We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good size room and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice big room for 3 people with two proper beds and a sofa bed if you need it and really convenient for nec as it is only 5 min from the station. Food and bar are nice and lively. Staff are more than helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your great review, we look forward to seeing you again when you are next visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

I would strongly recommend this hotel for a pre-flight and parking stay. Parking was within a few yards of the hotel entrance, check-in quick and easy and the room was simple but clean and pleasant. We took a taxi to and from the airport which cost us £5 going and £8 coming back! If it wasn't winter we could have walked. We wanted to avoid off-site parking that relied on buses to and from the airport as they can be few and far between.The evening meal we had on arrival was also very good and great value.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlosGirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are so pleased you enjoyed the restaurant experience and look forward to seeing you again when flying out of Birmingham Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending a game convention at the NEC on the next day. When we arrived around 8pm the man on reception checked us in and was so lovely! Regret not getting his name because he was extremely welcoming. Once we got to our room the first thing we noticed was that it was extremely dark! Only having on light in the 'hallway' and two above the bed, but no more lights to light the rest of the room. The desk lamp and two lamps next to the bed were absolutely horrible and did next to nothing when lighting. Also one of the lights in the bathroom, the one in the shower, was not working and as we found out later when having a shower the extractor fan did not work. We tried to find a switch we may have missed but couldn't find anything!
The mattress was hard but very comfy and pillows were slightly lumpy.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely and the man (we assumed was the manager) was very helpful and lovely.
Overall it was excellent for its location as it's only a five minute walk from the NEC. We would stay there again for its convenience more than anything. It's nothing's spectacular and I think you pay more for the location than anything.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iyaanatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of our hotel. We have recently purchased a number of uplighters to assist with the issue of lighting we have in several of our rooms. This follows feedback from previous guest stays that we have listened to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Room was very basic but clean and all you need if you just want a place to stay before/after your flight. We paid £42 through holidayextras.com

Hotel advertises business amenities but there were no printing facilities, however the front desk agent was helpful and offered to print for me.

You can walk right to the entrance to the tube that takes you to the airport or into Birmingham. It's not really clearly marked so you really need to ask for directions.

Room Tip: We always ask for a quiet room on an upper floor. Hard to go wrong with that request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomerGal1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you so much for your feedback. We offer free internet access and printing facilities located past the hub restaurant towards our conference rooms. I'm sorry if this was not communicated to you at the time but I am pleased the reception team offered an alternative and printed your documents for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Not encore. More like never again. Awful hotel, which I assume only gets bookings due to its location. Bed lumpy, room v basic, hairdryer missing, and was told that I would be able to get breakfast room service in check in, but then I had to make several calls in the morning only to find that it wasn't possible. The chap then changed his mind and said he could deliver something if I paid him £5. What a joke. £105 for the privilege of a bad nights sleep and terrible service. It was worth £40 max. Really is a last resort option. Avoid!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Katharine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

We are sending a full reply to the person who booked for Katharine. The Encore brand standards are clean minimalistic lines. Within the market that the brand sits – no room service would be available. We offer a full range of room service at any time but breakfast and it was made clear this was a request. All 4 star brands charge at least £10 for a room service breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Booked last minute for a 1 night stay, cost of £51 plus £10 tax. We had tickets for a show at the NEC and had an early start, decided it would be better to spend the night there as we'd have been on our feet all day.

Once we arrived (hotel was easy to find) we just let reception know we'd parked the car in the car park and would check in later.

The walk to the NEC took us about 8 mins - turn right out of hotel, follow yellow bollards, take lift up to NEC and you are right there! brilliant.

After the show, we went and watched the rugby in the bar and then we had a meal later on.

The bar and restaurant areas are quite bright (at my age, softer light is appreciated!) but overall we found the whole dining and drinking experience to be perfectly adequate and the staff were all very helpful / professional.

The rooms are quite basic but for an overnighter (and after a long) day it was comfortable and clean. I actually slept for 8.5hrs so the bed was comfortable.

So, we only paid a small sum of money for this hotel and as such I have no complaints but there a couple of things which would annoy me if I was paying more / staying longer!

1) There was an annoying noise whenever we or the room next to us used hot water. Can't really describe it but it was loud and irritating after a while.

2) Check in and check out took too long. Seemed to be a lot of printing and stapling....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PorkpieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

The annoying noise was due to a faulty plumbing valve that needed changing and was completed the very next morning. I am sorry if this disturbed your stay at all.

It is fantastic to hear you were given good service and I will share your review with our team.


We look forward to seeing you when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
1,989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
2,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £54 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing