We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Ranked #2 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Woodbrooke is a beautiful Quaker -run conference and holiday centre, originally the home of the Cadbury family, and set in wonderful grounds just by Bournville, about 10 minutes walk from the Cadbury's World place. It has a wonderfully peaceful atmosphere, is family-frinedly, and has great food. It can easily cater for special diets. The grounds are a joy to walk through, and include a small boarting lake, a vegetable garden, lawns, a labyrinth, flower gardens and matrue trees. The centre has a new large lounge with woodburner, as well as several smaller sitting rooms. There si a small games room for children in the basement. I have stayed there both on my own and with my young daughter, who also loved it, for weekend Quaker courses, but you do not have to be a Quaker to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room overlooking the gardens. Those nearest the Bristol Road ( Upper Hall West) ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke. We are so glad that both you and your daughter have had a good time here, and that our facilties were enjoyable for all ages. We are pleased to hear that you managed to use our new Garden Lounge and also explored all that our gardens have to offer.

We hope to see you again soon,

Amanda Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2012

Our second trip to Woodbrooke with our three children (12, 10 and 8) in tow. We love the superb 1830s Woodbrooke mansion and the utterly fantastic meals and snacks in between. The rooms are clean and comfortable. As a family we have twice had Ghandi's room and highly recommend it. There are many friendly sitting rooms and a fun ping-pong and games room in the cellar. The new lounge extension means you can relax, read the papers and take tea throughout the day with a stunning view of the gardens. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and can lay their hands on a staggering number of amenities such as hot water bottles, aspirins and oars for the row boat that all guests are welcome to use on the lake. A guitar and grand piano are available on site for any to play as they choose. Woodbrooke is run by Quakers and the feeling of the place is friendly and calm and whilst there are regular Quaker meetings there is no sense of obligation at all to be part of that. The gardens have a lot of woodland paths, a kitchen garden, bonfire area and so many hidden spots for children to enjoy. As a family with young children we find the eating arrangements extremely stress free. You serve yourself from a range of superb dishes and sit where you please. Our youngest child happens to have autism and we had worried beforehand that he might find a hotel style stay too difficult. The atmosphere is so calm and Woodbrooke so tranquil that all the children behaved well, had a lovely time and were upset to leave. We will certainly be back and have been recommending Woodbrooke to all our family and friends.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank 682JamesB682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your review and your recommendations. We are so pleased that all of your family enjoyed your stay here at Woodbrooke and that our peaceful atmosphere was beneficial to your break. We are glad that you managed to take advantage of all our facilities and found our meals enjoyable and suitable for your family's needs. We were pleased to be able to assist you where possible and are looking forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to Woodbrooke again.

Amanda Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were staying at Woodbrooke for a weekend course and were very impressed by the high standard of meals, of accommodation and by the friendly staff. Because it's a Quaker run place, things are a little different from you average hotel, but none the worse for that unless you have to have alcohol which is not available. But everything else is and we'd really recommend it.

Room Tip: Enjoy the extensive and well kept grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnny123999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Hello Johnny,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendations of Woodbrooke. We are glad to hear you were impressed by our facilities and services and hope to welcome you back to Woodbrooke in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Smart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

This is a beautiful place set in fabulous grounds just a stone’s throw away from Bournville (yes, of chocolate factory fame). You don’t have to be a Quaker to come here – I’m not- and it’s not a place where you’ll feel overwhelmed by religion or religious activity. Yes, there’s a strong emphasis on Quakerism if that’s what you’re looking for and the only slightly ‘odd’ practice I’ve come across is the bell that sounds during lunch and dinner for a moment’s silence. It’s not odd to me as I am familiar with Quakers’ silent worship but it might seem unusual to others; it’s just a few fleeting moments when you stop shovelling the food in and think about how lucky you are to be at Woodbrooke / to be alive / to have good wholesome food to eat … whatever you want. There are daily periods of worship, too, but it’s entirely your choice to seek those out if you want to partake.

There are some people here on courses - there was a school party here for a couple of days - and there are people, like me, who are on holiday, either on their own or with someone else, in order to enjoy some peace and quiet. There are also people who stay here on a long-term basis either volunteers who work here or others who are working or studying in the area. There’s a 24 hour library, several lounges, wi-fi throughout, extensive grounds, a small supplies shop, a spiritual bookshop, pianos you can play, a computer room, quiet rooms, mini kitchen areas and hot drinks machines on the go all day with bowls of fruit available if you’re peckish outside meal times. It’s highly doubtful that you’d feel hungry between meals here as biscuits are laid on mid-morning and cake in the afternoon! All food is organic, home cooked and locally sourced where possible with many of the vegetables grown on site. Food is hot, fresh, plentiful and caters for all tastes - always one meat / fish and one vegetarian option per day but, if you don't like what's on the hot board there's always a salad bar, cheese, crackers, fruit etc. and you can order packed lunches, too.

The atmosphere / ethos here is peaceful and accepting and it’s not unusual for people to be here alone. There’s always someone to talk to at mealtimes if you want to talk and I’ve met some lovely people but there is a lovely air of sensitivity that allows me to be quiet if I want to and / or to sit alone.

Accommodation is clean, warm, comfortable and well supplied - I'd be surprised if you even thought about TV while you were here but you can ask for one if you want to - even with a school party here earlier in the week and a whole bunch of people arriving last night for a conference, it is very quiet. Yes, you hear just enough to reassure you that you're not alone but no disturbances.

A great place for a retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday life but close enough to the city and other attractions to have other holiday fun, too!

Room Tip: just ask for any preferences and they will find you the most suitable room - nothing is too much for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squirrel-Scribbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Hello,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendations of our facilities, location and peaceful atmosphere. We are pleased to hear that we provided the quiet space you wanted on your break, and that you enjoyed our freshly cooked meals. We endeavour to be welcoming to everybody, and we are glad to hear that you found that during your stay.

We do hope to welcome you back to Woodbrooke in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

This is the most peaceful and freindly place to stay. The rooms are simple but clean and I would recommend the ensuite rooms. Theres no additional charge for singles and they have a lot of single travellers there. The grounds are beautiful and the garden room that looks over them is modern and stylish. The food is top restaurant quality and theres constant help your self drinks including a brand new very swish cappacino and hot chocolate maker. If you want peace and quiet and good hospitality in lovely settings this is perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the beautiful garden no extra cost but a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Hello Jane,

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us - especially the new coffee machine! Thank you for recommending our ensuite rooms and found our prices for single travellers to be good value.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Amanda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I booked B&B at Woodbrooke for some peace & quiet to recharge after a period of stress. It exceeded my expectations: good food; beautiful gardens; helpful staff & leaflets; overall - a sense of calm and peace. Not being a quaker was no problem, I had feared it may be. Definitely worth it.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front suffer from early (5.30 am) binmen on Fridays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2012

Dear Kathy,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are so pleased to hear that you found the peace and rejuvenation at Woodbrooke that you were looking for. We endeavour to welcome all guests, regardless of their faith, and we are glad that you experienced this on your visit.

We hope to welcome you back to Woodbrooke in the near future.

Amanda.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Wonderful. Friendly staff. Great food and rooms. Very quiet and comfortable. Recommended to all. Nice work. Lovely gardens. Very beautiful. A real sense of peace. Lovely courses also available in the study centre.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlasdairStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
967 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
3,206 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
1,262 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
419 reviews
Elmdon Lodge
#1 of 54 in Birmingham
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke

Address: 1046 Bristol Road | Woodbrooke, Birmingham B29 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £47 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not take a short break in our peaceful urban retreat? Enjoy the 10 acres of beautiful organically-managed garden, explore the Grade 2 listed building and taste our delicious freshly prepared food. Woodbrooke is located in Selly Oak, only a few minutes by train from Birmingham city centre. Half/Full board also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing