We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay, cheap, spotlessly clean, cheerful staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here on the 27th Dec for one night, all staff were extremely helpfully & friendly.

Room was spotlessly clean, bar area & reception also very nice.

Security is well addressed with needing your room card to use the lifts.

Breakfast was really good.

Exceptional value, excellent stay.

We will return!

Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adele1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great value for the price and walking distance from the city centre. Perfect if you´re coming for visiting, doing some shopping or going to the National Indoor Arena (NIA). Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Delphine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Myself and three others lads were off to see Jay Z live at the NIA and as we had booked a couple of days off work the plan was to make a night of it and get a hotel. After searching around and weighing up the price and location of each hotel this one came out on top.

As far as location goes you really cannot get much better, we were literally minutes away from the NIA and there was a Weatherspoons pub just up the main road from the hotel. As we came via train i cannot comment on the parking facilities but there was a taxi service nearby which was convenient.

As far as the facilities go we were not expecting much and what we received was good. We did notice a strange smell in our room and throughout the hallways and there was a large construction project going on behind the hotel which was very noisy.

We arrived at 3:30pm to check in and were told by the desk receptionist to make our way to our room. However, when we got there the cleaner told us it was not ready and asked us to wait until she had finished. This made for a rather embarrassing ordeal as me and my friend stood outside in the corridor whilst other guests walked past.

The room itself was a generous size and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was aesthetically pleasing and had a great shower. The tv was fully functioning too and everything was included as stated. The only complaints were the unpleasant smell that was mentioned previously and the noise outside.

Checking in and out was hassle free and I must compliment the staff working at this hotel.

To summarise: excellent location, a good size room with good facilities. Unfortunately, the unpleasant smell that ran throughout the building, the loud noise from outside and the slow service by the cleaners means I can only give this hotel 3 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback NathanRE1. We are truly sorry that you found your room had an unpleasant smell; we do expect our housekeeping staff to notice any smells which may affect a guest’s stay and ensure it has been aired thoroughly. We do hope that our guests have a peaceful nights sleep so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by external noise, we do provide double glazing and insulated walls in an attempt to reduce the noise outside. Our check in time is from 3pm therefore we expect that all of our rooms are ready in time for our guest’s arrival so we’d like to apologise for the delay you experienced. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they are able to address the issues you have raised with our housekeeping team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very convenient location for city centre, hotel very clean, rooms pleasant and spacious. Staff friendly. Did not use bar/cafe on this stay but have done in the past and was very impressed. Overall value for money is unbeatable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very poor, run down, smelly, not at all pleased with it. The staff were fine, but the room was rather in need of help, good nights sleep however. Could not recommend this hotel, or its situation in the city, and parking was difficult.

Room Tip: Leave it, all rooms seem to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

We are very sorry to learn of your disappointing stay at our Birmingham Central Newhall Street Hotel Dennis G. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can investigate your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here due to its location, not far from the bullring and music venue we wanted to visit. Wasn't expecting too much from a Travelodge but room was big and extremely clean. Loved the full length mirror, modern décor, working tv, fresh towels, tea and coffee facilities. The bar was a little expensive but I guess that's to be expected. Check in staff were very friendly and also willing to help when I was struggling with my key card. Couldn't fault it. Will be staying here again in a few months for another concert!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pandabears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The blurb says the beds are new and comfortable. They are but the reside in a tired room that is bereft of ambience. If its an overnight stay you'll be fine. The restaurant lacks character and the menu is quite bland and not cheap. Parking is not available but you can park in the NCP car parks close by at a ridiculous cost. Travelodge need to make this a more attractive place to stay. I moved out and stayed at the Isis - not much better. See my next review.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinrbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for your review colinrbush. Our Birmingham Newhall Street hotel has recently received a makeover so we are sorry to learn of your disappointment on this occasion. We feel we provide all that’s needed for a comfortable night’s sleep, which will include a clean room and comfortable bed with tea and coffee making facilities and a television. We also hope that our customers will find our bar café to be convenient and the food to be good value. Our hotel management team will be made aware of the feedback that you have left which will help support any improvements that need to be made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#49 of 118 in Birmingham
751 reviews
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#31 of 118 in Birmingham
1,001 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#73 of 118 in Birmingham
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street

Address: Travelodge 80 Charlotte Street | off Newhall Street, Birmingham B3 1PW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £39 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing