We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget hotel with superior service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Ranked #35 of 117 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Budget hotel with superior service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

The staff at this Premier Inn are exceptionally welcoming. We had a fantastic stay - Cadbury World just a few minutes away!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    171
    61
    14
    17
See reviews for
192
131
28
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Layouts for this type of hotel are standard, but this one was exceptionally effective. Proper desk, very comfortable bed, good reading lights, clean, modern, efficient bathroom, excellent wardrobe arrangement. Very well planned. Price was also excellent. A surprisingly good experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OxfordAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Hotel is well postioned for sightseeing; we took in the Bull Ring for shopping, sea life centre and local cinema. The Beefeater restaurant on site was excellent and very tolerant/welcoming of children.
Staff both in reception and restaurant were very helpful and friendly.
We had a great few days stay and wouldn't hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed here a few days ago with my son when we went to watch the Test Match at Edgbaston. Booked a family room for 2 nights at a great price. Unfortunately our stay coincided with the Birmingham riots so we were a bit apprehensive to say the least. Luckily the hotel is about 3 miles from the Bull Ring and we were just far enough away from it all!

From check-in to check-out the service was excellent. Room was great and we both slept really well. Had the Breakfast deal which is great value for kids.

Connected to a Beefeater which we ate in the first night - good value with bottomless chips and soft drinks, which again is great for kids. Next door is TGI Fridays (which was OK the 2nd night) and an Indian and ASK which we didn't use.

Great free car park with loads of spaces.

Apart from the troubles which restricted us from going into the city centre, we had a great stay and really hope to go back in happier times for the city!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkymarky41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The bedroom doors in this hotel are not secure and are a target for thieves.

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in February 2011. On the first night, after returning to my room after a night out, I discovered that my room had been burgled and a laptop and iPod had been stolen - worth just under £1,500. When the police arrived the officer was able to demonstrate how easy it is to break into one of the bedrooms using a credit card - it took him about two seconds.

The hotel staff were reasonably polite and civil in dealing with me and I was offered a refund for the first night. However, the company who own the hotel chain, Whitbread, have demonstrated a complete lack of care about the incident and poor customer service. I write this review 6 months after the incident and I am yet to receive any reimbursement for the loss I sustained. In fact, they've been dismissive and tardy in their communication with me.

That same night another guest bedroom was burgled and his laptop stolen.

On the second night, a fight broke out in the attached Beefeater restaurant as a gang of about 5 or 6 young men began to smash glasses, lamps and tables and the police had to be called. The staff dealt with this calmly and assuredly.

My gripe is not with the staff of the hotel, but with the company. I hope that enough people read this review and decide not to stay at this hotel so that the company may be deprived of the same level of revenue that they have failed to compensate me.

I stay in overnight in Birmingham on business almost every week and have stayed in many different Birmingham hotels - the Crowne Plaza is my favourite.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mozz-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

A good quality budget hotel with staff who are far more friendly and obliging than you would ever expect in a city hotel. The room had pretty much everything you would need, and was clean, comfortable and well-kept. Free ample car parking was a bonus. Downside - the food served in the adjoining Beefeater restaurant was not the greatest.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vix_197613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

seen the advertisement in the local press about come have breakfast with us,
me and my wife did go 1 sunday morning and was impressed ,
we will recommend this hotel to our friends and family and will
be going back ourselves......

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazza21_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#13 of 117 in Birmingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Edgbaston
Ibis Styles Birmingham Hagley Road
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
Edgbaston Palace Hotel
#99 of 117 in Birmingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Ladywood
Plough and Harrow Hotel
Plough and Harrow Hotel
#83 of 117 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
Edgbaston
The Conference Park from venuebirmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel
Address: 176-184 Hagley Road | Edgbaston, Birmingham B16 9NY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Edgbaston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#13 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located in the affluent area of Edgbaston. We have our own Beefeater restaurant on site but are also within walking distance of at least 4 other popular restaurants. Our location is also convenient for Cadbury World, the QE Hospital and Birmingham University. We pride ourselves on giving the best possible service and have a lot of returning guests based on the personal touch that our team here offers. We cater for both business people and families and our restaurant now boasts free wifi. For further details and queries why don't you give us a call, we are always more than happy to help. The Team at Hagley Road Important info Please note, due to our central location the car park is very busy in the evening and throughout the weekend. Directions: Exit M6 (J6) turn onto Aston Express way (A38). Follow signs to City Centre, ICC and NIA and onto Broad St. From Birmingham centre - take the underpass to Hagley Rd, hotel is half a mile on your left. From M5 J3 continue on A456 for approx 3 miles, hotel carpark will be on the right (shared car park with TGI Friday's). Sat Nav - B16 9NY ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham Central (Hagley Road) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham Central Hagley Road Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing