We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$174
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$84
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$107
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$181
US$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$118
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$44
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
171
33
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
33
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstudy centreb bgarden roomselly oakpeaceful place to staygeorge cadburywonderful libraryrefectory stylepeace and quietfrequent busesthe main housebirmingham city centrerooms are comfortablebus stoptea coffee making facilitiesself servicehot drinks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I'm a Quaker so have been to Woodbrooke 4 times before. However, I was very impressed with the recent upgrading of part of the communal facilities as well as the quality of the room with the ensuite where I shared this time. if you are in Birmingham try the B and B option. Bus into the city is a great service.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel M, Public Relations Manager at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you, Ian, for taking the time to review Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are delighted that you were impressed with the improved facilities here such as the Garden Lounge with its garden views, cappuccino machine and the woodburning stove (although you may not have enjoyed the stove with our rather warm weather recently!). Thank you also for sharing the tip about the buses for future guests - we have a bus stop from the city centre directly outside our entrance. We hope to see you back here for another stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Woodbrooke is one of those places where you don't want to leave and for which you immediately start working out when you can go again. The food is lovely with a great choice, and ethically sourced. The breakfasts put many more expensive hotels to shame. There are plenty of hot and cold drinks 'on tap' including decent filter coffee. And I must mention the great drinks machine in the conservatory, which among many things produces very good hot chocolate. It wasn't just my children who kept going back for more.

The gardens are just so relaxing, and although the lake is not huge, a gentle row round it is a treat. It is very easy to forget that you are just a short train or bus ride from the centre of Birmingham. Bournville (the home of Cadbury's) is a pleasant walk away with much of historical interest. I can't say Cadbury's World appealed greatly, way too commercial.

The staff are friendly and helpful, with 'friends in residence' always around to assist and guide at weekends. Being a study centre there is a fascinating, peaceful library if you like libraries, (I do).

The rooms are simple, comfortable and clean, and everything you need.

Room Tip: In hot weather you want to avoid the top floor (in the roof of the main house), it get's a bit too warm. Hot weather in Birmingham isn't a very common problem!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Thank you for this lovely review of Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are already planning your next visit. We are glad that our freshly cooked meals, 10 acres of organically managed gardens, staff, volunteers and our Quaker library all contributed to an excellent break for you and your family, and that you were able to explore the nearly Bournville. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Woodbrooke soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Woodbrooke offers hospitality at its best, especially if you're looking for "green" and socially conscious options..The rooms are comfortable (though not luxurious), and the meals are superb -- full English breakfast (buffet), locally sourced meat as well as vegetables, FairTrade coffee and teas, everything labelled for food allergies and vegetarian/vegan. Seating is family-style so you meet interesting people. The staff are gracious and helpful, as one would expect from a Quaker-based organization. The new garden lounge off the dining room, with comfortable seating in conversational groups, was popular especially during morning coffee and afternoon tea. Coming from overseas, I like the fact that the rooms have a lot of the extras like skirt hangers, a small rack for drying hand laundry (with a bigger one down the hall), shampoo as well as soap dispensers in the showers, and a hair-dryer. The local bus from center city Birmingham (including bus and coach stations, with connections to the airport) stops right outside the door and runs often. The only minor drawback was that I ate too much and gained a couple of pounds during my stay.

Room Tip: "Standard" rooms have sinks in the room and full bath (singles, not shared) across the hall or very close by. Windows open onto gardens for plenty of fresh air.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugbym0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Woodbrooke, and for your room recommendations. We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and excellent hospitality, so we are really pleased that you experienced this during your visit. We are glad that you liked our freshly cooked meals, and appreciated our efforts to buy our food from sustainable sources and ensure that all diets are catered for. We are also pleased that our facilities helped to make your stay from overseas a little more comfortable. We do hope to see you again on your next visit to Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Woodbrooke is extraordinary. The accommodation is fine, the food is tasty and plentiful, the staff are helpful and kind. But the most wonderful thing is the ten acres of garden - woodland, grassland and flower and vegetable. There is a small lake on which one can go boating. The garden lounge made me feel like I was actually in the garden, but I could read my book out of the wind. I could not fault it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildfrog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review of Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed exploring our ten acres of organically managed gardens, woodland and boating lake during your stay here, as well as the freshly cooked meals we have on offer. We are really glad that our new Garden Lounge offered you some shelter from the wind, but didn't stop you from enjoying the view of the garden. We hope to welcome you back to Woodbrooke soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Woodbrooke is set in beautiful grounds & sources much of their food from on-site.Very veggie friendly & an ethically sound way of staying in Selly Oak,a short-ish bus ride to Birmingham city centre &,if you must,adequate parking for motorists.Disabled facilities second to none.The atmosphere here is one of calm & tranquility.I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Youngerhippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaSmart, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Woodbrooke Quaker Study Centre. We are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and found us to be peaceful, but accessible via public transport. We are glad that you managed to explore our 10 acres of organically managed gardens and found our catering to be suitable to a number of different diets. We do hope you will come back again on your next visit to Birmingham.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews