be staying next time!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Very clean if slightly stark rooms. Quite small room for the price (£115).
The staff were very friendly and efficient.Its a shame that parking is being charged as there is no alternative and this gives the impression that they are squeezing every penny out of you.
Very convienient for the NEC and the arena.
Breakfast was included in price and was quite acceptable if a little on the cold side.
All in all a positive experience and great set of rabbits grazing the lawn outside the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTonyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Booked last minute and paid £45 for one night b&b. Very close to NEC/LG arena. Less than 10 mins walk. Loads of parking charged at £7 p day. Room had everything you need and was v clean. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louh1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here twice before flights with two weeks parking, great value for money.
Walking distance to airport five minutes and your there, just be aware that the monorail shuts at 5.00am or something like that and without it you either have to get taxi or walk the long way round.
Staff are all very helpful, bar small but fine foods not brill but ok.
For a night before or after this is a great place to park and fly

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gromit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This couldnt be any closer to the NEC really. I was on crutches at the time, so its needed to be near. I was literally a 5 minute hop. Staff really helpful and friendly. Food was good value and quality. The rooms were tidy, clean. Lovely bathroom. Only bad point - hard bed.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drucey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing