We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay, but bring a torch!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, but bring a torch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Usefully close to Birmingham airport.

Friendly staff, decent if a little formulaic food. Rooms appear to have been refurbished, but someone forgot the doors.

The curtains were closed when I arrived in daytime, which emphasised the incredibly poor lighting. The room desperately needs a more general source of lighting at night, rather than the very focused task lighting.

I'd stay again quite happily.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank david187067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel.
We have committed over time to provide all 166 bedrooms with additional lighting following guest feedback. In the meantime, please request an additional up-lighter, which we will be happy to supply you with for that extra lighting during your next stay with us. We very much look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    474
    345
    143
    91
See reviews for
156
488
69
421
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just about ok. Bed not very comfy. Beware if you intend using the little tram to the airport. Fast and efficient but it is a good 5 minutes walk from hotel so if weather bad it could be a problem. Service in the bar at night was satisfactory and very quick service when we returned after holiday to pick up our car.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again when travelling from Birmingham Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Having paid £170 for a nights accommodation in the most basic of bedrooms I now find that the fibre broadband, boasted to run at 10MB is actually so slow as to be unusable. I am trying to use it at mid day on a Sunday when I am the ONLY person in the lounge and at a time I suspect the hotel is almost empty. My speed testing over the last 60 minutes reveals an average of 0.17MB down which would be appalling for a standard ADSL connection, let alone one that claims to be fibre. When WILL hotels lean that to business people such as my self reliable on-line access is critical. Please DO NOT make false claims.

As to the price of this hotel. Can I make it clear that it is warm, clean and the staff friendly and helpful. This however does not justify the excessive charges for a room that boasted a small double bed, a small old fashioned TV (flat screen but dated) with no facilities other than Freeview.

I appreciate that the hotel is close to the NEC and there must have been an event on to cause the high price however I still feel there is a balance to be had between charging a fair price for the quality of product offered and screwing the customer for as much as you can possibly get. If you must charge 5* prices, then offer 5* facilities.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, Premier Travel Inn would offer a better room at a 3rd of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueSunbeam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
I can confirm that the hotel recently installed a dedicated 10Mb fibre optic Internet cable. However, we have since discovered a fault with the current hardware which is affecting the bandwidth that is allocated to each guest. Our IT provider is working on this for us as a matter of urgency and I can only apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Clean, tidy and modern, it had a good location and does the job. Basic rooms and breakfast. Stayed here more out of convenience than luxury but rate was good and ideal when on work. Good night sleep so would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for spending the time to review our hotel, it is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
192 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

During the Warley exhibition I stayed in the Encore Ramada NEC, an 8 minutes walk from the NEC. At the front desk staff is very nice and will help you throug all your problems. Single rooms are very large and clean. The bathroom with toilet is cleaner as I had ever before. Staff in the restaurant is very friendly and will help you to make the right choise for your dinnner. Breakfast in the same restaurant is excellent.

Room Tip: You can sleep very quiet, you will not hear the planes of the nearby airfield.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We booked in here for 2 nights whilst attending a convention at the NEC. The room was charged for as soon as we arrived, which i found a little odd before we had not even seen the room, yet another customer being served next to us was offered to pay at check out. The room itself was spacious, with a generous sized bathroom, the air conditioning was found to be either be too cold or too hot. We had room only price so i cannot comment on breakfast. The bed was too hard and I found I had backache by the end of the weekend. Basically you get what you pay for here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We have two options on check in, you can either pay in full on arrival or you can pre-authorise a credit card (unfortunately not a debit card at this time) and settle on departure. When asked how you are paying, if you had replied a debit card then full payment will have been taken on check in. I am sorry if this was not explained fully at the time.

I appreciate the firmness of mattresses is a very personal choice. We usually have good feedback regarding the bed comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

The first thing you're welcomed with when you get there is £7 added on to your bill, just to park there. This was my first stay in a Ramada and I was expecting it to be much better than it was. My pillows were old and very lumpy, and the room was not sound proof. I could hear traffic on the busy road outside all night and the sound of airplanes from the busy airport nearby. Other airport hotels are soundproof, why isn't this one? I could also hear people coming and going in the corridor all night. The room was advertised as a double, but it was tiny and very dark too. The handsoap gave me an itchy rash. Breakfast was an extra £10 but was not worth it. The orange juice was watered down, the coffee tasted like gravy granules and the food was of a very low quality. The eggs were not free range, and there were no vegetarian choices advertised. The TV is tiny, and too far away from the bed - so you can't watch TV in bed. There's no WIFI in the bedrooms - only wired internet so dust down your laptop before you come.

This hotel is run by the Wyndham group, who also run Days Inn and numerous other brands. We've always enjoyed our stay at their other hotels but this one really lets them down. They should know better.

Room Tip: There's lots of other hotels nearby, book a room in one of them. instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We apologise that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay.

We are presently looking at options to include free WIFI instead of the wired connection we currently provide in all our bedrooms. Free WIFI is currently available for guest convenience in our hub area.

As with all NEC hotels we do charge for parking, this is at a very competitive £7 per night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport
Ibis Birmingham Airport
#19 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#20 of 117 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing