We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel but clean - good value - great location for NEC.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Room was very basic but clean and all you need if you just want a place to stay before/after your flight. We paid £42 through holidayextras.com

Hotel advertises business amenities but there were no printing facilities, however the front desk agent was helpful and offered to print for me.

You can walk right to the entrance to the tube that takes you to the airport or into Birmingham. It's not really clearly marked so you really need to ask for directions.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room on an upper floor. Hard to go wrong with that request.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomerGal1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We offer free internet access and printing facilities located past the hub restaurant towards our conference rooms. I'm sorry if this was not communicated to you at the time but I am pleased the reception team offered an alternative and printed your documents for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Not encore. More like never again. Awful hotel, which I assume only gets bookings due to its location. Bed lumpy, room v basic, hairdryer missing, and was told that I would be able to get breakfast room service in check in, but then I had to make several calls in the morning only to find that it wasn't possible. The chap then changed his mind and said he could deliver something if I paid him £5. What a joke. £105 for the privilege of a bad nights sleep and terrible service. It was worth £40 max. Really is a last resort option. Avoid!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are sending a full reply to the person who booked for Katharine. The Encore brand standards are clean minimalistic lines. Within the market that the brand sits – no room service would be available. We offer a full range of room service at any time but breakfast and it was made clear this was a request. All 4 star brands charge at least £10 for a room service breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked last minute for a 1 night stay, cost of £51 plus £10 tax. We had tickets for a show at the NEC and had an early start, decided it would be better to spend the night there as we'd have been on our feet all day.

Once we arrived (hotel was easy to find) we just let reception know we'd parked the car in the car park and would check in later.

The walk to the NEC took us about 8 mins - turn right out of hotel, follow yellow bollards, take lift up to NEC and you are right there! brilliant.

After the show, we went and watched the rugby in the bar and then we had a meal later on.

The bar and restaurant areas are quite bright (at my age, softer light is appreciated!) but overall we found the whole dining and drinking experience to be perfectly adequate and the staff were all very helpful / professional.

The rooms are quite basic but for an overnighter (and after a long) day it was comfortable and clean. I actually slept for 8.5hrs so the bed was comfortable.

So, we only paid a small sum of money for this hotel and as such I have no complaints but there a couple of things which would annoy me if I was paying more / staying longer!

1) There was an annoying noise whenever we or the room next to us used hot water. Can't really describe it but it was loud and irritating after a while.

2) Check in and check out took too long. Seemed to be a lot of printing and stapling....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

The annoying noise was due to a faulty plumbing valve that needed changing and was completed the very next morning. I am sorry if this disturbed your stay at all.

It is fantastic to hear you were given good service and I will share your review with our team.


We look forward to seeing you when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Visiting the caravan show in February , we decided to stay overnight rather than face a long days driving. We had previously stayed here on an airport parking basis and were equally impressed this time.
Our twin room was spacious and comfortable, with the usual Ramada facilities. We overlooked the car park at the front, but this was much quieter than our friend's room which was facing a noisy road - and they could hear some aircraft movements during the evening and early morning.
We ate in the restaurant ( which was very busy ) and enjoyed the single course that we had; prices were not too unreasonable considering the location. All staff in restaurant and reception were polite and helpful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank DAWLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for spending the time to feed back your experience of our hotel.
It is always wonderful to hear when guests return again and again. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I stayed here on business and although i didnt spend that much time in the hotel room I found getting ready quite diffcult as the rooms are so poorly lite. There is nothing worse as a woman having to try and apply makeup in a dark room using a mirror where you can barely see yourself. I was getting ready for an awards dinner and was concerned that i might look like Bridget Jones after she gets out of the taxi !!!! There were 2 light bulbs out in the room but to be quite honest i think if they were working they wouldnt have made that much difference. The shower area was quite unclean with black & orange mould everywhere. The bed was comfy, the pillows were quite lumpy. The breakfast was fantastic, great choice and good quality food. Staff on reception were very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have listened to previous guest feedback and have now purchased additional uplighters for the rooms affected by inadequate lighting.

I was pleased to here you enjoyed our breakfast offering and that our team were friendly. I will share this review with them as we all take great pride from looking after our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My main gripe with this hotel is the size of the beds, they are the smallest doubles I have ever seen. On the plus side, parking for the airport is really handy and unlike many hotels it is on site and the restaurant is pretty good and breakfast is brilliant.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank techanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are delighted you enjoyed "The Hub" restaurant experience and hope to see you again when flying out of Birmingham International

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#26 of 118 in Birmingham
2,448 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £53 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing