We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel and very close to NEC and airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel and very close to NEC and airport”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Used this airport as was on a trip away via the airport.
Was amazed how easy it is to get to the airport, 10 min walk, use the monorail and you there.

Room was clean and smart. Staff were friendly and polite.
Left my car there for a few days and it was safer than leaving it in the airport car park.

Would use this hotel again for the airport or for using the NEC as was 5 mins walk away from area 2 and 3

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one as we heard lots of kids shouting, not the hotels fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are using the airport or NEC which indeed is located very conveniently for us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    493
    350
    149
    93
See reviews for
158
508
74
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
nottm
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

great find ,very good price nice big clean rooms with airconditioning tea and coffee etc..., friendly staff. the evening meals looked good and the breakfast was brilliant , close to NEC railway station and Airport..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swebby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so pleased we lived up to your expectations, our aim is to offer all our guests the excellent service and great standards you experienced during your stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here before in November 2013 to go to the NEC so it was our first choice this time as we'd had no problems last time.
Was slightly disappointed this time for a couple of reasons. Checked into our room to find blonde hairs all over the floor with bits of fluff and dust. It had obviously not been swept or mopped. We had a room at the end of a corridor right next to an "emergency exit", however this was obviously a door used by the staff as from 7am till we left, the door was constantly being banged opened and closed. As we had been at the NEC for 7 hours the previous day, we had been very much looking forward to a nice lie in. Don't expect this if you stay in room 129 as it appears that the staff must think if they are up then so should you!!! The shower was also an issue with possible black mould on the actual shower and the cubicle. Next time we go to the NEC, will be booking somewhere else.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am very disappointed you had a bad experience due to cleanliness in your room during your stay. This is extremely rare. We would have been delighted to find you an alternative room had this been mentioned during your stay with us .

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel as your feedback is invaluable to us to improve our standards and service.

The staff issue of noise will be communicated to our head housekeeper as they should definitely not be disturbing guests at 7am and we in no way condone this as acceptable. Thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was booked through the travel company we used to go to the F1 and therefore not by choice. The room was clean and the bed was comfy, had requested a double when booking the trip (we had been told there were no doubles available) and were happy our request was met.

The service at dinner wasn't great, got told to find a seat, which wasn't big enough to cater for the 5 coaches that were there. The food was very limited and we didn't find the desserts (cheesecake) until we were ready to go to bed. We left feeling very hungry. The breakfast wasn't too bad, the usual stuff, fry up, toast and cereals.

We wouldn't make a point of staying here again. Have had more pleasant stays at the ramada encore in Leicester when on an F1 trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SwissRoll22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding Silverstone F1 weekend. We did experience some issues during the evening due to all 4 coaches coming to dine at the same time despite being allocated meal times that were staggered to avoid the bottleneck that occurred. I believe this was due to the first coach that was due to eat first being late back from the track (I understand this was due to waiting for passengers).

We have a plan in place for next year to allocate the meal times as the coaches arrive back with us to avoid the situation happening again.

I hope it does not deter you from using us again as this is in no way our usual standard of service.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was booked by the travel company on a Silverstone weekend so I had no input in the choice of hotel. It's a bit of case of two contrasting experiences. The accommodation was very good, a triple room made up for myself and two friends. Bed was firm with just the right amount of give in it fir somebody like me with back issues. The shower was better than average, so all in all, we were fairly pleased with the room.
The more unpleasant aspect was the evening meal. We paid £7 each for a 1 course buffet meal. The quality of the food was awful and definitely not something I would recommend to anybody. Rubbery chicken, tasteless fish, and something unidentifiable for the vegetarians. I think the hotel realised this by giving us a full English breakfast at 05.30 on the following morning which was much better.

Checkout was very quick, and tbh, I was glad it was.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I am so pleased that the accommodation met with your satisfaction but apologise that the buffet did not meet your expectation.

We agree beforehand to offer the breakfast buffet for this F1 weekend at 6am instead of 7am but I am delighted that we were able to offer this at the earlier time of 5.30am to meet guests requirements for an early start.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review for our hotel, we are very proud of the service and standards we offer. Your feedback gives us invaluable information to improve this even further.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
teesside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter on a National holidays break while visiting SILVERSTONE for F1. Twin room was booked and we were given a double . Second room given was double and put up single which was horrible so third choice we eventually got the twin after somebody didn't turn up. Food was absolutely disgusting which meant we had to go out to get a decent meal. Everything was cold . Only one starter offered which was soup, which we don't each . No alternatives . No veggie option given . Breakfast slightly better but not by much . Would not stay here again by choice .

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBabeTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
I do apologise that the room reserved was not allocated to you on check in but pleased this was resolved quickly for you.

We offered chicken with peppercorn sauce, breaded fish and a vegetarian quiche on our buffet during your visit to us. I am dismayed we could not satisfy you with this choice as with over 200 guests dining that night we needed to please the majority.

Our breakfast buffet is usually very well received and indeed we had lots of positive comments on the morning of your departure but again I am extremely sorry we did not live up to your expectation.

I hope you had an enjoyable weekend at the F1 event, speaking to your fellow passengers I believe you all did.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Belgium
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Very close to THE LG arena And THE airport. But no WIFi in THE rooms? Is iT that expensive to provide WiFi in THE room? At there so called WiFi area's THE WiFi Didn't work either. When we left they Didn't ask us or we had a pleasent stay Didn't say have a safe journey home Nothing. It's just good when you have a flight very urly in THE morning And you want to have a rest.
For THE money that we have paid we Could have had a better one.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for you feedback, it is very much appreciated.

We are looking to provide Wifi in all rooms shortly. At the moment we provide free Wifi in our restaurant/bar (The Hub) with a free wired internet connection in the bedrooms. We do understand that with the introduction of tablet devices this is needed by our guests.

We aim to give great customer service to each and every guest, I am sorry this was not your experience during departure.

I hope with the introduction of Wifi we will see you again when next in the area.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing