We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here with my mum whilst seeing a show in NEC, 15 min walk to NEC and 5 min walk from train station. Very handy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Hotel is situated in a great location for nec, as long as you don't mind being amongst industrial estate buildings with nothing much about e.g. shops or pubs etc. Room was great, roomy and clean. We had room service which was excellent, very tasty and not too expensive. Hotel bar was open after the show on a Sunday eve, again the food/drinks weren't too expensive. Pizza seemed a popular choice and looked lovely. Really enjoyed our stay, and would def stay here again if going to the NEC or on holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for your excellent review. We aim to give this level of service to each and every guest that stays with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

896 - 902 of 1,462 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

Chose this hotel as it said it was 10 min walk to LG Arena, it wasn't, we wanted somewhere 10 mins walk away and it actually took nearly half an hour, not good when we can't walk very far.

Staff appeared cold and functional and everything seemed to be a problem, it's not a cozy hotel by any stretch of the imagination. If you want clean and comfy, it's fine for a one night stay, but the bar staff need to be less argumentative with guests, customer service isn't something that's encouraged obviously!

Expensive for what we got, £60 for a double room for 2 adults with no breakfast. Compare this to the Holiday Inn we stayed at in Gloucester the previous week, where we payed £45 for a family room for 2 adults and 1 17 year old, with a free buffet breakfast for all of us, can't beat that!

To sum up, expensive, rude argumentative staff and plain and functional, if you like all that, you'll like this place, if not, steer clear, we will next time and we will get a taxi from somewhere else that's half an hour away from LG Arena

Room Tip: Can't think of anything nice to say, our room felt like a cold office, with a bed in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

I sincerely apologize that you experienced a negative customer service experience on this occassion, this is very surprising to hear as we usually receive very positive regarding our staff.

We very much hope to welcome you here once again to give us the opportunity to give you the service both you and I expect.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Used this hotel for a night before an early morning flight with parking. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the airport. For a hotel so close to an airport it is very quiet. I wouldn't hesitate to use this hotel again it is very good value for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you so much for your excellent review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This stay was booked as part of a holiday package to enable car parking whilst away on holiday.
Direction provided by the hotel were ok but could have been better as they failed to mention all the roundabouts - of which there were several.
On arrival only three parking spaces remained in the car park and by following morning several people had already had to park on the access road, not in designated spaces.
The hotel itself was good, rooms smallish but comfortable and well maintained. The restaurant and bar areas were clean and well used and the food was excellent, albeit a little overpriced.
Reception was efficient on arrival.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience of your rececent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back should you be flying from Birmingham Airport in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel next to busy road, the noise from which woke me and partner at 0530ish and couldn't get back to sleep. Really noisy. Breakfast wasn't much fun or quality. Cheap stay yes but got more quality for same price elsewhere.

Never once interacted with a happy, smiling member of staff. All seemed unhappy regardless of time of day. Not a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

I was extremely surprised and disappointed that you did not experience the usual level of customer service at the time of your stay.

I can assure you that this is not our usual level of service and do hope you return to us to experience this. Please accept my apologies for the stay not living up to either yours or indeed our own expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Nice and clean room. We went late for dinner but staff was very helpful and friendly. Did excellent service and food was excellent. Breakfast staff was superb. We had full english breakfast service was fast.We enjoy our overall stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sh0mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. We all look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fine for a very basic one night stay. I would not want to stay any longer. Follow the sat nav postcode not the main address one or you will go around in circles. It's much cheaper than others around the NEC and that is reflected in what you get. The matress was uncomfortable and I had to move rooms because of noise from the road. Food expensive for what it is - £6.95 on a very average prawn cocktail and over £13 for a main course that did not include any veg just the meat placed on 2 small potatoes. On a plus side the staff try very hard, internet access is free and very speedy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the car park - otherwise you wont get any sleep. The noise from the busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanz_and_Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated.

The restaurant is very competitively priced within the immediate area.

It was wonderful to hear that the staff were attentive during your stay. I will be sure to pass this review on to them, as we are all very proud of the hotel. It is always warming to hear when someone has received good service.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
1,886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,467 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £51 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing