We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Ranked #2 of 53 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Woodbrooke is set in beautiful grounds & sources much of their food from on-site.Very veggie friendly & an ethically sound way of staying in Selly Oak,a short-ish bus ride to Birmingham city centre &,if you must,adequate parking for motorists.Disabled facilities second to none.The atmosphere here is one of calm & tranquility.I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngerhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and found us to be peaceful, but accessible via public transport. We are glad that you managed to explore our 10 acres of organically managed gardens and found our catering to be suitable to a number of different diets. We do hope you will come back again on your next visit to Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

It's difficult to describe Woodbrooke without launching into a list of superlatives. But I'll try. Following a recommendation from my sister, my wife and I selected Woodbrooke as our "Base-of-Operations" for a three week stay in the U.K. Its position is such that it is ideal for the overseas visitor. Firstly, Birmingham's central location makes travel throughout the country by rail and road easy indeed, and the centre of the city is readily accessible from Woodbrooke by bus, train, or even on foot (a pleasant walk along the nearby Birmingham-Worcester canal towpath) . All this and still the place is surrounded by extensive gardens, and a lake, which must render Woodbrooke quite unique. As for the accommodation itself: it's impeccably clean and most comfortable. The food is quite above reproach.The general atmosphere is calm and meditative- as one would expect from an establishment run by the Society of Friends. While Woodbrooke is primarily a Study and Retreat Centre for the Quakers this should not inhibit anyone from staying there ( I was pleased to attend several epilogues- the short evening meditation- and found the experience fascinating, but there is no obligation whatever to do so).

On any future trips to the U.K. we will certainly seek to stay at Woodbrooke.

Room Tip: We were allocated a room in "Holland House" with a five view across the lawns towards the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are so pleased that we provided an ideal location for your visit to explore the UK and that you enjoyed our grounds and food during your stay. We are glad that our accommodation met your standards and provided a comfortable base during your three-week trip. We are glad that you were able to take part in our evening epilogue - and enjoyed the experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I attended a weekend course at Woodbrooke and had a wonderful time. The garden and grounds are beautiful and on the Sunday I was there they were open to the public in the NGS. This did not detract from my stay, I enjoyed listening to the jazz band and childrens' hospice choir on the terrace, and meeting some keen gardeners enjoying tea and cake in the garden room. Despite a high number of visitors to the garden, the staff were still able to look after the guests staying overnight on the Sunday.

Room Tip: If you are a poor sleeper ask for a quiet room when you make your booking. Rooms overlooking the ga...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Woodbrooke, photos and room recommendations. We are really pleased that you had a great time here on your course, and that you also had the chance to enjoy our Open Garden Day. There was a lovely atmosphere here during the afternoon, and we are glad you managed to be a part of the annual event. We do hope that you might come back to Woodbrooke again soon, either on one of our wide range of short courses or as a B&B guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

A 110 year old Quaker centre that welcomes guests for B&B - and all meals. A cross between a busy retreat centre and a clean unpretentious hotel. Lake with a rowing boat you can borrow, a labyrinth you can walk, a walled garden packed with flowers, herbs and vegetables. You will be invited to morning half hour Quaker worship and evening 'epilogue' - entirely voluntary.
Buffet meals with excellent food, much of it locally-sourced. Special diets accommodated.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing onto Bristol Road (unless you choose room 12, where Gandhi slept. You may be...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke and for your room recommendations. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and managed to explore the gardens and lake during your stay. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our freshly cooked meals, and hope that you will be back to taste them once again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

A wonderful place to stay . A calm well run centre where staff are very helpful and friendly . The grounds are naturalsitic and a real haven - with places to discover and retreat to. The food is of a very high standard - catering for veggies and carnivores. New garden room which must be experienced - ideal for relaxing and chilling out. Good centre for exploring many places of interest with frequent buses and city centre is easily reached. Stay as often as I can!

Room Tip: suggest a room with a view overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Woodbrooke. We are really pleased that you enjoy your visits here and that our staff, gardens, food and calm atmosphere make a real difference to your experience. Thank you too for recommending our Garden Lounge as an excellent place to relax during your stay, we are glad that it has been a useful and well-appreciated addition to our facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

I had three nights full board when the weather was awful. But at Woodbrooke there is plenty of interest with a library, nice lounges with a free cappuccino machine and beautiful grounds for when the rain stopped. The food is excellent! For a stay in the suburbs of a major city this is both a uniquely peaceful environment and excellent value!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Director of Sales at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for your review of Woodbrooke. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and in particular you found our food excellent. We are also very happy that you found Woodbrooke to be such a peaceful environment, which our customers (and our staff and volunteers!) do feed back to us and give as one of the main reasons for coming here. We do hope that the weather doesn't put you off from coming back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed overnight on Monday 27th June and also had the evening meal. Excellent surroundings - large garden with a pond with ducks and even a grass maze. I know it has won a number of awards and deservedly so. Welcoming staff and good quality accommodation. The food is good value for money, locally sourced and offering a wide variety. Ensuite accommodation. The large sitting room/conservatory extension overlooks the garden and is great to sit in. Also an interesting library and bookshop. Overall excellent value for money - I would never stay anywhere else in Birmingham!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlastairTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for your review - we are so pleased to hear that we are your first choice accommodation in Birmingham and that you find our B&B facilities to be excellent value for money. We are glad that you enjoyed spending time relaxing in our new Garden Lounge and that our staff and meals helped you to have a pleasant stay at Woodbrooke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
941 reviews
The Beeches
#85 of 118 in Birmingham
180 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
3,921 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
407 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke

Address: 1046 Bristol Road | Woodbrooke, Birmingham B29 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £46 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not take a short break in our peaceful urban retreat? Enjoy the 10 acres of beautiful organically-managed garden, explore the Grade 2 listed building and taste our delicious freshly prepared food. Woodbrooke is located in Selly Oak, only a few minutes by train from Birmingham city centre. Half/Full board also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing