We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cobham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Used Travelodge mainly for overnight stay. I was very happy with the room. The size was appropriate, the bed was comfortable, the room was warm. There was no noise and I had a good night sleep. There was a TV, kettle and provisions to make a cup of tea or coffee. There were enough hangers to hang my clothes and I give the room 100%. The bathroom is losing one circle in my review as the toilet was not 100% clean. It is a shame as the rest of the bathroom was spotless. The service was good and courteous, the breakfast was excellent. The location of the Travelodge was excellent for the City centre. My stay was overall very pleasant and I would stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend to other people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Alena N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    146
    67
    44
    28
See reviews for
67
133
27
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Just off Newhall Street in the city centre, this is a well located Travelodge if you are looking for a budget hotel room in a central location.

Rooms are standard Travelodge, well maintained, farily basic.

Staff are friendly and the bar and restaurant area is pleasant, if somewhat spartan - what else would you expect?

Overall, you should not be disappointed with a stay at this hotel and TravelBaggies will be using it again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbaggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed here with some friends for 1 night and found it very good value. Our rooms were on the back so very quiet. Rooms aren't huge but are clean and well presented. Cafe and bar facilities available if you want them. Easy access to centre of Birmingham and the NIA.

Room Tip: Rooms 113 and 115 are at the back on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowberrywilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here on the 27th Dec for one night, all staff were extremely helpfully & friendly.

Room was spotlessly clean, bar area & reception also very nice.

Security is well addressed with needing your room card to use the lifts.

Breakfast was really good.

Exceptional value, excellent stay.

We will return!

Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adele1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Great value for the price and walking distance from the city centre. Perfect if you´re coming for visiting, doing some shopping or going to the National Indoor Arena (NIA). Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Delphine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Myself and three others lads were off to see Jay Z live at the NIA and as we had booked a couple of days off work the plan was to make a night of it and get a hotel. After searching around and weighing up the price and location of each hotel this one came out on top.

As far as location goes you really cannot get much better, we were literally minutes away from the NIA and there was a Weatherspoons pub just up the main road from the hotel. As we came via train i cannot comment on the parking facilities but there was a taxi service nearby which was convenient.

As far as the facilities go we were not expecting much and what we received was good. We did notice a strange smell in our room and throughout the hallways and there was a large construction project going on behind the hotel which was very noisy.

We arrived at 3:30pm to check in and were told by the desk receptionist to make our way to our room. However, when we got there the cleaner told us it was not ready and asked us to wait until she had finished. This made for a rather embarrassing ordeal as me and my friend stood outside in the corridor whilst other guests walked past.

The room itself was a generous size and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was aesthetically pleasing and had a great shower. The tv was fully functioning too and everything was included as stated. The only complaints were the unpleasant smell that was mentioned previously and the noise outside.

Checking in and out was hassle free and I must compliment the staff working at this hotel.

To summarise: excellent location, a good size room with good facilities. Unfortunately, the unpleasant smell that ran throughout the building, the loud noise from outside and the slow service by the cleaners means I can only give this hotel 3 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback NathanRE1. We are truly sorry that you found your room had an unpleasant smell; we do expect our housekeeping staff to notice any smells which may affect a guest’s stay and ensure it has been aired thoroughly. We do hope that our guests have a peaceful nights sleep so it is regrettable to learn you were disturbed by external noise, we do provide double glazing and insulated walls in an attempt to reduce the noise outside. Our check in time is from 3pm therefore we expect that all of our rooms are ready in time for our guest’s arrival so we’d like to apologise for the delay you experienced. We will be sure to pass on your comments to the hotel management team so that they are able to address the issues you have raised with our housekeeping team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Very convenient location for city centre, hotel very clean, rooms pleasant and spacious. Staff friendly. Did not use bar/cafe on this stay but have done in the past and was very impressed. Overall value for money is unbeatable!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#49 of 117 in Birmingham
679 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 117 in Birmingham
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Saint Pauls House
#68 of 117 in Birmingham
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Address: Travelodge 80 Charlotte Street | off Newhall Street, Birmingham B3 1PW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing