We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable rate for a venue near Lg Arena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Check in was efficient and the staff were very friendly. The room was clean but pretty basic. Unfortunately I had an awful night's sleep because the room was stifling and the air con didn't seem to work properly. The bed was also quite hard.
We paid extra for breakfast as there isn't anything else nearby. It was £10 each but ther wasn't a great deal of choice. It was all you could eat though so I suppose you could get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Waters6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

The comfort of the beds are a very personal choice but do understand your comment if you are used to a softer mattress.

We hope to see you again in the future if you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,451 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've stayed in 4 hotels in the area, and last time I went to NEC I stayed here - and was happy enough because the deal was really cheap. This time round, the price had doubled because there were 3 events on at NEC at the same time; but it's interesting that the Ramada was pretty much the last hotel in the area to fill up [I looked at a few others first], so that probably says something about it compared with other hotels.
There aren't many staff. Last time round this didn't matter because there weren't many customers.
Last time there was an entire wing of the hotel without TV access. This time round there was a TV but no remote - and it took 2 reminders to get one brought to the room.
Food: bad news really if you're a vegetarian. Very little choice.
If a hotel is about a bed for the night, then the hotel works. But don't expect much more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DerekG154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our team is very proud of the service and facilities we offer. I am sorry to hear you didn't fully enjoy your stay with us on this occasion.

The room tariff does fluctuate depending on how busy the hotel is but you should not see any difference in service standards regardless of the cost of the room.

We do hope you return to us in the future as we sincerely wish to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very poor value for money. We stayed in the Hilton last year for the same price and the Hilton was streets ahead. Ramada room had a double bed that was not much bigger thsn a single bed. One pillow each which was well past its sale date. No fridge and windows did not open. A very basic hotel but with expensive prices. Will never be back. Once bitten twice shy as they say. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willowban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

I am dismayed to hear you wont be returning to us, we generally have excellent feedback regarding our hotel but I am sorry we did not live up to your expectations.

We would have happily provided you with extra pillows on request and delivered these to your room. The pillows are purchased monthly to ensure a high standard is met for our guests. I apologize this was not the case during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed here overnight following a concert at the LG Arena. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast very good. We found the bed to be a little uncomfortable but all in all a very convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anne1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just not great...service was below par and staff were not very helpful. On arrival (around 5pm) there were no towels in the room, towels were handed to us from a bin bag full of slightly wet towels - not nice when you want to take a shower. When asked for dry towels we were told that the 'drying system doesn't dry the towels well'. Bed was extremely small and sheets full of holes. Lighting in the room was extremely dim and it was rather hard to see after the sun had gone down. Not completely awful - bathroom was adequate - but wouldn't recommend a stay here. Location to the NEC is good but would expect the overall standard from a Ramada hotel to be better.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Danielle963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Your comments certainly don't reflect our usual standards and apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

We have large industrial dryers for our towels that there is no issue with, so again I apologize for the strange comment that was given to you by a member of our team.

We always like to deal with any issues our guests have at the time to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. for example we could have easily supplied you with extra lighting by bringing you an uplighter that would have assisted with the problem of a dimly lit room and certainly would have replaced your sheets or indeed changed your room.

I hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Rooms are clean but basic. No wi-fi in the rooms. Large bar area and only 5 minutes from the NEC which is great. Not a bad menu but after a week staying there you need something else. Beds are hard. My bed light did not work reported it but never mended. Room keys kept faiing to work after being in the NEC.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bully1959Canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

I am so sorry the light was not fixed in your room. It was a special fitting that we were waiting on delivery but apologise that this was not communicated to you and the offer made to move rooms as I would have expected.

We are looking at incorporating wifi throughout the hotel and hopefully this will be in place when you visit in the future.

Also if you are staying for more than a few days please talk to us regarding a special menu which we would be happy to accommodate for you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here to attend a concert at NEC. This hotel is clean and the room we had was clean and with good facilities.

The hotel bar was good value with good service. This hotel is also very close to train station for Birmingham int airport.

Great value with a cheap price!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we look forward to seeing you again when visiting the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#30 of 118 in Birmingham
1,883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,466 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £50 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing