We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap rooms but terrible standard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap rooms but terrible standard”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here before but this time looks like there was a fight in room 205 door stop snapped off left hand light next to bed broke and two holes in wooden floor also which could be dangerous for catching your feet on etc
The hallways smell like a hospital and the hotel is extremely noisy at rear due to the road and the airport.
Bathroom is dirty in the show I only paid £27 a night for two rooms I'd be fuming if I'd paid full price for this still had to complain to reception ref issues

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We have refurbishment programmed for early 2015 which we are all very excited about.

Generally we don't receive negative comments regarding the noise levels although our proximity to the airport and busy NEC some external noise is unavoidable.

We are exceptionally proud of our service and standards at Ramada Encore NEC. Your comments are invaluable in assisting us to ensure that these are maintained to the highest standards. I sincerely apologize that this was not the case during your stay with us.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    494
    350
    149
    93
See reviews for
158
509
74
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed 3 times now when visiting NEC, each time the price was excellent as we booked several months in advance and we had great food at the bar/restaurant Exceptionally clean rooms & five min walk to NEC, will def go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
It's always fantastic to hear when our guests return again and again to us following a great stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Used this hotel with 2 weeks parking included for a holiday flight out of Birmngham. The Hotel is set just off the airport in an industrial park near the NEC. Its clean, modern and clearly targeted as a business hotel. Most of the guests were single businessmen/women and a large corporate group at some type of convention. The rooms were large, well equipped, clean, comfortable and in good condition. The hotel was quiet too, despite the proximity to the airport. Bar and Restaurant a bit "bright" as per many modern hotels, but the food we bought was good, if pricey. Drinks too are pricey, but there is little choice locally unless you get the car back out from the car park. Perfect for a pre or after flight hotel. Unlike some other reviews we found the staff excellent and very eager to please.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtytoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 30 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very competitively priced for the area regarding the bar and food menu prices.

Hope to see you next time you are flying from Birmingham International.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Booked this hotel as it offered free car parking while we were away on holiday. The room was well equipped and very clean and the reception staff friendly and helpful. Just a 10 minute walk to airport check-in or 5 minute walk to the monorail. Would definately book again if flying from Birmingham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again when you are next in the area.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked this hotel with parking which was ideal being so close to the airport. On arrival with our car,we had trouble finding a space so asked at reception and we were told to park wherever we could in the overflow car park and then leave the key and they would move it when a space became available in the designated parking area which we had already booked and payed for, so this was not a good start. We had booked the car park for 8 days then an overnight stay on return from our holiday as we landed in the early hours. On arriving at the hotel we checked in and we were given our room key, room was allocated on the ground floor to which we discovered was a disabled room. Being tired and after 2 in the morning we just wanted to get to bed so didn't say anything. WARNING TO OTHERS, check before heading to your room unless it suits you to have a room like this. Room was quite small and an odd shape, bed very low and not comfy but being designed for the disabled the bathroom/wet room was spacious. The other issue we had was it was very noisy in the morning, car park right outside our window. There is a Resturaunt in the hotel, with having room only we asked about breakfast to which we paid £10 each not really worth it. Getting to the airport was about 10mins walk to the monorail which took you straight into the terminal building. We had a taxi back on our return which cost us about £8 as the thought of walking after a long day and flight just didn't sound good. Don't think we would stay here again, looks lovely from the outside but not a good experience. At least with the travelodge you know what to expect.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 September 2014
We apologize our hotel did not meet your expectations during your park and fly reservation with accommodation. It is usual practice for us to move vehicles from our overflow car park to the main car park, which happened the following day with your car.

We usually receive very good feedback regarding this deal, we are disappointed that you were not happy with your stay.

I hope you enjoyed your holiday.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Used this airport as was on a trip away via the airport.
Was amazed how easy it is to get to the airport, 10 min walk, use the monorail and you there.

Room was clean and smart. Staff were friendly and polite.
Left my car there for a few days and it was safer than leaving it in the airport car park.

Would use this hotel again for the airport or for using the NEC as was 5 mins walk away from area 2 and 3

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one as we heard lots of kids shouting, not the hotels fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are using the airport or NEC which indeed is located very conveniently for us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

great find ,very good price nice big clean rooms with airconditioning tea and coffee etc..., friendly staff. the evening meals looked good and the breakfast was brilliant , close to NEC railway station and Airport..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swebby13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison H, General Manager at Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
We are so pleased we lived up to your expectations, our aim is to offer all our guests the excellent service and great standards you experienced during your stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Airport
0.3 mi away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#23 of 118 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC

Property: Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Address: Bickenhill Lane, Birmingham B40 1PJ, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Birmingham NEC)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing