We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke
Ranked #2 of 54 Birmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Woodbrooke is a fabulous place to stay. The rooms are basic but have everything you need and are spacious with comfortable beds. Each guest has a key card to enter rooms with. There are many little touches which make this a wonderful place to stay, from a wide selection of teas, coffees, etc freely available 24/7, to a warm welcome when you arrive, to the loan of an alarm clock if you should need one. Hot waterbottles can also be filled. Don't come here looking for a noisy exuberant hostel it is a place of calm and peace where everyone is respected. The food is wonderful too although meal times are fixed to fairly limited times. Hidden away in the basement there is also a pool table and a ping pong table.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duffield_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodbrookeClaire, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Hi Sue
I’m glad you enjoyed your recent stay at Woodbrooke and that you found your room comfortable and spacious. Many thanks for your review, which also gives me an opportunity to say that we are currently carrying out a refurbishment programme in some of our bedrooms this year. I will pass your feedback on mealtimes to colleagues, as responding to the needs of our visitors is an important consideration for us. We hope to welcome you back sometime in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

Woodbrooke offered me, a PhD student from Canada, a peaceful place to rest and study. My room my basic but very clean and provided me with everything I needed, including a desk as study space, tea, coffee and a kettle, and good wi-fi. The meals were delicious and of good value, the staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds are lush and green and a nice escape from the city.
Highly recommended, good value for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodbrookeClaire, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Hi Shannon
Many thanks for your review, and for giving other people a useful description of what they will find at Woodbrooke. I’m particularly pleased that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our grounds and food. I’m also glad you think we offer value for money. This week we started a project to refurbish and redecorate some of our bedrooms, and we will be rolling the refurbishment programme out to more of Woodbrooke over the next year or two. So I hope that if we welcome you back here again sometime, you will notice the upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This is just the place to stay overnight after a tiring journey and before a challenging ahead. A spacious room with generous cupboard space, worktable, tea/coffee/chocolate facilities - and a delightful little bookshop where I bought an inspiring book of poems.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KieranD8441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodbrookeClaire, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Hi Kieran
Thank you very much for your review – we really appreciate the time you have taken to say why you found your stay at Woodbrooke met your needs and we hope that we can continue to provide you with similar experiences in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed at Woodbrooke over the weekend of January 24th and it was as good as I remembered it - maybe even better thanks to the addition of the garden lounge. The staff were wonderful, the food great, and all that alongside a superb library and those enjoyable gardens. Definitely a great place to stay when visiting Birmingham.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pipspatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodbrookeClaire, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Hello
I’m so glad you came back to Woodbrooke in January and that you enjoyed our garden lounge for the first time. Thanks very much for your comments, which I will pass on to the volunteers and staff here. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Head and shoulders above other B&Bs. Spotless rooms, beautiful gardens, delicious food, the best staff ever. I've stayed here a number of times, and I always run into interesting people to chat with at meals. Consistent excellence throughout. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaretBenefiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodbrookeClaire, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Hi Margaret
Thank you so much for your recent review, and in particular your comments about the people – both about our staff and your fellow guests. I’m glad you found good company here, and that you enjoy so many other aspects of Woodbrooke as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed for four days and as ever cannot praise it too highly. It is a beautiful, early Victorian mansion set in ten acres of stunning gardens with a small lake that guests are welcome to row a boat on. The staff are unfailingly courteous and helpful and the rooms are warm and spotlessly clean. When you stay at Woodbrooke you are free to use two excellent guest lounges, including a stunning garden lounge with a roaring wood fire. Included with your bed and breakfast are complimentary, excellent, teas, hot chocolates, mid-morning and mid-afternoon freshly baked biscuits and cake and fruit you can help yourself to anytime. For children, as well as the attraction of the grounds and frequent trips for hot chocolates etc. there are also traditional games in the basement such as pool and table tennis and Cadbury World and the pretty village of Bourneville are 10 minutes walk away. Guests are welcome to use the excellent library and borrow books during their stay. Woodbrooke is run by the Quakers. This is in no way foisted upon guests. There is no drinking at Woodbrooke, but there is also a wonderful atmosphere of peace and friendliness. The food is superb and is served buffet style. The breakfasts are hearty and very good value. If you opt in for lunch or dinner you will be delighted as the food is fresh, often sourced from Woodbrooke's own kitchen garden and very tasty. If you were in Birmingham to work, study or enjoy a holiday with your family you could really do no better. For the same price as sitting on your bed in an anonymous travel lodge of some sort you can be watching the kingfishers skim over the lake from the garden lounge in front of the roaring fire sipping your coffee. All this ten minutes from New Street station.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank 682JamesB682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodbrookeClaire, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hi James
I was really pleased to read how much you enjoy your stays at Woodbrooke and that you feel it is somewhere a family can be comfortable. Thanks very much for taking the time to review us and we’ll look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Darrell and Christopher are such willing good hosts
Although it was not cold they kept a lovely fire banked up in the lounge just because ' diddums was cold"
The accommodation and food was as ever, excellent. This is the one place I would come alone. Company if you want it, peace and quiet if you don't

Friends in residence wonderful and cheerful- this is a Quaker establishment!

Room Tip: 73 has a great view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetwhitechapel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodbrookeClaire, Marketing Officer at Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Hi Janet
Thanks very much for your review. I’m so glad you feel people can come here alone and still feel at home. I’ll circulate your review to the staff. I’m sure those concerned were only too glad to make things cosy during your stay! Come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
953 reviews
Edgbaston
University of Birmingham Conferences & events
The Beeches
#89 of 118 in Birmingham
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 118 in Birmingham
4,022 reviews
Westmead Hotel
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
658 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke

Address: 1046 Bristol Road | Woodbrooke, Birmingham B29 6LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Birmingham
Price Range: £49 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not take a short break in our peaceful urban retreat? Enjoy the 10 acres of beautiful organically-managed garden, explore the Grade 2 listed building and taste our delicious freshly prepared food. Woodbrooke is located in Selly Oak, only a few minutes by train from Birmingham city centre. Half/Full board also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Woodbrooke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing