We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 11 April 2013

You get what u pay for !!!! Rooms clean little understaffed but hey 10 min walk to lg arena
Ideal.
Meant to be manned 24hrs ???
We got in at 4am not a soul to be found had to make our own tea and coffee

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamil786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,074 - 1,080 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

I'll start off by saying that my company picked this hotel, since we were working the show. I stayed here 3 nights. It was a pleasant enough check in experience, no problems there. Found out at this point there was no gym at the hotel, so strike one. Went up to the room, and upon entering, I flicked on the lights, the room was very dark. I thought there were more lights to turn on, but that was it. Turned on the tv, and started flicking through the channels, only to find out they only had 10 channels like the other reviewer said. Are they trying to only get 10 channels, I've never heard how you can only get 10. Shouldn't it be 5 or 50, but 10? Next, tried to connect my IPad, but there was no Wi-fi. So that pretty much rendered my IPad as useful as a door stop. Next, the bed. I've had softer and better night sleeps on the floor of my living room, since the bed was rock hard. I woke up the last morning with a sore back and sore shoulder, it was like someone beat me up in the middle of the night. I never slept past 5:30, and once awake couldn't get back to sleep because of the trucks driving by outside the hotel and the alcohol had worn off to help me sleep on the slate of bed. And last, looking at the floor in the shower, notice all the dirt on the grout between the tiles. So in conclusion, this one pretty much hits all the points of why I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Lets start with the positives:
Check in was easy and the rooms were clean.
the negatives:
Upon asking the receptionist for a iron and ironing board i was told that the man that brings them to your room was too busy!....no ironing board turned up that night...I had to ask again the next morning...this time it turned up!
Resturant: food was average but service was rubbish, our party stayed for the week and had a meal there for the first 3 nights but each night they forgot something, one night they forgot a meal, the next they mucked up a veggie order and the next they forgot our sides.
Overall hotel OK but service is well below par considering our party paid over 2k for the rooms that week!!!
If Ramada Encore have a training program for staff it is clear their current staff havent been on it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 719NeilH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
encorenecmgr, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to complete your posting. Please accept my apologies for the lapses in our service that you experienced. From other reviews, it can be seen that generally our staff are our greatest assett. We will however trace back to the date and the show to try and get to the bottom of how this happened.


Kind Regards,

Alison Harrison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We booked this hotel to save the hassle of leaving the NEC after a show we went to see as the traffic can be horrendous. We put the post code into the Sat nav and got to the NEC very easily but finding the hotel!!! They must have loads of people who find it hard to find as all the security people at the NEC have little slips of paper they give out. We eventually found the hotel after 20 minutes. Check in was a good experience. The receptionist was very friendly. We went to our room which was on the 3rd floor. The room was stark to say the least. The laminate flooring had been laid so badly that there were large gaps between the boards. Saying that the bed was comfortable, the room was warm and the bathroom spacious and clean. We had to walk through a trading estate to get the the NEC which could have been intimidating if travelling alone. All in all for the price it wasn't a bad hotel but there are much better hotels on the complex.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WBAKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while visiting the NEC. The hotel is in a very convenient location for both the NEC and Birmingham NEC train station. Signage to the hotel could be better, but once you find the hotel, through an industrial estate, it is only a 5 minute walk to everywhere you need to be.

The staff are very helpful and friendly. Food quality and cost reasonable. The hotel room is what you would expect, and sufficiently comfortable for a couple of nights stay.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo071978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

stayed at this hotel before flying from the nearby airport had a hotel and parking package which was reasonable as we only booked the week before. Stayed after return flight which was only £10 cheaper the parking was in the hotel carpark not a distant carpark. The airport. is reached by a walk about 400m through small warehouses. which leads to steps /lift at the entrance to the NEC and station where you can get the free monorail to the airport takes 10-15 minutes all together So if possible with some airlines you can check your luggage in the day before to save queuing early morning. The hotel itself is modern the rooms are a reasonable size the beds are comfortable but we needed to ask for extra pillows, there is just hangers to use as a wardrobe the only down side was the cheap laminate floor which was parting at the joints. The bath was quite good clad in glass panelsand it has a decent size shower area. Restaurant was okay with buffet breakfast prices were usual hotel rates. Staff were friendly and efficient checkin/out was easy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jebro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

perfect location for the lg arena but very hard to find as there are no signs, we arrived by train and walked around for half a hour before we relised we had to go down in a lift and then walk through the trading estate! but not far when you know where your going. once there, very nice clean hotel, room was quite large and comfortable bed had a lovely full english breakfast and the bar was open late

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwoman2642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £53 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing