We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Family stay”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My niece was graduating from Birmingham Uni all the family came to Newhall street for the evening, there was only one member of staff working he was running the restaurant (cooking & serving the food)the bar & reception,myself & my family in total 12 of us just watched in amazement as this young man kept the whole show running like clock work,not a dirty glass or plate was left on a table no ringing phone went unanswered & he even had the manners to stop & check that all customers were happy,I'd be most disappointed if the management did not give this young man a big pat on the back he is an asset to your company,
Date of stay Sunday 9th march
James watt
Related to the Johnson family

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmwatt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    146
    68
    44
    28
See reviews for
67
133
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Second time we have stayed at this Travelodge. It's conveniently located for NIA, Symphony and TownHalls (about 10 mins walk). The area is quiet. Room was clean and unlike other hotels we have stayed in central Birmingham internall sound-proofing was also good. Reduced rate on 24 hour parking at the NCC site around the corner is also a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newnhamites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Solid option for budget accommodation in Birmingham. Rooms always clean and well prepared and has mostly been quiet being slightly away from centre. Staff friendly if sometimes hard to find and helpful if you need anything. Not dined in as there are good pubs within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

On arrival, we were given a double room rather than the twin we had booked.
Returned to reception and were advised it was the right room and that there's a pull out base under the double bed. I stated this wasn't even 'made up', nor was it acceptable for a weeks stay.
They gave us a new twin room.
The new room looked very basic, quite disappointing on first inspection.
We pulled the beds apart, to reveal they were each thinner than standard single beds (couldnt roll over) and housekeeping had never hoovered under the beds. ever! (toenails included).

Night time noise was always there, whether it be the traffic, or random girls saying goodbye to guys in the corridor at 2am.

The view was a dirty old run down office block.
The TV was tiny.
The room had random dirt & stains in various places.

We ventured to breakfast on the last day, it was average. Not buffet as expectred, but order as often as you like.
The waiter/ chef (Daniel) was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowSnapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

stayed here saturday 22 feb as was going to a gig at the o2 academy. was easy to find, parked our car in the big NCP car park at the end of the street, lovely welcome, recently refurbished by the looks of it, has a bar/restaurant that looked nice and not expensive, was very quiet overnight. would stay again. also get a car park discount code from reception as the car park would have cost us £20.50p for 24 hours - but with the discount code we only paid £3!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We paid £30 for a night here, plus little more for breakfast.
- The staff were very friendly, very helpful and easy going
- The place was very clean
- Our room, for a one night stopover was excellent - the kids had decent beds, as did we, it was clean, uncluttered, and we had everything we needed
- Breakfast was great value
- There is free wifi in the bar
-We parked in the NCP nearby, and the hotel gives you a ticket to get a huge discount
- Well placed for the NIA.

Couldn't have asked for more for just over £40, frankly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The England Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowmanville, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed here on two separate occasions, both for business related trips. The only reason I stayed at this hotel was purely location; it is 3 blocks from my head office. I considered staying at the 'Bloc Hotel' which is also very close, however thank you trip advisor for allowing me to discover it is a micro hotel with tiny rooms! Not ideal for a 16 day stay.

To summarize, this Travelodge is fine. There is nothing exceptional about it, and also nothing terribly wrong either. I will point out there is no air conditioning, which is not the end of the world, especially in England, however the windows only open no more than 6 inches and therefore the room could never have a nice breeze and would be very hot while I visited in June/July. Also, there are no irons or hair dryers in the room and the wifi is, in my opinion, expensive:

- 1 hour unlimited access for £5
- 24 hour unlimited access for £10
- 1 week unlimited access for £20
- 1 month unlimited access for £30
- Unlimited FREE access in Bar Cafe areas where available

Although I was hopeful the wifi would be available at no charge in the lobby/restaurant, I was unable to connect.

The restaurant food is relatively poor/mediocre hotel food. It is fine, however I would recommend walking literally 20 steps out the front door to the right and getting some nice pub food from the Queens Arms Pub on the corner. Fantastic BLT and fries :) The Travelodge restaurant does however offer a few nice draughts, ciders, bottles of wine, etc and a few nice spots to sit and relax within the restaurant.

This hotel is clean. I only experienced very clean rooms which were cleaned daily. Nice TV's in each room with cable, as well as a small wall desk with chair and a coffee maker.

I will stay here again, however if another hotel happened to appear in the same area, I would give them a try instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cali02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#49 of 117 in Birmingham
679 reviews
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#29 of 117 in Birmingham
948 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#31 of 117 in Birmingham
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Ladywood
Hampton by Hilton Birmingham City North
Saint Pauls House
#69 of 117 in Birmingham
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street

Property: Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Address: Travelodge 80 Charlotte Street | off Newhall Street, Birmingham B3 1PW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing