We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location for NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Train Station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Banbury Oxfordshire England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location for NEC, LG Arena and Birmingham International Train Station”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here overnight following a concert at the LG Arena. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. We found the bed to be a little uncomfortable but all in all a very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    494
    350
    149
    93
See reviews for
158
509
74
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just not great...service was below par and staff were not very helpful. On arrival (around 5pm) there were no towels in the room, towels were handed to us from a bin bag full of slightly wet towels - not nice when you want to take a shower. When asked for dry towels we were told that the 'drying system doesn't dry the towels well'. Bed was extremely small and sheets full of holes. Lighting in the room was extremely dim and it was rather hard to see after the sun had gone down. Not completely awful - bathroom was adequate - but wouldn't recommend a stay here. Location to the NEC is good but would expect the overall standard from a Ramada hotel to be better.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Danielle963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Your comments certainly don't reflect our usual standards and apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

We have large industrial dryers for our towels that there is no issue with, so again I apologize for the strange comment that was given to you by a member of our team.

We always like to deal with any issues our guests have at the time to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. for example we could have easily supplied you with extra lighting by bringing you an uplighter that would have assisted with the problem of a dimly lit room and certainly would have replaced your sheets or indeed changed your room.

I hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Southampton UK
Level Contributor
247 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Rooms are clean but basic. No wi-fi in the rooms. Large bar area and only 5 minutes from the NEC which is great. Not a bad menu but after a week staying there you need something else. Beds are hard. My bed light did not work reported it but never mended. Room keys kept faiing to work after being in the NEC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I am so sorry the light was not fixed in your room. It was a special fitting that we were waiting on delivery but apologise that this was not communicated to you and the offer made to move rooms as I would have expected.

We are looking at incorporating wifi throughout the hotel and hopefully this will be in place when you visit in the future.

Also if you are staying for more than a few days please talk to us regarding a special menu which we would be happy to accommodate for you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here to attend a concert at NEC. This hotel is clean and the room we had was clean and with good facilities.

The hotel bar was good value with good service. This hotel is also very close to train station for Birmingham int airport.

Great value with a cheap price!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again when visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed at the Ramada Encore the night before we flew from Birmingham airport, our check-in was very good, the receptionist was very efficient, the room was clean, well equipped & quiet.
We used the restaurant & the staff here were friendly & the food was very good.we left our car at the hotel while we were away& there was no problems on our return. I would recommend this hotel & will use again if I am flying from Birmingham Airport

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again when flying out from Birmingham Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is dirty, the bed is low down with a very hard uncomfortable mattress, the pillows are very small and extremely lumpy (like someone has roughly chopped some foam and stuffed it inside the pillow), 2 of the pillows had dirty / stain marks, the duvet cover had a dusty footprint towards the "head end" of the cover and it had other minor staining on the cover, the floor was dusty / dirty as there bits of fluff and plastic tags that had not been cleaned, the floor-length curtains had severe dust staining 2 - 3 cms up from the floor . The double glazing is completely ineffective as the room faces a very noisy A-road so I had very little sleep. The only toiletries are shower gel and the toilet paper is rough and cheap. Overall it was a most unpleasant experience and I was due to stay 2 nights but checked out after one night. At £100 a night it is extremely over-priced. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel - there are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I apologise that your stay did not live up to either yours or indeed our own expectations. We generally receive excellent feedback. I only wish we could have resolved the issues during your stay by moving you to a quieter room. I will investigate your comments regarding the cleanliness standards with our housekeeper.

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we welcome all feedback to improve our service and facilities. Please accept our apologies once again for the shortfall in standards on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good hotel, excellent location for LG Arena Short walk. But ladies if you are wearing heels take a pair of flats then change when you get there! As our stay was short and sweet not much else to say but we would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hedgey3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing