We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can relax at Woodbrooke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Ranked #2 of 52 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can relax at Woodbrooke”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

On our last two trips to Birmingham we have stayed at the Woodbrooke.

Everyone is friendly and helpful, the lounge is very comfortable and quiet, the gardens beautiful and the food really enjoyable. We ate both veggie and meat based meals, they were excellent with the veggie one a really tasty option which is not always the case elsewhere. On our last stay staff kindly allowed us a late checkout and to come back for the evening meal as we were attending the theatre on our last day - as I said very helpful. On this trip we also discovered the benefit of using Selly Oak Station park and ride to visit the town centre.

I would like to see a super fast wi-fi broadband in the bedrooms but I believe they are looking into this. We will look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justpassinggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 20 December 2012
Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our gardens, meals and new lounge, and found the nearby travel links into Birmingham really useful for your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Woodbrooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
20
75
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I have stayed at Woodbrooke several times, in rooms in various parts of the complex. Accommodation is simple but clean and comfortable, and the atmosphere relaxed. Meals are always ample and delicious, and the grounds are glorious - when I visited last, a walk around the woods, lake and walled garden in early morning autumn sunshine was breathtakingly beautiful. Woodbrooke is a study and retreat centre, where the role of volunteers is crucial - it's not a hotel, but in my view, it offers a much more interesting and refreshing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPWSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking time to review your stays at Woodbrooke and for your lovely comments.

We are so pleased to hear that you found your time here more beneficial than staying in another hotel, and that you enjoyed your walks around our grounds and the home cooked meals.

We do hope to welcome you back to Woodbrooke again sometime soon.

Amanda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Woodbrooke is a Quaker study centre and is also an excellent place to stay. It is on direct bus route to the city centre, has lovely grounds and is on the edge of leafy Bournville not far from Cadbury World. It runs a wide variety of short courses some religious some not but all with a spiritual inspiration in keeping with Quaker principles of peace tolerance and openness. The food, eaten communally at long tables, is really good with options for all diets and with tea coffee and snacks available through the day. You can stay just for b and b very reasonably too. Very few televisions but lots of books and a jigsaw always on the go.
A lovely place - I always come away refreshed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alisonclarke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Woodbrooke, and for your recommendations of our facilities. We are really pleased that you found your break here to be a refreshing one, and enjoyed our 10 acres of gardens and grounds and the freshly cooked meals.

We do hope that you might come back again in the future,

Amanda Smart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This was our first visit to Woodbrooke (four friends and I) and I am sure we will return. I agree entirely with all the other reviews. We came from as far apart as the south coast and Scotland by train to Birmingham and it was so easy to take a bus to the door of Woodbrooke. In fact, this review is to mention that we used the buses to see Birmingham city centre therefore had no parking problems. Bourneville Village, around the corner is well worth visiting. The bedrooms were well equipped with good showers, lights, wi fi, etc. and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke. We are pleased to hear that you found the transport links in and around Birmingham easy to use and managed to explore the city and nearby Bournville. We are glad that our facilities suited your needs and that our staff helped to make your stay a pleasant one.

We are looking forward to welcoming you and your friends back to Woodbrooke in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Smart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Woodbrooke is a beautiful Quaker -run conference and holiday centre, originally the home of the Cadbury family, and set in wonderful grounds just by Bournville, about 10 minutes walk from the Cadbury's World place. It has a wonderfully peaceful atmosphere, is family-frinedly, and has great food. It can easily cater for special diets. The grounds are a joy to walk through, and include a small boarting lake, a vegetable garden, lawns, a labyrinth, flower gardens and matrue trees. The centre has a new large lounge with woodburner, as well as several smaller sitting rooms. There si a small games room for children in the basement. I have stayed there both on my own and with my young daughter, who also loved it, for weekend Quaker courses, but you do not have to be a Quaker to stay there.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room overlooking the gardens. Those nearest the Bristol Road ( Upper Hall West) ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke. We are so glad that both you and your daughter have had a good time here, and that our facilties were enjoyable for all ages. We are pleased to hear that you managed to use our new Garden Lounge and also explored all that our gardens have to offer.

We hope to see you again soon,

Amanda Smart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Our second trip to Woodbrooke with our three children (12, 10 and 8) in tow. We love the superb 1830s Woodbrooke mansion and the utterly fantastic meals and snacks in between. The rooms are clean and comfortable. As a family we have twice had Ghandi's room and highly recommend it. There are many friendly sitting rooms and a fun ping-pong and games room in the cellar. The new lounge extension means you can relax, read the papers and take tea throughout the day with a stunning view of the gardens. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and can lay their hands on a staggering number of amenities such as hot water bottles, aspirins and oars for the row boat that all guests are welcome to use on the lake. A guitar and grand piano are available on site for any to play as they choose. Woodbrooke is run by Quakers and the feeling of the place is friendly and calm and whilst there are regular Quaker meetings there is no sense of obligation at all to be part of that. The gardens have a lot of woodland paths, a kitchen garden, bonfire area and so many hidden spots for children to enjoy. As a family with young children we find the eating arrangements extremely stress free. You serve yourself from a range of superb dishes and sit where you please. Our youngest child happens to have autism and we had worried beforehand that he might find a hotel style stay too difficult. The atmosphere is so calm and Woodbrooke so tranquil that all the children behaved well, had a lovely time and were upset to leave. We will certainly be back and have been recommending Woodbrooke to all our family and friends.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your review and your recommendations. We are so pleased that all of your family enjoyed your stay here at Woodbrooke and that our peaceful atmosphere was beneficial to your break. We are glad that you managed to take advantage of all our facilities and found our meals enjoyable and suitable for your family's needs. We were pleased to be able to assist you where possible and are looking forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to Woodbrooke again.

Amanda Smart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We were staying at Woodbrooke for a weekend course and were very impressed by the high standard of meals, of accommodation and by the friendly staff. Because it's a Quaker run place, things are a little different from you average hotel, but none the worse for that unless you have to have alcohol which is not available. But everything else is and we'd really recommend it.

Room Tip: Enjoy the extensive and well kept grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny123999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Hello Johnny,

Thank you for your review and for your recommendations of Woodbrooke. We are glad to hear you were impressed by our facilities and services and hope to welcome you back to Woodbrooke in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amanda Smart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
912 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
The Beeches
#84 of 117 in Birmingham
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#8 of 117 in Birmingham
2,930 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 117 in Birmingham
371 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke

Property: Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Address: 1046 Bristol Road | Woodbrooke, Birmingham B29 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not take a short break in our peaceful urban retreat? Enjoy the 10 acres of beautiful organically-managed garden, explore the Grade 2 listed building and taste our delicious freshly prepared food. Woodbrooke is located in Selly Oak, only a few minutes by train from Birmingham city centre. Half/Full board also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing