We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An oasis of peace in Birmingham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Ranked #2 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An oasis of peace in Birmingham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed overnight on Monday 27th June and also had the evening meal. Excellent surroundings - large garden with a pond with ducks and even a grass maze. I know it has won a number of awards and deservedly so. Welcoming staff and good quality accommodation. The food is good value for money, locally sourced and offering a wide variety. Ensuite accommodation. The large sitting room/conservatory extension overlooks the garden and is great to sit in. Also an interesting library and bookshop. Overall excellent value for money - I would never stay anywhere else in Birmingham!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlastairTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review - we are so pleased to hear that we are your first choice accommodation in Birmingham and that you find our B&B facilities to be excellent value for money. We are glad that you enjoyed spending time relaxing in our new Garden Lounge and that our staff and meals helped you to have a pleasant stay at Woodbrooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    29
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
18
74
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island & Rempstone
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Fine facilities and food in a quiet setting. Most agreeable and helpful staff. Parking is not a problem and getting there is simple by public transportation (bus and train) or road. Meeting rooms a plentiful and spacious. It was a joy to visit the grounds and listen to nature. May last visit and meal at Woodbrooke was in 1979. The changes have been outstanding.

Room Tip: Every room seems to be a joy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnjoyUSAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke. We are really pleased that you were impressed with the improvements which have been made to the building and facilities here since your last visit, and enjoyed the meals, meeting rooms and exploring the grounds. We are glad that our staff were helpful during your visit and that you had an easy journey to get here. We do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

I spent three nights at Woodbrooke with the intention of getting right away from it all - and found the facilities were perfect for this purpose, particularly the gardens, library, garden lounge and quiet areas. I was staying in a single study room in the new wing which was rather functional but perfectly comfortable with access to good bathroom facilities. However, I would definitely recommend trying to stay in the older section of the building if other bookings allow. I chose the full board option in order not to have to worry about meals, and found the food and dining facilities excellent, especially in the willingness of staff to cater for special diets, for instance vegan and gluten-free options were constantly available plus as much tea or coffee as guests want. The gardens are a delight and well worth exploring at length. The library is fascinating, particularly if you have any interest in Quaker history and thought. Woodbrooke can be very quiet at some times and rather busier at others, depending on what other events are in progress but even with a conference in full swing it didn't seem too crowded and the other guests were generally very friendy and approachable. The estate is a 20-minute walk or a short bus ride from Selly Oak station. It's a great place to go if you're looking for a quiet getaway and the Quaker approach is to warmly welcome people of all faiths and none, so this aspect should not be off-putting. I'm hoping to return and possibly to do a course in the future, as the range of study and development opportunities on offer is really impressive.

Room Tip: Try to go for the older part of the building if the option is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJHutchins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay here at Woodbrooke, and for your room recommendations. We are really pleased that all our facilities contributed to a pleasant and peaceful break away for you, and that you enjoyed in particular the freshly-cooked meals, gardens and Quaker library. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to take part in one of our courses in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

The place is as good as we remember, and seemingly better yet. Stayed with in-laws in their middle seventies, who got their own room in Holland House with a view over lawns sweeping down to the lake. Our three children were delighted to be back and eager to show their grandparents all the wonderful places to see in this elegant building and grounds. Food superb as ever and the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We enjoyed rowing on the lake and playing endless ping-pong, hide and seek etc. The atmosphere is wonderful and if you are looking for a happy, peaceful family break at astonishingly reasonable rates Woodbrooke can't be beaten.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for your second review of Woodbrooke. We are so pleased that all three generations of your family enjoyed their stay here, and that our gardens and grounds provided good facilities to keep all entertained. We are really glad that you enjoyed the food and that our staff, atmosphere and prices helped you to have an excellent family break in Birmingham. We hope to welcome you back once more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

If you enjoy your 'dawn chorus' of people spilling out of bars at 3am drunk and noisy, then stay in the centre of Birmingham, BUT if you prefer being woken by birdsong, and having access to a beautiful garden, then Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre is well worth a visit. The food is very good quality, and there are convenient bus or train services into central Birmingham. This is excellent value for money

Room Tip: I phoned to request my preference and this was happily arranged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are really pleased that our peaceful environment provided a refreshing experience to your stay in Birmingham. We are glad that you enjoyed the freshly cooked meals and that you found our accommodation to be excellent value for money. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Woodbrooke on your next visit to Birmingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Lovely setting for our managers retreat conference. With beautiful grounds within easy reach of the city centre. Food was plentiful and tasty and the rooms were clean, tidy and proved all I needed. All the staff were friendly, helpful and willing to go out of their way to meet your needs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassman_yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to review your conference at Woodbrooke. We are so pleased that we provided an excellent venue for your event and that you enjoyed our grounds and food. We do hope that our Conferencing team will be able to assist you with your next meeting or retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

A second private visit to the very pleasant, well-appointed and welcoming Woodbrooke centre. Easy to reach by public transport, and well situated for exploring Bourneville Village, the University's Selly Oak campus and city art galleries.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 509Mair_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and found us to be in a convenient and easily accessible location. We do hope to see you again during your next visit to Birmingham and Bournville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,319 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#7 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,819 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#5 of 118 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke

Property: Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Address: 1046 Bristol Road | Woodbrooke, Birmingham B29 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not take a short break in our peaceful urban retreat? Enjoy the 10 acres of beautiful organically-managed garden, explore the Grade 2 listed building and taste our delicious home cooked food. Woodbrooke is located in Selly Oak, only a few minutes by train from Birmingham city centre. Half/Full board also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing