We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but not low cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed here for one night prior to an early morning flight to Derry. Check in was efficient and courteous; the receptionist went out of his way to answer questions and give good, reliable information. The room itself was very basic but clean and with excellent (and very welcome) cool air conditioning. I was told that the airport was a five minute walk away so I practiced this the night before departure. The timing must have been based on a super-athlete; it took me twenty minutes and it ends with a flight of over sixty steps! I opted for a taxi in the early morning. Evening meal was reasonably priced and quite edible but served in what felt like the food hall of a large shopping centre. OK for one night but I wouldn't want to use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

I am sorry our restaurant "modern and clean lines are the theme" didn't meet your expectations but was delighted to hear that you received excellent service from us during your stay.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

924 - 930 of 1,517 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed for business at the NEC.
Check in efficient although I had a problem with room allocation, later that day my room was allocated to another guest checking in, so a little confusion.
Rooms are basic but clean, air conditioning erratic and rooms facing the airport are noisy.
Room service quick and food was good. Car park is always full and difficult to find a free space.
Bathroom was shower only, no soap or shampoo for guest use, although shower did dispense shower gel.
Convenient for both NEC and Airport along with Rail station very close.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from airport side for a quieter stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback to improve our offering.

We are very convenient for the NEC, Airport and Birmingham Internation Railway Station and we look forward to welcoming you back with us.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

good location for the arena, it was only a ten min walk from the hotel, the room had everything you needed and clean, food excellent, staff very friendly and went out their way to help you, so will go back to this hotel when at the arena again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your great review. We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night prior to flying to Crete. Rooms pretty basic, however okay. Price of a pint a little hefty. Parked car for duration of Hols at a reasonable price. Hotel is conveniently located near to Monorail which is ideal for Airport. I would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gows918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night before we flew to Greece the hotel is very basic no frills with a few bits of damage throughout, dining area looks like a canteen, the food was surprisingly hearty but slightly over priced, overall okay for a quick overnighter but that's it!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank trussy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback from guests who stay with us to improve our standards.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

On arrival we were given a room with no showerhead, the shower area was dirty and smelt of raw sewage. We complained and took another room, this was little better, the shower floor was mouldy, the flooring in the bedroom was not joined properly and the window was broken and would not close. The bed (a standard double) was very firm, which we found to be uncomfortable.

The hotel appears to have no maintenance schedule, along with the faults in the room a heater was hanging off the wall in the dining area, the tiles in the lift are cracked. The advertised hairdryer in the room was absent and the Wi-Fi only available in the bar area, a wired internet connection in the room was slow at best, not the fast speed indicated on the hotels publicity. The room key needed to be reprogrammed every day and, according to the notice in reception, also after each visit to the NEC.

We requested a copy of our bill on departure, only one of two nights were shown and, despite a phone call, we are still awaiting a copy for the first nights accommodation.
In conclusion the hotel is below Travelodge standards, certainly not the boutique hotel their website would lead you to believe.

Room Tip: I would suggest another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Im so sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We have an ongoing maintenance programme. I apologize sincerely you were allocated a room that was having the shower heads deep cleaned on check in.

The heaters on corridors are corrected each day but guests with luggage do knock these as they do jut out a little. We are discussing alternative to the radiators we have at present to alleviate this problem.

The lift flooring is also in hand and being replaced very shortly.

Thank you for your comments, they are invaluable to us to improve our service and standards for our guests.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel the night before we flew to Tunisia, and again on our return, save having to drive/fly, or fly/drive.
It's basic, you get a room, a bed, a shower, a TV. Think Travelodge.
It's close to the airport, closer to the NEC, probably ideal for a concert.
We were disappointed there wasnt a snack machine, we fancied some crisps or something and found the only thing on offer was a pizza at over a tenner. We ended up walking through an industrial estate to the railway station to get some snacks. (Which probably cost us over a tenner, but there you go!) Parking was good, we paid £20 for the week we were away.
Rooms were tidy enough, could do with a small refit, but basically ok for a one night stopover.
Breakfast was very good, buffet style, if a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dale-King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We do have a vending machine located at our business point that is the far end of the restaurant past the buffet area. I am sorry this was missed during your stay as would have saved you a walk to the station.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#36 of 118 in Birmingham
2,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#29 of 118 in Birmingham
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £56 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing