We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for LG Arena”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for LG Arena”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Nice clean hotel next to LG Arena. My wife and I usually struggle to sleep in some cheaper hotels as they love to have the heating on full blast without allowing the temperature to be changed in the room. Its the first time staying in a Ramada and wasn't sure when we first arrived as they seemed a little disorganised with what room we would be having, the room was clean although parts of the wooden floor needed repair or was badly fitted and the tiles in the shower was in need of re grouting but for the price compared to others in the area was fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tinkle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We do have a maintenance programme diarised to re grout our shower areas.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    500
    353
    152
    92
See reviews for
161
517
74
435
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending an exhibition at the NEC.
It was about a 5 to 10 minutes walk from the hotel to get to the NEC, you do have to through the industrial area, lots of warehouses and forklifts, but all clearly signposted to the NEC.

Friendly staff, great food, might be a bit limited if you're staying for longer than a few nights but the menu kept me happy for 2 nights. Good car parking and reasonably priced too.

Would definitely stay here again when visiting the NEC/LG Arena.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night of first evening as we were going to the Gadget Show Live exhibition at NEC on Saturday.

Staff were very welcoming, kind and helpful.

We had to pay a set amount of £7.50 for the hotel car park when we arrived Friday evening and we were able to leave the car there for all of Saturday at no extra cost due to it literally being 5 mins away from the NEC!!

Dinner Food was lovely.

There was a very good selection for breakfast inc fry up as the breakfast was included in the price of our accommodation for my husband and I.

Will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rpyke2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back for future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I would expect more for the price. Very good location for Nec. Very basic room with basic facilities, can't even stretch to a hair drier in the rooms! Horrible smell of bleach through the corridors. Had dinner in the restaurant which was ok value for money and ok standard. Would only stay here for convenience to Nec but no other reason.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
I was dismayed to read that you had not fully enjoyed your stay with us.

We do provide hairdryers in all rooms but apologize if this was not the case on this occasion (they are kept in the shelving beneath the wardrobe area) We would have happily delivered to you a hairdryer upon request by contacting the reception desk by the phone in your room.

I am concerned that there was a smell of bleach in the corridors as we don't use or stock this product due to health and safety reasons but I will discuss what this could have been with our housekeeper.

Thank you for your review, all feedback is gratefully received to constantly improve on our service and standards, of which we are very proud of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed overnight for a concert at this hotel and found it to very pleasant. The rooms were basic but served the purpose and were very clean. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The meals were tasty especially the breakfast. The hotel was within walking distance for the arena, however, I would not advise this for older people who may struggle with walking as there are a lot of stairs to climb on the way making it a long ten minutes! Would certainly stay again if attending a concert.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all feedback. I will communicate your review to the team and we are so pleased you found our colleagues to be friendly and helpful during your stay.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

nice clean hotel very close to nec and 10 min walk to lg arena nice hot power showers, train station 5mins away . also close to weatherspoons pub where the beer was ok but the food was dire go to subway by the train station they are cheap and tasty. be warned.the food in the lg is expensive and small portions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We are in a prime position for the NEC/LG, Birmingham International Airport and Birmingham International Railway Station. All within a short walk away.

The hotel does offer a good choice menu at value for money but there are outlets also at the NEC.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night as we were at a concert at the LG which is within walking distance. The receptionist was a bit surly and took a copy of my driving licence for ID which I thought was unusual? The room was clean but I didn't like the wooden floor. Bed was comfortable but when I woke in the morning I noticed a horrible stain on the curtain which I hadn't seen the night before. We didn't have breakfast but had a couple of drinks at the bar the night before and thought they were reasonably priced and the bar staff were very pleasant. I would stay again if I was flying from Birmingham or at a concert but only if the price was cheap.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all feedback to improve our service and standards to all our guests.

Extra ID is required when guests are paying cash, this is common procedure in most hotels.

I will investigate with our housekeeper regarding the curtains in your room. It is very rare we receive any adverse comments concerning the cleanliness of the hotel so please accept our apologies that it was not 100% on this occasion.

It was great to hear you found our bar staff to be friendly and offered what you were looking for drink and cost wise.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#22 of 117 in Birmingham
1,772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing