We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value tight squeeze family room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
Ranked #55 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently redecorated Family room. Two single beds tight next to each other in one corner with just about enough room to get out of double bed on this side so felt a bit squished in. Double bed very comfortable shame the single beds didn't match the quality. If they had I would have rated 4 stars. Could hear quite bit of noise from other residents. Both next door and from corridor not sure they have invested the best quality of sound proofing! However rooms clean and all Staff very helpful. Had eve meal which was good breakfast wasn't up to the same standard. Unable to buy just continental and as I'm vegetarian it's not worth the £7.65 price. Apparently breakfast menu changing soon so hoping this will be addressed.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 489 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Rooms are standard Travelodge ones so you know what you are getting - TV, tea and coffee and a reasonably comfortable bed. Also well located for the city centre.

However, I don't remember ever staying in a hotel room which was quite so hot - unbearably so. It wasn't particularly hot outside, so I don't really understand why this was the case. opening the window would help, but unfortunately the safety mechanism doesn't allow them to open more than a few centimetres, presumably to stop people driven mad by the heat from jumping out.

A fan was kindly provided, but this didn't really do much more than circulate the warm air around a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank brucemoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for one night while visiting a nearby venue (for anybody going to the Asylum, as we were, this hotel is perfect and less than a 10 minute walk away). Check in was friendly and efficient. Everywhere was spotless. Our room was a good size. We grabbed a quick meal in the restaurant, the menu was varied inexpensive and also offered meal deals. On our return around midnight the bar was still open and we had a few drinks without feeling we were keeping staff up! We didn't have breakfast but the "all you can eat" deal looked very good value for money. The only downside to this hotel is the lack of air-con. A fan had been thoughtfully provided in our room, but made little difference. However this is a really well run, well placed hotel offering fantastic service and fantastic rates. NCP parking is 5 minutes away and on checkout you are given a ticket which takes your parking charge for 24 hours down from £22 to £5.50. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed one night, staff very helpful and friendly, had full english breakfast not the tastiest meal. So many places to eat I would not eat there again. On the other hand we had a pizza late Friday night and it was very good. Wonderfully comfortable bed. Good location.

Room Tip: All new beds
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Earlybyrd9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Friendly staff, not too many frills but good value. Fan, hair dryer, extra towels and extra duvet were all cheerfully and promptly provided on request.
Breakfast passable and convenient. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank 365Chris365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Newhall St - Travelodge is a short 5 min walk from the city centre;and allows you to enjoy and use all the city has to offer, for both business & leisure. I parked easily across from the Travelodge ,and found the location ideal for all my needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here as a group of 3 on a Saturday night out. Check-in was very straightforward with polite staff. We were on the third floor - our room was absolutely fine (much of a muchness with Tlodge's). We had a double bed and a single camp bed. The only fault was the ridiculous temperature in the room and the fact that the windows only open a teeny bit. A fan was provided but it wasn't much use!

The location of this hotel is fab for Broad Street, we had a great night there. Make sure that on leaving you tell them that you've stayed in the NCP carpark (just down the street and round the corner - approx 3mins away) and you will be given a ticket which takes the price down from over £22 to £5.80!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kath J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Travelodge Birmingham Central Moor Street
Ladywood
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Bloc Hotel Birmingham
#28 of 118 in Birmingham
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Birmingham Central
#53 of 118 in Birmingham
721 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#40 of 118 in Birmingham
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street

Address: Travelodge 80 Charlotte Street | off Newhall Street, Birmingham B3 1PW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: £40 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Birmingham Central Newhall Street Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing