We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for the NEC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel while not being the most luxurious is more than ample & perfectly placed for the NEC. We booked a room as we were to see a concert at the Arena. The staff were very helpful & offered directions to the venue without being prompted. The walk to the NEC is only 10 minutes away so perfectly placed. The bar remained open late to allow guests returning from the concert to buy drinks & food. There is parking is at the hotel but get there early if you want to guarantee a spot. Only slight criticism is the floors in the bedroom are not carpeted but are wood. Room service was prompt & food very acceptable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We very much appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here to see the Eagles at the LG arena. We were very pleased with everything except it would have been good to be able to use the wifi in the room as you could only use the laptop which had to be plugged in. Overall good value. Follow the directions to the LG arena both ways as if you go left as you exit the arena it takes you into the train station so the journey takes twice as long

Room Tip: We stayed in room 116 which overlooks the car park. The room was very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fld14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Thank you so much for your review, we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area. I hear it was a great concert!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed here for one night prior to attending a day of training elsewhere within the NEC complex, and whilst the location and price (just £27 for the night) were great, and the staff couldn't be faulted, there were two major problems which would put me off staying here again.

Firstly, the amount of car parking is woefully inadequate, with around 150 spaces. Whilst this would normally be acceptable for a hotel with 166 bedrooms, the hotel offers "Park and Fly" packages. This means customers only staying for one night are occupying valuable parking spaces for up to 15 days, leaving ordinary guests having to use spaces with badly faded markings in an "overflow" car park the other side of the road, with the allotted section being indicated by a line of Heras fencing...and for this, you're charged £7.50.

Secondly, soundproofing in the rooms is non-existent. On one side of the hotel you've got a 40mph dual carriageway, with a busy railway line and then the airport beyond that, and on the opposite side you've got the "back stage" type areas that service the NEC, and the double glazing does nothing whatsoever to keep the noise out. As a result of this, I kept waking up through the night and it took some time before I managed to get back to sleep again.

As such, whist the hotel is very conveniently located, I won't be returning.

Room Tip: A room on the side of the hotel overlooking the car parks should be quieter than those overlooking t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthPaw1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

I do apologize you found the noise level unsatisfactory during your stay. The quieter rooms are located on the car park side and are happy to allocated these rooms on request but is always subject to availability.

Due to our location traffic noise can be heavy but the location to the NEC / Airport usually outweighs the fact that the area is not what can be descibed as the quietest. Although we seldom receive negative feedback regarding excessive noise.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we do appreciate your comments to improve our stadards and service.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night in May as we were watching a band at the LG areana.
Although the value was ok, i would never again stay in this hotel as it was very dirty. I have never had to complain about a hotels clenliness and i'm generally satisfied with any hotel room whether is modern or traditional as long as its CLEAN!

The first room we were appointed to had, only what i can describe as snot on the floor and human hairs. I went downstairs to get a new room and the second room had a red substance all over the floor ( either blood- eww, or red sauce???) The third room was slgihtly better although i could tell that the floors hadn't been mopped.

I'm not being funny but i do not want to walk around a room and have other people hairs and pubic hairs stuck to me feet - vile.

Bed was very uncomfortable, windows caked in dirt, tiniest room ever...

Although this completely ruined the stay for me, my partner really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning and the staff, although i felt they could have upgraded us after swapping our room twice, were polite and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

I am very disappointed and surprised to receive your review regarding cleanliness. All rooms are checked by our housekeeping management team prior to guests checking in and the standard that you were met with should never happen.

I sincerely apologize for this shortfall in our standards but please be assured it is not our normal level of cleanliness as previous guests often give extremely positive feedback regarding this area.

We do hope you do stay again so you can have the experience you and I expect from Ramada Encore NEC.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I chose this hotel because it was the cheapest when I was looking for hotels close enough to the LG arena(NEC) that was a walkable distance (around 10-15 minutes walk) . For the price paid it was very good value, the hotel was clean and the rooms were surprisingly spotless and beds were comfortable, although the room we had felt like miles away from the lift and stairs. Windows didn't open so no fresh air, had to rely on air conditioning to get a normal temperature. Staff were pleasant wouldn't say they were overly helpful or cheerful only good thing about them that they had spare toothbrushes and toothpastes for free. The bar was very expensive, not too surprising for a hotel though none are ever cheap but just a warning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your review. We would be pleased to move your room if a closer one was available the next time you stay.

I hope you enjoyed the concert, yes we are very convenient for the LG, walkable with no queue out of the car park a bonus!

Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we could help with the essetial complimentary toothpaste.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great location. Only a short walk to the monorail to get in to the main airport. Rooms were clean and tidy and my favourite beers had just been installed that day. The staff on reception and in the bar were also very helpful and friendly.
Didn't eat in the hotel as we were with a group who wanted to try a local Indian Restaurant. Tried one called Rasa only 5 mins by taxi. Excellent.
Hotel was fantastic value at £58 for a weeks park and stay. I will stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Breweryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

I'm pleased you liked our new range of beers, we have had great feedback regarding the change to Heineken, Amstel, Symonds Cider and Theakstons Bitter.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you fly out of Birmingham in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Basic accommodation but fine for an overnight stay. Good size Bedroom/bathroom. Bed quite firm. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location good for airport and NEC otherwise its on an industrial estate with nothing close by. Airport noise not noticed. Evening meal reasonable with limited choice but was good with nice breakfast. No facilities for fitness.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin-carmarthen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback regarding your recent stay.

It is always great to hear when good service has been received by our guests.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
1,854 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#25 of 118 in Birmingham
2,449 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £53 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing